We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Superb well appointed accommodation”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of The Bothy

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
64 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Lyndhurst, New Forest National Park Hampshire, Hampshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 64 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Russell H
1 review
“Superb well appointed accommodation”
Reviewed 21 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Only good things to say about this accommodation. The house was furnished to the highest standard. Clearly a lot of thought had gone into providing everything you could possibly need. Everything down to the toaster was of the highest quality and nothing was skimped on. The house was immaculate when we arrived and a complementary bottle of wine, tea, coffee, bread and flowers was much appreciated.. The location was excellent - literally a one minute walk from the high street with its restaurants, pubs and shops, and the fact that we were able park right outside the accommodation was a bonus. I have no hesitation in recommending the accommodation and I have have no doubts we will return at some stage.

Date of stay: August 2016
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
22 Sep 2016
Dear Russell H,
Many , many thanks for your wonderful review, we are absolutely delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the Bothy.
We do hope that you will return and stay again in the near future.
Wishing you the very best
John & Stephanie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barbara J...
1 review
“Brilliant”
Reviewed 5 August 2016 for a stay in May 2016

John and Stephanie, we stayed in your lovely bungalow recently and thoroughly
enjoyed our weeks holiday, quiet surroundings and yet within a few minutes of
Lyndhurst high street for coffee, breakfast or evening meal , not too far to travel to
some lovely places, the card, wine, fruit and marmalade a lovely thought. We will
definitely be back.

Barbara and Dennis Wilson

Date of stay: May 2016
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
6 Aug 2016
Dear Barbara & Dennis Wilson,
A very big thank you for your lovely review, we do so appreciate it, we do hope that you will return soon.
Hopefully you saw the deer whilst you were at the Bothy.
Once again many thanks indeed.
John & Stephanie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cjsrs178
Lincoln, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Regret to say but this didn't live up to expectations.”
Reviewed 1 August 2016 for a stay in July 2016

Very tastefully decorated with quality furnishings, fixtures and fittings throughout. Such a pity the property is being attacked by rising damp and subsequent associated smells. Unsuitable for anyone with asthmatic ailments.

Date of stay: July 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Lyndhurst, excellent location to explore the New Forest
Liked least: The smell of Rising Damp in The Bothy
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
4 Aug 2016
Dear cjsrs178,
We are so sorry to hear that you were unhappy with your 3 week stay.
Had you informed us on your arrival we would have happily found you alternative accommodation more to your liking.
Regards
John & Stephanie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
777lyndhu...
Northamptonshire, United Kingdom
1 review
“FANTASTIC would definitely return to the BOTHY.”
Reviewed 7 June 2016 for a stay in May 2016

The Bothy a beatiful well thought out home from home, we felt our holiday begin as soon has we walked through the door.Thank you for the items which greated us the home made marmalade yummy, and being able to put the kettle and have coffee before unpacking. Then beautiful Alstramiera S. John and Stephanie we felt really spoilt. You would not believe just out of the drive was a busy place. LYNDHURST lovely shops and the bakery yummy cakes .Lots of nice places to eat.First time for us in the new forest but it wont be the last. JEAN MICK WILLIAMS NORTHAMPTONSHIRE.

Date of stay: May 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: all of it.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
26 Jun 2016
Dear Mr & Mrs Williams,
Many thanks for your lovely review, we do hope that you will return to the Bothy in the not too distant future.
We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your hard earned holiday in the New Forest.
Once again many thanks
John & Stephanie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Misha1947
Kent, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fantastic”
Reviewed 11 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016

The best accommodation we have ever stayed in. Very spacious for a one bed roomed cottage. Beautifully decorated. So comfortable. In a lovely situation. Could have stayed longer. We will definitely return in the future 10/10.

Date of stay: May 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
12 May 2016
Dear Misha 1947,
Many thanks for your wonderful review, we do greatly appreciate you taking the time to write it.
Please do return very soon.
Once again many thanks
John & Stephanie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
197derekw
Nantwich, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Outstanding Accomodation”
Reviewed 27 April 2016 for a stay in March 2016

Stayed for a week and really enjoyed ourselves, the Bothy is excellently presented and welcoming. Nice and quiet location but only a very short walk to excellent restaurants and pubs. I cannot recommend this accommodation enough. The only thing is the more people that get to know about it the harder it will be to book it again ourselves.

Date of stay: March 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: All of it
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
12 May 2016
Dear Derek,
Many thanks for your lovely review, we are delighted to see that you enjoyed your hard-earned break and do look forward to being able to accommodate you again in the near future.
Once again many thanks
John & Stephanie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ellen c
1 review
“5 star be back again”
Reviewed 25 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016

Upon arrival the bungalow was immaculately tidy. There was a very helpful book on the side telling you about the area what there is to do and about the bungalow. Bed and all sofas and chairs were extremely comfortable. Washing machine and dishwasher made it easy. Lovely peacfil surroundings with deer in shared garden. Polite neighbours. Can't find a bad thing about it. We were given a welcome pack a card and wine. People extremely helpful and very happy to help. Will definatly be back again and again 5 star and worth every single penny :)

Date of stay: April 2016
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
26 Apr 2016
Dear Ellen C,
Many thanks for taking the time to write such a lovely review, we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay at The Bothy and look forward to being able to accommodate you again.
Once again many thanks
John & Stephanie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in United Kingdom. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.