We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing location, fantastic customer service”
Review of High Corner Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
High Corner Inn
Ranked #4 of 21 Ringwood B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Amazing location, fantastic customer service”
Reviewed 20 November 2012 via mobile

We were staying at the High Corner Inn upon a recommendation from a friend & it was well worth the drive! I had read negative reviews about the food, all of which I am pleased to say we're not accurate. Good menu & specials board, fresh, good portion sizes. Room was very clean, crisp clean towels and bed linen, nice & warm, big bed, huge bath which I could have stayed in all weekend! The inn is located within vast woodland perfect for both long or short walks, family fun, dogs & horses. The staff are all so lovely, best customer service in long time. There was a large family with grown up children that come all the way from Peterborough a few times of year to stay and I can see why! I didn't want to come home & will definitely go back. Beautiful place all year round with villages to visit & attractions 20 min drive.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BloomersC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

414 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    223
    108
    45
    27
    11
See reviews for
122
192
7
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Chelsfield
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 November 2012

We absolutely love it....along with the setting, the forest wildlife, the staff etc. A very friendly, comfortable and accommodating place and extremely dog friendly....a day at the New Forest Show, followed by a shower back at High Corner, then dinner, a lovely walk in the forest on a summers evening then back to the bar for a drink a friendly chat with the locals *****

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank J G J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swindon, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2012

Have just returned from a weekend with my husband, the location is beautiful, off the beaten track up a gravel track. The pub is tired and in need of an overhaul. When I arrived I went straight to the toilets, not good, the actual toilets and sinks are clean but the floor behind the toilets was very dirty, thick with fluff and god knows what else, the pedestals’ on the toilet were grim to say the least.

There is plenty of seating outside but it was all over the place, not tidy. The pub allows dogs in but there is defiantly a distinct odour of dog in the pub which is quite unpleasant.

We ordered lunch as we were starving put having seen the toilets I was not keen (I have a rule check the toilets – if they are nice and clean then hopefully the kitchens will be of the same standard!!!!). I had a bacon and brie baguette which came with a side salad, chips and coleslaw, it was nice but I feel expensive at £8.95.

Now to the room which was £81 per night, very small, on first impressions looked clean, again tired and in need of refurbishment, the skirting board was very badly chipped, wall paper a bit faded and the carpet had stains on. I looked behind the bed, thick with dust, cobwebs in the corners of the ceiling (I know it’s the New Forest but a feather duster would sort this). The beside lamps were dusty and the light bulb stuck out above the lampshade about 2 inches. Did not put any of our clothes in the draws when opened very badly stained and there was the previous occupants peanuts loose in the draw.

The en-suit was lovely and again the toilet and the sink clean, however the shower was only acceptable, lime scale on the door, and black mould on the grout on the first 3 rows of tiles (not nice) also where the door opens for the shower was a large mound of grime and dust!!!!! The towels and bedding was spotless so that was something although the bed was very soft and uneven.

There was a good choice at breakfast and my husband had the full English, I did not feel comfortable eating there but had bacon and egg which was nice.

Would we stay here again NO, if we were in the area again would go in for a drink as it’s in such a beautiful location but that’s it, such a shame has the potential to be a gem of a place.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dizzyhem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woking, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2012

A very busy pub in a nice setting. Our meal was tasty but nothing really special. I had pie and chips, the pie was tasty and had plenty of filling, the chips OK I was disappointed that the veg turned out to be frozen peas. My husband had fish and chips which as OK although the batter was a little too crispy. The staff were friendly and I would eat here again if I was passing but would not travel there especially. While in the New Forest we ate at other establishments which we enjoyed more.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tinasue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barton on Sea
Level Contributor
32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2012

The High Corner Inn is a remote pub well off the beaten track in the new forest. In fact it's at the end of a rough gravel drive which is itself off off of a very minor road. If you are looking for an out of the way pub with rooms this is it. I went as part of a walking group on a very wet October morning. When we arrived it was still closed but the staff kindly opened to serve coffee and lit the fire whilst we waited for the rain to ease.

We then trotted off for a 4 mile walk with our dogs and met the usual horses and cows and not so usual small pigs. On our return we were made very welcome, dogs were dried and laid at our feet, drinks were served and whilst there was a very good looking specials board we stuck to the menu full of the usual sort of pub grub. I had the usual burger/bun/garni and chips served on a wooden board. Meal was nicely presented, bun was toasted and cheese and onion ring topping added flavour. Like most pub burgers at this price they are not made fresh and the quality suffered because of this. I should balance that by adding the specials board had a fresh lamb burger.

Would we go again? Yes if we were doing a walk there but I wouldn't make a special journey for the food. Staff were very good and that makes a big difference when you have so much local choice. Would be nice to see where the food was sourced from and be able to support local suppliers. At this time of the year pubs need the trade so if you are thinking of a walk in the New Forest give it a go. You will have a great walk in a fantastic location with a warm welcome and a filling hearty if not sparkling meal. Plus there is a voucher on their web site for £5 off a £20 spend.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2012

We stayed at The High Corner inn as part of a group of 8 in late September. The atmosphere is warm, friendly and convivial. The food is excellent, well presented and served with a smile. The hosts attended to our every needs, no matter what. Nothing was too much bother. The rooms are, as to be expected, clean, comfortable and well presented. It looked like our bathroom had only just been redecorated. Most of all, the remoteness of the Inn, deep in the New Forest, amongst the ponies and donkeys, was just magical. I can fully recommend this exceptionally good value Inn.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tim J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2012

Ended up staying here very last minute on a saturday night - The staff could not have been more accommodating, approachable, warm and friendly :) The rooms were great too, I was even on the sofa bed and it was very comfortable (awesome duvets!)

Breakfast the next morning was delicious (apart from the veggie sausages...quorn ones are so much nicer!) and served with a smile :)

Loved the art work too.

Will and Tom were especially great and made our trip all the more memorable and enjoyable. Would definitely come back :)

Room Tip: We were in Tawny, family room...spacious and comfortable, and very nicely decorated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kinza87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ringwood
5.1 mi away
The Bell Inn
The Bell Inn
#1 of 1 in Brook
4.0 of 5 bubbles 689 reviews
6.5 mi away
The Crown Manor House Hotel
8.3 mi away
Cottage Lodge Hotel
Cottage Lodge Hotel
#1 of 11 in Brockenhurst
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,014 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Burley Manor
Burley Manor
#1 of 2 in Burley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 309 reviews
7.6 mi away
Lime Wood Hotel
Lime Wood Hotel
#2 of 8 in Lyndhurst
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,240 reviews
10.3 mi away
Passford House
Passford House
#3 of 7 in Lymington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 692 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to High Corner Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about High Corner Inn

Property: High Corner Inn
Address: Linwood, New Forest, Ringwood BH24 3QY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > New Forest > Ringwood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Ringwood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — High Corner Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your High Corner Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
High Corner Hotel Ringwood
High Corner Inn New Forest/Ringwood

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing