We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not what it used to be...”
Review of The Old Beams Inn

The Old Beams Inn
Reserve with OpenTable
The Old Beams Inn is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #38 of 68 Restaurants in Ringwood
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Child-friendly, Kids, Special Occasion Dining, Bar Scene, Groups, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Drinks, Dinner, Brunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
498 reviews
209 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 260 helpful votes
“Not what it used to be...”
Reviewed 21 May 2014

25 years ago the Old Beams had a superb Sunday lunch buffet and was known locally also for its range of country wines. As a fairly regular visitor back then I was looking forward to seeing how it had progressed, even though I had mixed memories of having to queue for a table.

I was disappointed. Although it still looks picture-book perfect from outside, the restaurant was now three quarters empty for Sunday lunch; the salads had been replaced by a standard looking carvery (but at twice the price of my local pub's weekday carvery). And on arrival, the service was not very welcoming, even though we had booked a table.

The food was acceptable, but not really up to the prices charged compared to other chain pubs (it's part of a small chain called the Alcatraz Group). I had a steak & ale pudding, which had been baked not steamed. It was very dry, so came with a large schooner of (Bisto-type) gravy; necessary to make it more edible but the two had never met before they appeared together on my plate - and no sign of any ale in the gravy here. The staff happily swapped mash for chips, which were fine, but the accompanying vegetables were mushy and over cooked. A Thai green curry was well-liked, and made less hot than originally threatened by request, and a Cajun chicken salad was acceptable rather than outstanding. No light meals are served on Sundays, forcing you to the higher priced items on the menu, which was very limited in choice for vegetarians.

Drinks choice was less than historically but perfectly OK; the house bitter (no brand!) was drinkable at 3.7%, but I'd have liked to know where it came from.

I fear it may be another 25 years before I return...

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MKMapman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

399 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    125
    109
    56
    56
    53
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sevenoaks
Level Contributor
21 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent food and ambience”
Reviewed 14 May 2014 via mobile

Stopped here (by chance) as the pub looked so attractive. It was about 4pm on a Saturday and we were pleasantly surprised that hot food was still available to order, not just afternoon tea.

Beautiful interior with open fires, sofas, tables and chairs. You can see the chefs working in the kitchen, which always gives me confidence! The meal was sooooo good that we ended up having three courses!

Thank you to Julien for his attentive service. We'll definitely return next time we are in the area.

Helpful?
1 Thank SampSevenoaks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iulian F, Manager at The Old Beams Inn, responded to this review, 15 May 2014
Thank you very much for the kind words, we are really happy you have enjoyed your visit with us! We are looking forward to having you again especially now with more live music events coming up!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jersey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Superb country pub”
Reviewed 11 May 2014

We enjoyed a couple of lovely meals at The Old Beams during our weeks holiday in the New Forest. Lovely friendly atmosphere and staff, comfortable seating, real log fire and some excellent food for a reasonable price made for a very enjoyable visit.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Macca500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iulian F, Manager at The Old Beams Inn, responded to this review, 15 May 2014
We are always trying to offer good value for money and we really appreciate your positive feedback! We shall hope your holidays will be near New Forest once again as we are looking forward to seeing you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great food”
Reviewed 8 May 2014

Service and food were excellent, the staff were friendly and helpful. If you do try this one it might be worthwhile going early, their 'lunch' menu, which is even better, stops at 6pm. They also serve a great cider!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank 149MrsA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Avon
Level Contributor
42 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Good food let down by service”
Reviewed 7 May 2014

Visited this location on Bank Holiday Monday not a very busy service at lunch time. Order taken and shown to table but staff seemed very flat and disinterested no single person was running the restaurant. Food came OK and was good to average quality but you had to ask for sauces that arrived half way throuh the main course, wait for the table to be cleared and when deserts came the order was one short which required another ask. Another table close by was asked if they required a desert and the mains had yet to arrive, the whole services needs smartening up and staff made a little more aware that its the customers that keep a restaurant in business

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Padds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Old Beams Inn also viewed

Ringwood, New Forest
 
Ringwood, New Forest
Ringwood, New Forest
 
Ringwood, New Forest
 

Been to The Old Beams Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing