We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Guest House in a Good Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Whitemoor House B&B
Ranked #3 of 22 Lyndhurst B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 February 2014

Arrived early evening on Friday the 14th and were greeted by Dave and Jayne. We were immediately welcomed and offered tea and cake if we wanted and made to feel at ease. We were shown to our room (The Minstead) which was lovely. The extra touches of chocolates, roses and Kir Royale was a very nice Valentines Day surprise for my wife. I found the 4 poster bed to be a bit soft but that is just personal choice and still slept well on it.

Breakfast is excellent and a good choice. There are the usual cereals and juice but as well as the usual Full English there are choices like Smoked Salmon and Scrambled egg. Everything is well cooked and tastes deliciously fresh.

The location is perfect. its about 300 yds to a superb Italian restaurant called La Pergola and about 500 yds from the village centre.

All in all we had a lovely couple of days in a very good guest house that I would not hesitate to recommend.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Simon G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WhitemoorHouse, Owner at Whitemoor House B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2014

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a lovely review of your stay here. We're really glad that you enjoyed the extra bits and pieces for Valentine's Day and that you had an enjoyable weekend overall. We hope to see you back here in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (302)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

145 - 151 of 302 reviews

Reviewed 16 February 2014

We stayed at Whitemoor House bed and breakfast for two nights over valentines weekend. We stayed in forest view room which was lovely with a four poster bed which was very comfortable! The en suite was really lovely with both a separate shower and bath and was very clean! Breakfast was lovely and lots to choose from. The owners David and jayne were always helpful and courteous . We will definitely be going back! It is also a 10 minute walk from the village. We had a great time and would highly recommend!

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LucyLou15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WhitemoorHouse, Owner at Whitemoor House B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2014

Thank you so much for the super review! It was lovely having you both here and we're glad you had an enjoyable Valentine's weekend exploring the New Forest. Hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2014

We really enjoyed our two night stay. Jayne and David were excellent hosts, very friendly, nothing was too much trouble. Very relaxed and comfortable. Spotlessly clean. Excellent breakfast. Delicious homemade jam and marmalade! We wish every success to Jayne and David in their new venture and we hope to return soon.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Erbanfochs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WhitemoorHouse, Owner at Whitemoor House B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2014

Thank you for writing a lovely review! We're glad you enjoyed your stay with us - we certainly enjoyed having you here and hope you come back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2013

We stayed three nights in September at Whitemoor House in Lyndhurst, a quaint village in the New Forest area of Hampshire, near Southampton. We selected Whitemoor House because of the rave reviews on Trip Advisor and we were elated with our choice. Hosts Stephanie and John are gracious, friendly and helpful, making their guests feel totally at home, answering questions and offering wonderful advice on places to visit in the area. We arrived early from the cruise port and they gave us a royal welcome and served coffee and freshly baked bread in the lounge while we waited a short time for our room to be cleaned. Our room was immaculate and included a comfortable queen bed, a desk, a wardrobe and a table with a kettle, tea, coffee and biscuits. It was a very quiet location at the back of the house overlooking the nice garden and patio.
Breakfast, served in a beautiful room, is superb with a buffet of cereals, fruits, yogurts, juices, coffee and tea, and then followed by a full English breakfast with many choices offered on their menu. It was a splendid way to start the day while conversing with Stephanie and John and other guests.
Just a short walk away is a wonderful restaurant Pergola with memorable, delicious and reasonable Italian cuisine and a very nice atmosphere.

Room Tip: We asked for a quiet room and were given one facing the garden which was perfect. Other guests told...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelingkellys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2013

We booked in at the Whitemoor for 7 nights and from the outset the service was the best, Stephanie and John are the perfect hosts. The room was spotless Breakfast first class with marmalade to die for. Advised of best places to eat and visit This place is a gem shame a lot more B&B's aren't up to this standard.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Johnles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2013

We booked two nights Whitemoor House with my wife. It was the first time we stayed in a B&B kind of lodging as we are more used to hotels. The staff was extremely helpful and welcoming straight from the booking. They contaced me via email and offered help in finding the place and instructions if we would be arriving outside the usual check-in time.

Whitemoor House feels like home away from home. Our room (Forest View) was overlooking the street towards the forest. It was clean and spacious for two and the bed was a big four-poster with curtains. I can easily recommed the place for couples.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mrmojo77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2013

We were already staying in the New Forest area and decided to stay for a further night. We found this lovely Bed and Breakfast by chance and we loved it. Stephen and John welcomed us and immediately made us coffee and home made cake in the lounge.
The bedroom was comfortable with high quality linens and was spotlessly clean. Breakfast was excellent. Highly recommended!

Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Julian70017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lyndhurst
0.5 mi away
The Crown Manor House Hotel
0.1 mi away
Ormonde House Hotel
Ormonde House Hotel
#3 of 8 in Lyndhurst
476 reviews
0.6 mi away
Forest Lodge Hotel
Forest Lodge Hotel
#4 of 8 in Lyndhurst
863 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Cottage Lodge Hotel
Cottage Lodge Hotel
#1 of 10 in Brockenhurst
1,105 reviews
0.1 mi away
Rufus House
Rufus House
#6 of 22 in Lyndhurst
395 reviews
0.5 mi away
Little Hayes Guest House
Little Hayes Guest House
#5 of 22 in Lyndhurst
209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Whitemoor House B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Whitemoor House B&B

Address: Southampton Road, Lyndhurst, New Forest SO43 7BU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > New Forest > Lyndhurst
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Lyndhurst
Price Range: £70 - £91 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Whitemoor House B&B 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
David and Jayne are delighted to welcome you to Whitemoor House and will endeavour to make your stay a pleasurable experience. Book direct with us for the most uptodate availability and to discuss your individual requirements. Whitemoor House overlooks the open New Forest, and a policy of continual refurbishment ensures a high standard of accommodation is maintained. Well appointed rooms offer comfort and style, with double, twin and romantic four poster beds for that special occasion (champagne, chocolates, flowers and strawberries can be arranged on request). Our hearty breakfasts are cooked using only the finest local produce, from farmhouse sausages, dry cured bacon, free range eggs to scrambled eggs and smoked salmon. There is also an extensive choice of cereals, fruits and yogurts to start with. We make our own marmalade, jam, lemon curd, granola and welcome cake. We provide well stocked mini bars, a cosy lounge with real fires for those winter months, a sunny garden for warmer days, an extensive library of maps, guide books, DVDs and board games plus complimentary Wi-Fi in each room. Your comfort and enjoyment during your visit is our top priority. Lyndhurst village centre is just 7-8 minutes stroll away and has an excellent selection of restaurants, pubs and tea/coffee shops. Just across the road is direct access to the open forest, beautiful walks and close encounters with ponies, donkeys and cattle! Cycle hire is available in Lyndhurst, with several well-marked tracks to choose from. The unique New Forest Golf Club is a short walk from here and offers beneficial rates to our residents. With over 45 attractions including Beaulieu (the home of Lord Montague and The National Motor Museum), Eling Tide Mill, Hurst Castle and the New Forest Wildlife Park, Whitemoor House, with its central location, is a great place to stay in the New Forest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Whitemoor House B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Whitemoor House Hotel Lyndhurst
Whitemoor House B&B Lyndhurst, New Forest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing