We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Ringwood review” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Fish Inn

The Fish Inn
Ranked #5 of 65 Restaurants in Ringwood
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$9 - US$30
Cuisines: Bar, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Local cuisine, Kids, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Bar Scene, Cheap Eats, View, Child-friendly
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: A stunning 16th century thatched inn, with the unique attraction of being Ringwood's only riverside pub. Offering home cooked menu and daily specials including fresh fish. Quality cask ales and fine wines. Traditional Sunday lunch. Dog friendly (in the bar area)
Level Contributor
35 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Ringwood review”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2014 via mobile

Found the pub by chance, good selection of real ales, Wadworths 6X a good choice although I like more of a head on the beer. Had the mixed grill off the specials menu and was not disappointed 10/10, so good I went back the following night and had it again! The only downside was the time it took to get served at the bar although they were very busy and had some new members of staff I'm guessing, otherwise very friendly

Helpful?
Thank Rocka999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

406 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    143
    157
    58
    33
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Dissapointed”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2014

Went today for Sunday lunch we wanted the roast beef and husband was told only had one available so he chose gammon steak ,When the beef came it was horrible looked like boil in the bag, was so overcooked and full of gristle, inedible, hardly any gravy , husbands gammon not much better egg rock hard gammon pale and fatty , chips over done what a disappointment won't be returning !!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Nalcoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
poole dorset
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Avarage...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2014 via mobile

Visited this pub to celebrate my fathers 65th birthday. Staff are friendly. Only problem... The food! Very average, my husband and I had the lasagne. Very bland, mainly pasta and cheese. When the you lad brought my lasagne to the table, the garlic bread fell off the plate into the table. No apology, or any "I'll get you some fresh garlic bread" as it had traveled a good foot across the table. Wouldn't willingly visit again unfortunately.

Helpful?
Thank jojo-newell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Heading in the right direction- our food was good @ end of busy Sunday”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2014 via mobile

We came in here on the 23rd march in the eve. We came in quite late and went straight to the bar. We asked about food and was met with same very friendly girls behind the bar who explained that it had been very busy and had ran out of what turned out to be about 50% menu. The starters we wanted were in stock , mushrooms and Camembert , followed buy faggots and mixed grill . Other people who were eating returned there's because they were cold -ours was great and reasonable price the mushrooms .... Chef remember the salad dressing next time . The girls couldn't be more helpful however wiping the same point in the bar doesn't mean your working --- clean, tidy, restock the clearly empty wine shelves, polish cutlery that on a busy Sunday u would have trays and trays of the stuff.
The mains were good - the mixed grill my other half had was massive ,
My faggots - I would of waited a little longer ,,,, don't merry chef or nuke them it makes them tough on the out side and if you have a rational they take forty mins to braise them in onion gravy other wise it's a ball of tough meat . Flavour meat spot on. Gravy was good maybe onion gravy - loose the rosemary. Add more butter and milk to mash but was seasoned well.
Mixed grill- bigger plate - it's not an American stack of meat - show it off . It's well worth the money so don't ruin it by stacking the meat it's sweats against each other. Egg - perfect . Black pudding dry - buy better quality .
Dessert menu looked good - sadly I was full but will try
I am glad to find a local that serves good quality pub food and will look forward to trying again when the creases had smoothed out

Good luck and thank you

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank becci2306
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Family Meal for 13”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2014

Dont bother going! What a disappointment.

On arrival at 7pm they had run out of lemonade and had to go and buy some. We sat and chose our choice of meal, when we went to order, they had run out of lamb (which was the majority of our order), no fish and chips, no haddock. Unfortunately this wasn't told to us when we sat down, so we all had to chose again. When the food did come, which took absolutely ages, we didn't eat till gone 9.00pm, it was nothing special, steak overcooked, chilli boring, lasagne not great, ribs chewy. Asked for a bottle of wine and they had run out of the particular one we wanted.

Apparently, changed ownership and the new owners are changing their suppliers so are running down on current stock at the customers expense. Actually felt sorry for the staff.

On their website advertised they source ingredients from local suppliers, so all food is fresh - this is not true!

Such a shame,nice pub but unfortunately we will not be returning.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Lck36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Fish Inn also viewed

Ringwood, New Forest
Ringwood, New Forest
 
Ringwood, New Forest
 

Been to The Fish Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing