We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful location”
Review of The Alice Lisle

The Alice Lisle
Ranked #37 of 73 Restaurants in Ringwood
Price range: US$7 - US$21
Cuisines: British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: View
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Nestled at the heart of the New Forest, The Alice Lisle is a rural haven that boasts a truly gorgeous location with food to match. Inspired by our surroundings, our award-winning chefs produce locally-sourced dishes perfectly accompanied by our wide range of refreshments.
Reviewed 19 April 2014

Obviously a very popular pub and its easy to see why.We sat outside and upon ordering food were informed there would be a wait, this was understandable as the restaurant was very busy. While waiting our children made full use of the play area, we adults enjoyed the sunshine and views over the lake. When the food arrived it was beautifully cooked and well worth the wait, the kids meals were excellent value. The staff were all friendly and attentive. When we left we were surprised to see horses and donkeys roaming around the car park, this just about made the children's day. If it wasn't for the fact we don't live in the UK we would be back regularly.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Elena K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alice L, General Manager at The Alice Lisle, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2014

Thank you for your fantastic feedback from your recent visit. We have a great beer garden with a brilliant area for children to play. We do try to keep service time to a minimum however at peak times waiting times do stretch due to the number of people who visit us and the fact that everything is cooked from scratch.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Alice Lisle soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (812)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

654 - 658 of 812 reviews

Reviewed 18 April 2014

Arrived at a very busy time and told up to an hour wait for food which was acceptable as we sat in the garden enjoying the weather. After waiting we were informed the moules which I had ordered were not up to scratch, and could I choose something else and the whole meal (for 5 of us) would be free of charge. Excellent customer services!

1  Thank Ann580415
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2014

Been to this pub lots of times for a drink. Decided to try the menu and it was lovely. The service was very good and the food even better. At £70 for 3 of us including wine I think it was good value too. Great atmosphere and very busy for a Thursday night. Definitely going to visit again.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Mingra6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alice L, General Manager at The Alice Lisle, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2014

Thank you for your feedback from your recent meal with us. I'm glad you enjoyed your meal and had a memorable experience. We have some excellent bottles of wine on offer, if you fancy trying something abit different next time you come, let one of our team know and they will talk you through the wines we sell. Thanks again for your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2014

This has to be one of the most beautiful settings in the New Forest. The pub has excellent seating both inside and out and a lovely garden for children to play in. It can, as a consequence of this, get very busy during the summer and holiday season.
The food is good and the staff were attentive and happy to adjust the menu to suit a vegetarian in the group. A little pricey compared to other pubs in the area but worth it for the location and atmosphere.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Juliekmw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alice L, General Manager at The Alice Lisle, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2014

Thank you for your review of the Alice Lisle here on Tripadvisor. We welcome all feedback and are happy you enjoy the pub as much as we do! We look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2014

Met a group of friends here for lunch. The restaurant was very busy but our food was served quickly and efficiently. The Swordfish special was one of the best meals I have ever tasted, my friends had the ribs, the lamb chops and the beef stroganoff and they all commented on how lovely the dishes were. We didn't have time for pudding as we were on lunch breaks but we have already planned to meet up there again when we have more time and can enjoy a three course meal.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Ravenwood13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alice L, General Manager at The Alice Lisle, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2014

Thank you for reviewing the Alice Lisle, we have a large selection of specials which often includes alot of fish and also local produce, I'm glad you got to sample them! We look forward to welcoming you to the Alice Lisle again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Alice Lisle also viewed

Ringwood, New Forest
Ringwood, New Forest
 
Ringwood, New Forest
 
Ringwood, New Forest
 

Been to The Alice Lisle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing