We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“cute, clean, good value for money”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The White Rabbit

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The White Rabbit
Ranked #7 of 8 Hotels in Lyndhurst
London
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“cute, clean, good value for money”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2012

stayed at the White Rabbit for three nights and would definitely recommend it. The room and bathroom were very clean and tidy, the staff are super-friendly and the food is great. Also a good location because it's less than 10 minutes walk from the town centre but still quiet.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sumanaXYZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

466 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    112
    112
    96
    68
    78
See reviews for
138
226
10
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
EAST TILBURY, ESSEX
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2012

We stayed at the White Rabbit for one night on 7th April 2012, what a lovely hotel. The staff are so friendly and the hotel is so clean and welcoming. The food is excelent. Emma, the deputy manager, is so accommodating and such a happy person. We would strongly recommend this hotel to anyone thinking of visiting the New Forest. We will definately be returning. Thank you for making our weekend.

Room Tip: We stayed in Room 11, it is a spacious double room and had all the facilities that was required
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lindsey58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2012

We stayed for two nights and it was pretty poor to say the least, we ate in on the first night and regreted that very quickly, The service wasn't bad but the food was terrible. I had the dressed crab starter which was as far as I can tell from a can, mixed with mayo with a gardens worth of week old water cres and a semi frozen hard boiled egg, the wife had chicken skewers and the salad was not existant.

For mains I had the duck breast which had been done to death with some kind of thinley cut cabbage which the chef had sneezed sauce over with half a Jacket spud that had been sat in the oven full blast for several months.

Wifes burger was bland, unseasoned with half cooked chips.

We skipped dessert...

The room was drafty, no bath just a walkin shower, the radiator valve to turn it on was hidden behind a wardrobe. Oh and the room was situatated above the mens toilets which seemed to have been commandeered by 30 ten year old boys who had never seen or heard a hand dryer before. One window over looked the bins and the other overlooked the roof of the kitchen which vented through our room.

By the second night the bed which must have been with the hotel since the early 1800's was playing havok with our backs, they would have been better if they would have tapped 20 pillow cases filled with straw together.

The staff all seemed to be new and untrained and struggled to work out what the differance between Blanco and Rosso were but were very very freindly. The one member of staff who seemed to of been in the hotelier business for more than a few days was very busy training the others.

The good points........umm it was clean.....ish. We stayed at the New forest inn across the road last year which was a bit more expensive but well worth the money but hey what do you expect from a pub trying to be a hotel :)

Also a heads up to anyone interested in good food. Try " la table des saint tropez " at the bottom of the high street, we ate their last night and if you like fine french cuisine that's not watered down for wimpy english then this is for you. Everything was home made and was very fresh.

Room Tip: Don't choose room 8, they only give you half a key and it's not worth near on £100 for a nig...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VonStylon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Lyndhurst hotels

Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2012

Everything the recent reviews say is true, this place has been done up and i found our room to be clean, modern and very spacious. The only niggle would be the lock on window was broken, the window also has frosted glass to disguise the fact our room overlooked a wall. Our room was right above the main bar, so i was worried it might be noisy, but must confess i couldn't hear anything from downstairs. Hotel is in a great location, only a 2 minute walk into the village. Would stay here again if i was looking for a cheap room in the New Forest.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PompeyStuart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampshire
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2012

Don't read other reviews, this is a lovely place to stay in the new forest! Friendly staff, very clean, decent breakfast in the morning! Not sure what the food in the evening was like as we ate out but well deserved rating from us and only a short walk to Lyndhurst village with some nice pubs.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2012

Ignore reviews pre Sept time as this hotel has been completely refurbished since then. Very Modern, Stylish, very comfortable, very clean rooms. Staff are extremely helpful & nothing too much trouble. I am a little OCD'ish when it comes to cleanliness & this place really is spotless. We asked for extra milk/tea & a change of towels & we were quickly accommodated for. We asked to stay an extra night than intended as we felt very comfortable here. Duty manager very helpful as was the girl on duty checking us in.

Location fab, a stones throw walk from Lyndhurst Village & I am not able to walk far at the moment so was fine for me.

There is a noise from some sort of pump/generator but couldn't hear in our room (4). The only issue that I would mention is that the place could def benefit from Double glazing as the noise from the Road is quite loud. However after a certain time on an evening/early morning the Road is quieter so although a little disturbed it wasn't too bad.Otherwise 100%!

Overall a lovely place, would def recommend, in fact already have to parents! Will def be back soon. Many Thanks.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ShezzaHo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tamworth UK
Level Contributor
37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2012

Newly refurbished rooms are immaculate. We stayed in room 2 which was huge for three of us. No noise from the pub below but some noise from some sort of pump above, but not enough to disturb our sleep. Bed huge and comfortable. Food good in the pub, service a little slow but not terrible. Great location and great value for money. I would highly recommend.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SamJDavies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lyndhurst
0.2 mi away
The Crown Manor House Hotel
0.4 mi away
Ormonde House Hotel
Ormonde House Hotel
#3 of 8 in Lyndhurst
4.5 of 5 bubbles 439 reviews
0.1 mi away
Forest Lodge Hotel
Forest Lodge Hotel
#4 of 8 in Lyndhurst
4.0 of 5 bubbles 775 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Penny Farthing Hotel
Penny Farthing Hotel
#5 of 8 in Lyndhurst
4.0 of 5 bubbles 96 reviews
3.7 mi away
Forest Park Hotel
Forest Park Hotel
#11 of 11 in Brockenhurst
3.5 of 5 bubbles 548 reviews
3.9 mi away
Cottage Lodge Hotel
Cottage Lodge Hotel
#1 of 11 in Brockenhurst
4.5 of 5 bubbles 999 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The White Rabbit? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The White Rabbit

Property: The White Rabbit
Address: The White Rabbit Romsey Road, Lyndhurst, New Forest SO43 7AR, England (Formerly The Mill Lyndhurst)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > New Forest > Lyndhurst
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 8 Hotels in Lyndhurst
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The White Rabbit 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Hotel.de, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your The White Rabbit reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The White Rabbit Hotel Lyndhurst
The White Rabbit Lyndhurst, New Forest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing