We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for dogs, homeliness and fantastic breakfasts”
Review of Wych Green Cottage

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lyndhurst
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Wych Green Cottage
Certificate of Excellence
Exeter, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great for dogs, homeliness and fantastic breakfasts”
Reviewed 6 April 2014

My girlfriend and I along with her pet spaniel have just returned from a four night stay at Wych Green - we had a wonderful time.

We stayed in the stable room which is a small converted stable in the grounds of the cottage. It was lovely with a very comfortable king size bed and a beautiful apex roof complete with beams to give the room a wonderful character. The room was equipped with everything you might need; TV, kettle, a large variety of tea bags and sachet drinks, tumblers, wine glasses, tea cups and mugs, hair drier, clothes brush, ironing board and iron, needle and thread, local books, games. A small fridge was stocked with fresh milk and two bottles of water every day. The room also had en suite and clothes storage.

The stable opened directly into the garden; ideal for dogs and I suspect also for those who struggle with stairs. The garden is beautifully kept and has several seats and tables to enjoy in warmer weather.

The owners, David and Carol are very friendly and welcoming. The breakfasts are of a very high standard. Local bacon and sausages, home grown tomatoes and fresh fruit when in season. All very well cooked and delicious. There is also the option of smoked salmon if ordered a day in advance.

Breakfast service is efficient but not rushed. Every morning Carol loved to chat about what we did the previous day and our plans for the day ahead offering good tips and advice. Along with general conversation about current affairs etc. this made a very welcoming atmosphere. There was a very homely feel about the whole place.

The location was very good, with most of the main New Forest attractions within an easy 15 minute drive. There are plenty of walks from the cottage itself. A particularly good dog walk is across Canada Common.

Room Tip: The converted stable gives plenty of privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gavin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    125
    4
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
35
67
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2014

We stayed in one of the outbuildings with our little boy, and the location, room, and facilities were ideal. Every morning our son had a walk around the gardens after breakfast, looking at the ponies or cows outside the gate and the cats inside. He loved his little pig stool in the room, and his sausage at breakfast - and on the latter point, he wasn't the only one!

The whole property is ideal for families, with the separate buildings giving quiet and privacy. Carole and David are very knowledgeable about things to do as well, and were happy to lend us maps and recommend cycling routes.

If we go back to the New Forest, we will almost certainly be returning.

Room Tip: Each room is unique - for larger families there is a separate three-bedroom cottage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Xexyz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 17 February 2014

My husband & i have just spent a weekend here,we have stayed many times before & would'nt stay anywhere else when visiting the forest.Carol & David are always friendiy & have B&B DOWN TO A FINE ART...excellent accommodation,clean,warm & very comfortable....fantastic English breakfast + cereals, yoghurts, fruits & preserves etc..We have also taken our children & grandchildren to here to stay,its great for all ages.Everything you could wish for.

Room Tip: dont book the stables.....its ours..excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frankie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 January 2014

We (family of 4) stayed over the New Year period and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. We opted for the 3 bed cottage which was a perfect size for us. It also gave us the flexibility to cook our own meals if we wanted to rather than a family outing to the local pubs.

I can't say enough good words about David and Carole who were excellent hosts and made us feel extremely welcome. Especially the breakfasts which made a great start to the day for us.

If you're looking for something different than the usual 4/5 star hotels this is an experience I would highly recommend.

Room Tip: The 3 bedroom cottage is perfect for a small family.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GazG2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2013 via mobile

My husband and I stayed for 3 nights in one of the annex rooms. Everything is just so well thought of by david and Carole. All the little extras that mean so much....fridge in the room with water and milk provided every day. Toiletries in the bathroom. Biscuits on the tea and coffee tray. Breakfast was more than ample with a wonderful selection of fresh berries and fruit which just went great with our porridge! We are both runners and found some wonderful cycle tracks and routes to take in all the wonderful scenery and the ponies and cows and sheep and donkeys that just wander down the road. If your trip to the new forest takes you to this side of the park I cannot highly recommend this B&B enough. We had dinner at both the Green Dragon and The Lamb but I will review them separately.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MAK100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Henley-on-Thames, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 24 August 2013

We had a lovely weekend at the cottage and the highlight for my 2 year old grandson was watching the new forest animals pass by the door whilst he stood on the 'piggy stool' that Carol had lent him. The highlight for the adults in the party was the sumptuous breakfast served up every morning, delicious!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Suzanne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leatherhead, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 20 August 2013

In the middle of the New Forest, most idyllic and peaceful. The room was separate, in the garden with own little table and chairs. Carol and David were lovely and very knowledgable about the local area. The room was very clean and attention to detail was noticed, beautiful room with everything you need. The breakfast was excellent with all local produce, fresh fruit on each table and plenty of cereals, homemade jams, tea and coffee. Wonderful, wonderful, wonderful.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mandy b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lyndhurst
5.2 mi away
The Crown Manor House Hotel
8.9 mi away
Cottage Lodge Hotel
Cottage Lodge Hotel
#1 of 11 in Brockenhurst
1,041 reviews
14.5 mi away
South Lawn Hotel
South Lawn Hotel
#1 of 1 in Milford on Sea
440 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
The Bell Inn
The Bell Inn
#1 of 1 in Brook
712 reviews
2.6 mi away
Bartley Lodge Hotel
Bartley Lodge Hotel
#1 of 1 in Cadnam
835 reviews
5.0 mi away
Forest Lodge Hotel
Forest Lodge Hotel
#4 of 8 in Lyndhurst
818 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wych Green Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wych Green Cottage

Property: Wych Green Cottage
Address: Bramshaw, Lyndhurst, New Forest SO43 7JF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > New Forest > Lyndhurst
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Speciality Lodging in Lyndhurst
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Traditional country cottage within New Forest National Park. Tourist Board rated Four Star. All double/twin rooms en-suite, single room with private bathroom. Well equipped accommodation for the discerning guest. Ideal for walkers and cyclists. Children and pets welcome. Breakfasts are served with our own free-range eggs and home grown fruit. Local pubs nearby are inexpensive and offer home cooking. Many local attractions close by. Easy reach of Bournemouth, Romsey, Salisbury, Southampton and Winchester. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Wych Green Cottage Lyndhurst, New Forest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing