We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Basic” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of original white hart

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
original white hart
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Ringwood
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
125 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Basic”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2013

Stayed here on a Saturday night whilst attending a local party. We had been advised to stay at the Star. On arrival it took ten minutes, without a subsequent apology, to find someone who could check us in. The room was tired, with a fine collection of cobwebs: using the hot tap created a deafening banging noise and the heated towel rail didn't work, making the bathroom quite cold, but the bed was very comfortable. I slept like a log but that may have been due to local real ale.
We paid £85 for the room which I think was over-priced.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Philking64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

224 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    52
    72
    49
    32
    19
See reviews for
45
86
20
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ringwood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2013

We went to this pub following a busy day and we thought we might try the food. The place was not very busy and parts of it looked a bit shabby which is usually not a good sign. It took too long to get served with both our drinks and our food order and when it turned up, the food was tepid and showed signs that it had been left under a warm grill for too long. The drinks were fine with some good real ales.
A few days later, we received a notice from a parking enforcement company demanding £60 for parking in the pub car park! This final insult will ensure that we will not be returning.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank plastiman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Ringwood hotels

Portsmouth
Level Contributor
29 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2013

Had drinks and two very nice meals in this very friendly traditional pub, inspected the rooms for a future stay and was very impressed, Have not stayed yet but am sure it will be perfect Amanda will see us very soon.
Brian and Katrina
Portsmouth

Room Tip: Have not stayed yet but am sure it will be perfect
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wave129
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Droitwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2012

Stayed for 3 nights on a short break away with the family. Ringwood is very handy for both the New Forest & coastal beaches in area & were looking for somewhere fairly reasonable before the arrival of our 2nd child, so booked this through Late Rooms. Based on the price for a family room for 3, a 3 star rating & reviews here we weren't expecting anything great. However the staff were friendly & couldn't do enough for us. The manager "Nutz" made a great impact on our 5 yr old son & he kept talking about him on the journey home. Maybe it was the little Halloween gifts on the breakfast table for him that helped, but he is a credit to Marstons. The pluses are the breakfast which was very filling & well cooked allaying any fears I may have had. The rooms were clean & the bed comfortable which are main initial requirements. Yes it's noisy at times but we were in the main building & overlooked the Main Street. But it's a locals pub, so what else could you expect & to be fair some of the guests returning to their room were noisier than the locals & I include my son in that. However once asleep I was only roused once & that was about 6am on our last morning when they started setting up the weekly market outside.
My main complaints are with Marstons the place is tired & needs re-decoration. The ceiling in our room was sagging as if it had been subject to a leak at some point & badly needs repairing. Maybe if the brewery thought about spending some money doing up their existing premises rather than trying to open new establishments it would mean places like this would receive better reviews & reward the hard working management & staff for all their efforts.

Room Tip: Rooms at front are subject to noise from pub & street. Beware on a Wednesday morning it's ma...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AJB1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worthing, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2012

We stopped off quite late in the day and rooms in the area were hard to find but we were directed to this Inn and were quite happy to take almost the last room available. The service & value for money (both in terms of the room, bar and food) was very good, the room was fairly small but clean. Overal the bar and restaurant area where typical of a very old well used pub/bed and breakfast establishment. Don't expect the luxury of a five star hotel but as a value for money, friendly stopover this place was just what we needed.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devizes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2012

After reading some of the reviews we were a little apprehensive about what we were going to get! Well we were pleasantly surprised. We booked two family rooms and both were very clean and comfortable. There were a few tired parts but generally we were very happy with the rooms. We were luck enough to be staying on one of the very few summy days of the summer and the rooms were very hot and the window wouldn't stay open and even if it had I think it would have been too noisy as the room over looked the market place.
The breakfast was excellant and very filling. Something for everyone - even the most fussy of children!
I would happily return to this hotel if we were staying in the area again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the rear of the building especially if it's market day the next morning!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KYT1107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth England
Level Contributor
83 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2012

We stayed for one night, what a mistake that was, we do not expect things to be perfect but we do expect at £49.95 a night, for our room to be clean, and to get a good nights sleep.

Upon arrival, the room was clean except for the carpet which had not seen the hoover since the previous guests left, biscuit crumbs, dust, and other items on the carpet.

Looking at the bathroom the shower basin base had come away from the rest of the unit showing a black gunge, what was that..

When we went to bed, we thought good sleep and off in the morning, it was not to be, our room was at the front of the building, and from 2230 until 0230 we were kept awake by people shouting and swearing outside our window, now we are not prudes but the language was a disgrace, and when I say shouting I mean shouting. We were in two minds to pack our bags and walk out. Surely the staff should try to stop this occuring and at least speak to the miscreants, we can not be the first to have suffered this.

We never complain when we are away, but on this occassion we did, and the lady behind the desk was apologetic up to a point, but it was regarded as one of those things and she would let the local PCSO know about it.

On the plus side the breakfast was very good, but it could not compensate for what we had had to put up with

Room Tip: Do NOT accept a room at the front of the building, if you have to take ear plugs and do not be offen...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sandybottom65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ringwood
4.2 mi away
Burley Manor
Burley Manor
#1 of 2 in Burley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 284 reviews
4.4 mi away
Moorhill House Hotel
Moorhill House Hotel
#2 of 2 in Burley
4.0 of 5 bubbles 643 reviews
9.7 mi away
Cottage Lodge Hotel
Cottage Lodge Hotel
#1 of 11 in Brockenhurst
4.5 of 5 bubbles 984 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
Eastclose Hotel
Eastclose Hotel
#1 of 1 in Hinton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 330 reviews
11.8 mi away
South Lawn Hotel
South Lawn Hotel
#1 of 1 in Milford on Sea
4.5 of 5 bubbles 350 reviews
9.3 mi away
Forest Park Hotel
Forest Park Hotel
#11 of 11 in Brockenhurst
3.5 of 5 bubbles 542 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to original white hart? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about original white hart

Property: original white hart
Address: 4 Market Place, New Forest, Ringwood BH24 1AW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > New Forest > Ringwood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Ringwood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — original white hart 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your original white hart reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Original White Hart Hotel Ringwood
Original White Hart New Forest/Ringwood

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing