We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic place!”
Review of Wych Green Cottage

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lyndhurst
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Wych Green Cottage
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 June 2014

Fabulous location, very comfortable room with all you could possibly need, including a small fridge. Carol and David are the best hosts and make us very welcome. We absolutely love it there - animals roam freely and cycling is brilliant in the forest. Excellent food at the local pubs but you hardly need it after the marvellous breakfast that they provide. All fresh local produce or home made. Downside is I think I may be a couple of pounds heavier!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 123salamander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (139)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

55 - 61 of 139 reviews

Reviewed 5 June 2014

Good hosts and good comfortable accommodation, room was nice and clean. Only issue was wi-fi not in range in the exterior room that we were staying in. (not much of an issue really) Nice breakfast provided and hosts helpful with information on New Forest.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PABLO G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the Wych Green Cottage for two nights and had a lovely time. The couple that owned it were very friendly and welcoming. We stayed in one of their outhouses which was lovely and private overlooking their garden.

The area surrounding the cottage is very picturesque and there are roaming horses, cows and even a peacock which was great to see.

Each morning we had a lovely breakfast with a bowl fresh homegrown fruit, yogurts, cereal, toast and a great full English! We would then set of on a walk with our dog. A great walk was across Canada common and over to the Rockingham Arms pub for lunch.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alice A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2014

Just spent a long weekend with with my partner and dog. Stayed in the stable room, everything thought of, lovely decor and pretty garden. Carol and David made us feel very welcome, nothing too much trouble. Wonderful full English and continental breakfast in a delightful breakfast room. A much more personal and relaxed atmosphere than a large hotel. Highly recommended and will definitely be back to this little piece of heaven! Thank you

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sara W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2014

My girlfriend and I along with her pet spaniel have just returned from a four night stay at Wych Green - we had a wonderful time.

We stayed in the stable room which is a small converted stable in the grounds of the cottage. It was lovely with a very comfortable king size bed and a beautiful apex roof complete with beams to give the room a wonderful character. The room was equipped with everything you might need; TV, kettle, a large variety of tea bags and sachet drinks, tumblers, wine glasses, tea cups and mugs, hair drier, clothes brush, ironing board and iron, needle and thread, local books, games. A small fridge was stocked with fresh milk and two bottles of water every day. The room also had en suite and clothes storage.

The stable opened directly into the garden; ideal for dogs and I suspect also for those who struggle with stairs. The garden is beautifully kept and has several seats and tables to enjoy in warmer weather.

The owners, David and Carol are very friendly and welcoming. The breakfasts are of a very high standard. Local bacon and sausages, home grown tomatoes and fresh fruit when in season. All very well cooked and delicious. There is also the option of smoked salmon if ordered a day in advance.

Breakfast service is efficient but not rushed. Every morning Carol loved to chat about what we did the previous day and our plans for the day ahead offering good tips and advice. Along with general conversation about current affairs etc. this made a very welcoming atmosphere. There was a very homely feel about the whole place.

The location was very good, with most of the main New Forest attractions within an easy 15 minute drive. There are plenty of walks from the cottage itself. A particularly good dog walk is across Canada Common.

Room Tip: The converted stable gives plenty of privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gavin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2014

We stayed in one of the outbuildings with our little boy, and the location, room, and facilities were ideal. Every morning our son had a walk around the gardens after breakfast, looking at the ponies or cows outside the gate and the cats inside. He loved his little pig stool in the room, and his sausage at breakfast - and on the latter point, he wasn't the only one!

The whole property is ideal for families, with the separate buildings giving quiet and privacy. Carole and David are very knowledgeable about things to do as well, and were happy to lend us maps and recommend cycling routes.

If we go back to the New Forest, we will almost certainly be returning.

Room Tip: Each room is unique - for larger families there is a separate three-bedroom cottage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Xexyz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2014

My husband & i have just spent a weekend here,we have stayed many times before & would'nt stay anywhere else when visiting the forest.Carol & David are always friendiy & have B&B DOWN TO A FINE ART...excellent accommodation,clean,warm & very comfortable....fantastic English breakfast + cereals, yoghurts, fruits & preserves etc..We have also taken our children & grandchildren to here to stay,its great for all ages.Everything you could wish for.

Room Tip: dont book the stables.....its ours..excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Frankie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lyndhurst hotels
5.5 mi away
The Crown Manor House Hotel
5.4 mi away
Penny Farthing Hotel
Penny Farthing Hotel
#5 of 8 in Lyndhurst
130 reviews
5.5 mi away
Ormonde House Hotel
Ormonde House Hotel
#3 of 8 in Lyndhurst
477 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Forest Lodge Hotel
Forest Lodge Hotel
#4 of 8 in Lyndhurst
864 reviews
5.5 mi away
Stag Hotel
Stag Hotel
#9 of 22 in Lyndhurst
206 reviews
6.5 mi away
Lime Wood Hotel
Lime Wood Hotel
#2 of 8 in Lyndhurst
1,354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wych Green Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wych Green Cottage

Address: Bramshaw, Lyndhurst, New Forest SO43 7JF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > New Forest > Lyndhurst
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Speciality Lodging in Lyndhurst
Price Range: £35 - £75 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Traditional country cottage within New Forest National Park. Tourist Board rated Four Star. All double/twin rooms en-suite, single room with private bathroom. Well equipped accommodation for the discerning guest. Ideal for walkers and cyclists. Children and pets welcome. Breakfasts are served with our own free-range eggs and home grown fruit. Local pubs nearby are inexpensive and offer home cooking. Many local attractions close by. Easy reach of Bournemouth, Romsey, Salisbury, Southampton and Winchester. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Wych Green Cottage Lyndhurst, New Forest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing