We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to chill - G&T”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ringwood
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Red Shoot Camping Park
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 April 2014

We stayed at Red Shoot last September and will be back this weekend for the beer festival. Excellent clean facilities, the staff are always pleasant and helpful. We like the site because it isn't too big or commercial, it has a nice quiet atmosphere that's easy to relax in. I am not sure why folk are saying it is expensive I have viewed other sites that are a similar price or more. We will definately be going back again :)

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Terri W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Forest1072, Manager at Red Shoot Camping Park, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2014

Thank you very much for your kind comments, sorry we weren’t able to organise good weather for you this time but hope to welcome you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (272)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

218 - 224 of 272 reviews

Reviewed 30 March 2014

Lovely location and very helpful pleasant staff. The tariff is, however on the pricey side. Luckily we took advantage of the off season 20% discount offer, otherwise we wouldn't have stayed. The shower block is lovely and clean, but the showers only stay on for about 10 seconds before you have to push the button again. Bit annoying!!! We went in March when it was a bit boggy underfoot, and trying to manoeuvre the motorhome over the grey water drain in the mud in an area with not a lot of manoeuvring space was fun!! Might be worth making this area hard standing.
Would visit again, but only off season with a discount, as I think it is overpriced. But, as hubby says 'Southern prices isn't it'.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Julie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Forest1072, Manager at Red Shoot Camping Park, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2014

Thank you very much for your positive comments. We do check our prices each year to keep them in line with other sites in the New Forest, many of whom do not open until Easter. We appreciate your remarks regarding the grey water disposal which we only installed this year in response to several requests and it was a challenge for us to find a suitable spot for it in our small site. Now it is ‘with us’ we will work on improving it for next year!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2014 via mobile

The site is clean and tidy and the shower block is clean and lovely and warm but we paid £32.50 for a pitch for one night for a vw camper , even the site at Durdle Door only charges £18 at this time of year!!

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank jdcawow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Forest1072, Manager at Red Shoot Camping Park, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2014

Thank you for your great comments regarding our site. Our basic pitch price at this time of year is just £17 though, unlike Durdle Door we do charge extra for electric and for additional persons over the 2 included in the pitch cost. Durdle Door is a much bigger site than ours so I guess they are able to structure their costings differently. We see they are more considerably more expensive than us in peak season so perhaps we'll see you back then!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2014

We have been regulars at the Red Shoot Campsite overt he last 5 years and would happily recommended it to anybody as a clean and family friendly site in a great location. We will be returning again, weather permitting, in 2014

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DuncanJohnson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2013

We have just returned from another stay at the Redshoot camping park, we only stayed for a few days this time but as always the site was well kept and the toilets and showers were clean.
The staff were very helpful and the shop was well stocked and we could order newspapers every day if we wanted to. The situation of the site is excellent as you can just go and walk out of the site and you are in the middle of the new forest. As far as peoples comments about the site being over priced this is the 'norm' now as we looked at the Lake District and other sites in the New Forest area and we found the Redshoot to be comparable with other sites.
All in all we had a great stay and we shall return next year.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Farzo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jaqui O, Owner at Red Shoot Camping Park, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2013

Thanks for your great review, it's always good to get positive feedback. Hope you had a good trip home and we look forward to seeing you again next year!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2013

At £17 off season to pitch a tent as a solo traveller with bicycle this is very expensive. Even the staff seemed a little embarrassed by the price, I couldn't hand over my cash and not pass a comment on it.

I was initially planning to stay in the New Forest 2 nights but decided £17 was enough, which is a shame because it's VERY beautiful in the New Forest and it meant I didn't spend more money in other pubs and cafes.

The campsite itself is ok, no special views from the pitches or anything and even the most level pitch I could find was on a slight slope. The shop is pretty well stocked, the staff friendly enough. The showers were ok, could do with a bit of maintenance [it's end of season].

Bottom line is that these campsites [I phoned several and £17 was the price of 50% of them] need to lower their rates for solo travellers, especially those on bikes. I've stayed in B&B's for the same rate. I would recommend wild camping as an alternative, the only reason I went for a campsite was the need to shower and I had nothing to cook on my stove.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gbgrgle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jaqui O, Owner at Red Shoot Camping Park, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2013

Thank you for your feedback, I’m sorry you find the rates in the area expensive, but as you have noted our prices are comparable to other similar sites. I am a little surprised by your comments that there are no level pitches as over 60% of our site is completely flat. As regards ‘special views’, I suppose that can only ever be subjective so, as it was such a beautiful day, I’ve taken a few photos from around the site which are typical of the scenes from the perimeter pitches and attached them here. On a different note, please be aware that wild camping is not allowed in the New Forest.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2013

We stayed here for a few days and found the staff to be very friendly and helpful. Nice clean site, excellent toilets and showers, well kept pitches and excellent location. Pub next door is very convenient and the beer is good (shame the food is not very good though, but this is nothing to do with Red shoot).

I will stay again and highly recommend this site.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bruces999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jaqui O, Owner at Red Shoot Camping Park, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2013

Thanks for your great review. We always welcome any comments but, of course, positive ones are especially welcome! We look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ringwood
3.4 mi away
Sandy Balls Holiday Village
Sandy Balls Holiday Village
#3 of 14 in Fordingbridge
484 reviews
3.4 mi away
Cypress Log Cabins
Cypress Log Cabins
#1 of 14 in Fordingbridge
283 reviews
4 mi away
Burley Manor
Burley Manor
#1 of 2 in Burley
415 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Petherton Cottage
Petherton Cottage
#4 of 21 in Ringwood
112 reviews
3.7 mi away
original white hart
original white hart
#3 of 3 in Ringwood
264 reviews
1 mi away
High Corner Inn
High Corner Inn
#3 of 21 in Ringwood
489 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Shoot Camping Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Shoot Camping Park

Address: Toms Lane, New Forest, Ringwood BH24 3QT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > New Forest > Ringwood
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Speciality Lodging in Ringwood
Price Range: £15 - £25 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 110
Also Known As:
Red Shoot Camping Park New Forest/Ringwood

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing