We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Location, Wonderful Service and a Beautiful Room”
Review of High Corner Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
High Corner Inn
Ranked #4 of 21 Ringwood B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 August 2012

We happened to stumble upon this Inn at 8pm at night whilst trying to find somewhere to stay rather last minute. We phoned before our arrival and found they had one room left which they happily held for us whilst we made our way to the Inn. The welcome was exceptionally friendly, and although the phone signal was poor due to the 'middle of nowhere' location, free wifi was available and was much appreciated.

We had been travelling for sometime, and I was desperate for a cup of Earl Grey - the owners kindly brought some Teabags to the room - a really nice touch i thought!

The room was beautiful, small but perfectly formed and the bathroom was amazing. Beautifully fitted with a HUGE bath! Lots of hot water, lovely bubble bath and fab tea and coffee facilities.

We had a great nights sleep and really enjoyed the breakfast in the morning.

The location is idyllic, the rooms are stylish and very well maintained and the chap who runs/owns the Inn is just lovely!!!! Cant wait to go back!

Room Tip: You must stay here!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AntoniaManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (473)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

415 - 421 of 473 reviews

Reviewed 1 August 2012

We went here for a special 60th birthday table of nine, including three children , the restaurant was not busy at all, we were one of the first tables to sit , so there is no excuse to wait 1 hour for our food , very very disappointed , the children were very hungry and very restless, although the food was very nice when we received it, still no excuse to be waiting an hour ( 30 min max i would wait unless being told of an issue ), we complained but was offered no explaination or any free dessert or coffee.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank Sarah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2012

Very poor quality food and interior of pub is shabby and in need of upgrading. Gammon and leek pie looked and tasted like it had been sitting around all day and was covered with very unpleasant, dark brown, salty instant gravy. Lasagne was edible but very average. Burger was tasteless and ended up being fed to the dogs. Service was reasonably fast and staff were pleasant. A white pony circulates the grounds eating customer leftovers so at least someone appreciates the food.

Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
Thank Sara S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2012

Once you navigate the rough ride down, you are greeted with a large building which appears out of nowhere. A huge garden includes a very clean and seemingly well maintained play park. During nice weather, they provide dog bowls and a water dispenser. The service is very welcoming, the food choice is fantastic (although the specials board is not available between 3-6) and the dishes we chose were cooked perfectly. A superbly well presented and hugely indulgent pudding topped off a great meal. Keep an eye out for the signs (they're few and far between) for the High Corner Inn and be sure not to miss the turning!

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheWilliamsCrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2012

Had a nice short stay here. Rooms are lovely and clean and setting is great. The food is very very basic. Service is friendly but lazy from the young staff. We were not allowed to order a dessert after our meal as it was too late which was weird as it wasn't late at all. I think the young man just wanted to go home. Glasses and menus were dirty. The breakfast was ok and the lady who served us this was lovely and much better than the young men in the evenings. The chef also refused to warm our baby food for our 17 month old son even though we were guests which is just ridiculous. Overall I would return due to location and rooms but don't think it's worth the price and would eat elsewhere.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank colinratdog1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2012

Thank you High Corner Inn for another enjoyable stay!

Everything was perfect! The location of the Inn is idyllic, the rooms are spotless with ample tea and coffee making facilities, all the staff are friendly and welcoming and are always happy to help. The food is first class and the breakfasts are just what you need to set you up for the day!!

We have been truly touched by the new forest and the high corner inn and have already booked our next visit for December!!

Thanks High Corner!!! :-)

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sun58Shine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2012

The food was nice - we both ordered the sausages - but nothing special and there was not a huge choice on the menu. The service was rather slow and the bar staff were not particularly friendly or welcoming; in general the establishment is more of a restaurant than a proper pub. Decided to go elsewhere for more drinks and a dessert due to the large queues both at the bar and the food ordering tills. Overall feeling was one of complacency: High Corner gets so many visitors purely on the basis of its location and we got the impression that no one cared too much about customer service: a great shame!

Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
1  Thank HeidiOnHoliday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ringwood
8.3 mi away
Cottage Lodge Hotel
Cottage Lodge Hotel
#1 of 10 in Brockenhurst
1,089 reviews
4.6 mi away
Burley Manor
Burley Manor
#1 of 2 in Burley
395 reviews
6.5 mi away
The Crown Manor House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 mi away
Woodlands Lodge Hotel
Woodlands Lodge Hotel
#2 of 2 in Woodlands
581 reviews
5.1 mi away
The Bell Inn
The Bell Inn
#1 of 1 in Brook
756 reviews
4.3 mi away
Augustus John
Augustus John
#2 of 12 in Fordingbridge
133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to High Corner Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about High Corner Inn

Address: Linwood, New Forest, Ringwood BH24 3QY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > New Forest > Ringwood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Ringwood
Price Range: £61 - £101 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — High Corner Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The High Corner Inn is located in the Beautiful New Forest. The pub and hotel is a magical place full of wild ponies amazing walks and beautiful birds of pray, We also have a out door children play area and a beautiful garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, LateRooms, Hotels.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your High Corner Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
High Corner Hotel Ringwood
High Corner Inn New Forest/Ringwood

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing