We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Little Gem!”
Review of Temple Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Temple Lodge
Ranked #9 of 22 Lyndhurst B&B and Inns
Reviewed 2 August 2006

Stayed at Temple Lodge for 3 nights in July.

We had a large double bedroom at the rear of the house. It was lovely and big and very clean with extremely comfortable bed. Very big bathroom with nice shower and the room even had a little mini bar with Pringles/Cadbury's/Beer/Wine/Soft Drinks all at very reasonable prices (i.e. same as you would pay in any bar in Lyndhurst).

The owners, Mike and Teresa, are very friendly and do a beautiful cooked breakfast. They even cater for veggies and did me Linda McCartney sausages every day. Everything is grilled so not greasy. Plus good choice of cereals etc. They are really sweet and do go out of their way to help you.

It is a good location (just 3 mins walk to local village).

La Pergola (Italian restaurant) is just a couple of doors down. They do good food. Make sure you book a table though coz were busy and we couldn't get in until after 8.30pm.

Fox and Hounds is a nice pub in centre of Lyndhurst village (in front of the public car park)

Only drawback about Lyndhurst is the perpetual traffic going through the main streets. It was a nightmare!! Really ruined a very pretty English village. It is a shame they don't have some sort of other road going around it so that traffic doesn't have to pass through on the way to other destinations but I suppose being the New Forest they are limited on that!

Good trips to go on are the Canoeing (Liquid Logistics) down near Beaulieu and we also hired bikes (from Cycle Xperience at Brockenhurst - although these are slightly more expensive than the ones in Lyndhurst they were much better quality in our opinion)

  • Stayed: July 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank NomadPrincess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (146)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

140 - 146 of 146 reviews

Reviewed 11 April 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: W pokojach od ulicy jest słyszalny ruch uliczny.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank PaniLutka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2015
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JuliaAroundTheWorld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mikudu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2013
Google Translation

Room Tip: demander une chambre au dernier étage, côté jardin
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ghugh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2012
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PICNICJAMES
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2012
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MissesSteel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lyndhurst
0.0 mi away
Ormonde House Hotel
Ormonde House Hotel
#3 of 8 in Lyndhurst
473 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Crown Manor House Hotel
0.4 mi away
Penny Farthing Hotel
Penny Farthing Hotel
#5 of 8 in Lyndhurst
129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Little Hayes Guest House
Little Hayes Guest House
#5 of 22 in Lyndhurst
209 reviews
6.5 mi away
The Manor at Sway
The Manor at Sway
#2 of 9 in Sway
226 reviews
0.0 mi away
Rufus House
Rufus House
#6 of 22 in Lyndhurst
395 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Temple Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Temple Lodge

Address: 2 Queens Road, Lyndhurst, New Forest SO43 7BR, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > New Forest > Lyndhurst
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Lyndhurst
Price Range: £30 - £45 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Temple Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Highly rated, with awards for cleanliness and hospitality, this family run Victorian guest house is set in beautiful gardens and opposite the open forest. Recently redecorated throughout, all rooms are en-suite, spacious and well appointed with mini fridges. Excellent freshly cooked breakfasts using local produce. Only a few minutes walk to the village and local amenities. Private car park. Ideal base for exploring the New Forest and the Hampshire coast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Temple Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Temple Hotel Lyndhurst
Temple Lodge Lyndhurst, New Forest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing