We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What you see is what you get”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
original white hart
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Ringwood
Worthing, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“What you see is what you get”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2012

We stopped off quite late in the day and rooms in the area were hard to find but we were directed to this Inn and were quite happy to take almost the last room available. The service & value for money (both in terms of the room, bar and food) was very good, the room was fairly small but clean. Overal the bar and restaurant area where typical of a very old well used pub/bed and breakfast establishment. Don't expect the luxury of a five star hotel but as a value for money, friendly stopover this place was just what we needed.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

231 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    55
    73
    50
    33
    20
See reviews for
45
90
21
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Devizes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2012

After reading some of the reviews we were a little apprehensive about what we were going to get! Well we were pleasantly surprised. We booked two family rooms and both were very clean and comfortable. There were a few tired parts but generally we were very happy with the rooms. We were luck enough to be staying on one of the very few summy days of the summer and the rooms were very hot and the window wouldn't stay open and even if it had I think it would have been too noisy as the room over looked the market place.
The breakfast was excellant and very filling. Something for everyone - even the most fussy of children!
I would happily return to this hotel if we were staying in the area again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the rear of the building especially if it's market day the next morning!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KYT1107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth England
Level Contributor
83 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2012

We stayed for one night, what a mistake that was, we do not expect things to be perfect but we do expect at £49.95 a night, for our room to be clean, and to get a good nights sleep.

Upon arrival, the room was clean except for the carpet which had not seen the hoover since the previous guests left, biscuit crumbs, dust, and other items on the carpet.

Looking at the bathroom the shower basin base had come away from the rest of the unit showing a black gunge, what was that..

When we went to bed, we thought good sleep and off in the morning, it was not to be, our room was at the front of the building, and from 2230 until 0230 we were kept awake by people shouting and swearing outside our window, now we are not prudes but the language was a disgrace, and when I say shouting I mean shouting. We were in two minds to pack our bags and walk out. Surely the staff should try to stop this occuring and at least speak to the miscreants, we can not be the first to have suffered this.

We never complain when we are away, but on this occassion we did, and the lady behind the desk was apologetic up to a point, but it was regarded as one of those things and she would let the local PCSO know about it.

On the plus side the breakfast was very good, but it could not compensate for what we had had to put up with

Room Tip: Do NOT accept a room at the front of the building, if you have to take ear plugs and do not be offen...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sandybottom65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Ringwood hotels

Cambridgeshire, UK.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2012

From outside the Original White Hart looks like a traditional inn, welcoming and full of customers enjoying a post work drink. i went to reception and was efficiently checked in, told where to park (I had parked on the road in front when there was a car park to the rear) given a parking sign to put in my car and informed about breakfast.
After driving my car round and I went to my room. Now, like most inns, this place has some rooms in the main building, above the pub. But it also has a detached block to the rear beside the car park with a few more rooms which was where mine was. The room I had was fitted with most things I would expect - double bed. modern TV, ensuite bathroom, desk, wardrobe, free bottle of mineral water, nice Neutrogena toiletries in the ensuite, kettle with tea/coffee/biscuits and the whole room was very clean. However, the room was small, It was smaller than hotel rooms I have used in Tokyo. There was enough room to walk around the bed on all sides, but if I had a few pieces of luggage, I would have struggled. The Original White Hart may have larger rooms in the main building, so it might be worth enquiring.
For me I was only here one night and wanted a good priced room, that was clean and tidy, which is what I got. The room also had a bit of a "US Motel" feel. Not in the room itself, just when I went in or left, as you come out into the car park, but that's not a major concern as the entrance to the main building is only a few yards away.
I went for a wander around Ringwood and the White Hart is centrally located, easy to walk to the other pubs or restaurants in the locale. After the walk I had a meal in the Inn bar. It was served quickly and was fine. The bar also had three of the local Ringwood brewery beers on, good for Real Ale fans!
I had a comfortable night in the room, the ensuite, by the way was a good size, not small. I had a cooked breakfast in the main building the next day which was served quickly and very good. Croissants, fruit, cereals, yogurt, tea, coffee and fruit juices are available too.
Overall I had a pleasant stay in the Inn, the staff were pleasant and helpful, next time I might enquire about a larger room, but overall I would recommend the Original White Hart in Ringwood as a place to stay.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank historyneverrepeats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2012

Rather a scruffy old hotel desperately in need of renovation. The staff are nice enough but not overly helpful or friendly. The food in the restaurant was very basic and the breakfast less than ordinary. The room was ok. The beds were comfy and the room was spacious, no complaints over the bathroom, again quite spacious but the hand basin was useless, much too small.
It seemed as if they tried to give as much as they could within their budget but fell woefully short.
Altogether not a very nice experience and I for one will not be returning.I have had much better value for £50.00 per night.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mikelevy22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chiang Mai, Thailand
Level Contributor
181 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2012

The Original White Hart is right smack bang in the centre of Ringwood so getting most places in and around the town is pretty easy. Guest rooms are located both within the main pub building or outside in an annex, if you are inside you get a key for access out of hours. My room was inside the pub and a single room. It was very compact with little space if you have a large suitcase. Apart from that the bed was comfortable, the bathroom adequate and you were provided with tea/coffee and a flat-screen tv fitted with free-view channels. The whole place has free WiFi.
Breakfast is provided in a side room to the main bar areas and is pretty good with fruit, yoghurt, cereals and cooked food to chose from whilst meals for later in the day are pretty standard pub fayre. being a pub it has some good beers on tap.
The pub is a busy place so you need to bear that in mind if you are considering this place but overall I think it is a good place for the money.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alant1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2012 via mobile

Absolutly lovely place to stay really nice room and very friendly bar staff I think the managers know what they are doing as the pub is being run very smooth

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tezza90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ringwood
4.2 mi away
Burley Manor
Burley Manor
#1 of 2 in Burley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 298 reviews
11.8 mi away
South Lawn Hotel
South Lawn Hotel
#1 of 1 in Milford on Sea
4.5 of 5 bubbles 371 reviews
6.7 mi away
Eastclose Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.7 mi away
Cottage Lodge Hotel
Cottage Lodge Hotel
#1 of 11 in Brockenhurst
4.5 of 5 bubbles 999 reviews
9.2 mi away
Forest Park Hotel
Forest Park Hotel
#11 of 11 in Brockenhurst
3.5 of 5 bubbles 548 reviews
4.3 mi away
Moorhill House Hotel
Moorhill House Hotel
#2 of 2 in Burley
4.0 of 5 bubbles 660 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to original white hart? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about original white hart

Property: original white hart
Address: 4 Market Place, New Forest, Ringwood BH24 1AW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > New Forest > Ringwood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Ringwood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — original white hart 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your original white hart reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Original White Hart Hotel Ringwood
Original White Hart New Forest/Ringwood

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing