We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very unsatisfactory wouldn't go back”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
original white hart
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Ringwood
Reviewed 15 July 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights between 5-8th July 2013 in room no. 8 which is above the entrance into the car park. On the first morning we were offered clean towels but subsequently none were provided and the room wasn't cleaned or the bed made up the whole time we were there. The room was grubby and in need of re-decoration. We were told that this was one of there biggest rooms and I suppose it might have been if you removed the four-poster bed and the oversized old fashioned furniture. The bathroom had been updated to a point but there was no shaver point or vanity top to put things on. The shower head could not be adjusted to prevent water spraying onto the floor. The breakfast was adequate although the room was extremely hot and would have benefitted from a couple of electric fans to provide some cool airflow. Overall I think the review below by DUCHAMPSTNEOTS sums up the place very well. I think Marstons need to invest a lot of money and possibly a new manager to, bring the place up to scratch.

Room Tip: If you have to stay there request one of rooms 9-16 at the back of the pub.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Stonyface
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (265)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

214 - 220 of 265 reviews

Reviewed 2 July 2013

Owner went to a lot of trouble to get a room refurbished in time for my recent stay. Was so grateful as meant I was then in the same hotel as friends, whilst visiting Ringwood to attend a Christening. On arrival, the room was not ready (my fault entirely as was far earlier than expected), but the owner offered me a coffee on the house and my room was ready in 30 minutes (earlier than agreed on booking). Breakfast was included, so for the £39.95 I thought it was very reasonable. Thank you Amanda, I'll be back!

Room Tip: I had the single room (no 11), which had a really comfortable bed so made for a good night's sle...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fionaj64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2013

I stayed here for two days & that was enough, if you want a quite nights sleep then this IS NOT the place to stay rooms 1-8 are over the bar area & on Friday they have a disco until 12am you are nearly bounced out of the bed by the noise & screaming in the bar it also seems to be the place were all the drunks seem to meet up out side the inn. Don't be deceived by the web site we stayed in room 2 & it was ruff, clean bed & sheets but skirting boards coming away from the wall filthy carpet & the bathroom was not any better the rooms are very small with just enough space to get round the double bed, the other rooms 9-16 are at the back of the inn so they are the ones to go for if you have to stop there, one our friend stopped in one of these & it had just been finished being refurbished that day but she said it was still tiny. It says on the board out side rooms start from £19 per night & really that it is all its worth we paid £70per night with breakfast, the breakfast was ok & the staff were very friendly & helpful but there's no way I would stay here again a bit of a rip-off really its a shame because in its day it must have been a lovely place.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DUCHAMPSTNEOTS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2013

The staff at The White Hart are really friendly and very helpful and the breakfast was very good and for this I would have given them a "Good" review but my room was filthy, I don't think the room had seen a duster for month or more, in fact there was so much dust on the ledges that it was falling off. I complained and asked for a duster as I wasn't prepared to sleep there until it had at least the drawer tops cleaned, even the welcome brochure had a layer of dust. I certainly wouldn't stay there again but I would call in for a drink or meal.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the rear as front overlooks main road and noise from people leaving the pub. Sing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jackie f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2013

We arrived to a very warm welcome even though it was our first visit checked in easily, the room had all we needed and the bed was very comfy. The staff went out of there way to chat and make us feel at home . the food on offer in the evening was wonderful and very promptly served. Breakfast had good variety and was freashly cooked to order . A most enjoyable stay at the most friendly establishment we have ever been to .

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank col g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2013

Stayed here for one Saturday night in order to meet up with friends 2 miles away in Ferndown. We turned up two hours early but this wasn't a problem at all and we were given our room keys immediately.The lady running the place is fantastic, really friendly and great fun and nothing is too much trouble.She has recently taken the place over and is well aware of the little maintenance jobs that may need doing but the room was lovely and clean, bed was very comfortable and it was good value.its even better value if you stay again , in fact it's amazingly cheap for repeat customers.We didnt eat here except for the freshly cooked breakfast which was very good.Overall a great no frills place to stay for easy access to the New Forest.we will definitely be going back again.

Room Tip: Ask if the bigger room with the four poster is available .
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Reg l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2013

Staying here at the moment because of job. Its a pub so don't expect 5 star. Anything not quite right, just ask and it will be sorted. Staff are very friendly so don't shout at them. Manners go a long way. Food is good and won't poison you. Good selection at breakfast. Evening meals are very nice except its nearly all with chips and peas. Wifi is useful but the TVs are the flat screen type so sound is not good. Noise is no problem if you're tired. Beds are very comfy. Hot water in the bathroom takes a while to come through so leave it running while you brush your teeth. If you intend staying a while, book direct, ask for Amanda, you might get a discount if you ask politely.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank payitforwardeddie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amanda-Jane2222, Manager at original white hart, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2013

Thanks for the review, hope to see you again soon Amanda, Andrew and the Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ringwood
4.2 mi away
Burley Manor
Burley Manor
#1 of 2 in Burley
427 reviews
11.8 mi away
South Lawn Hotel
South Lawn Hotel
#1 of 1 in Milford on Sea
553 reviews
6.7 mi away
Eastclose Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Moorhill House Hotel
Moorhill House Hotel
#2 of 2 in Burley
733 reviews
9.3 mi away
Forest Park Hotel
Forest Park Hotel
#10 of 10 in Brockenhurst
623 reviews
9.7 mi away
Cottage Lodge Hotel
Cottage Lodge Hotel
#1 of 10 in Brockenhurst
1,119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to original white hart? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about original white hart

Address: 4 Market Place, New Forest, Ringwood BH24 1AW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > New Forest > Ringwood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Ringwood
Price Range: £48 - £81 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — original white hart 3.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your original white hart reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Original White Hart Hotel Ringwood
Original White Hart New Forest/Ringwood

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing