We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“If you're going to camp at a campsite this one is top notch”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ringwood
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Red Shoot Camping Park
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“If you're going to camp at a campsite this one is top notch”
Reviewed 27 May 2014

We're not big campers - we've done it a couple of times before and to be honest the campsites put us off. Many seem to be cliquey, cramped, rule-driven places where people arrive in their caravans or massive tents, set up shop and go about their normal lives with the sole difference being that they have to perform their ablutions (or at least dispose of them eventually) in unsavoury communal blocks. But I've always wanted to rent a vintage VW camper so we decided to give the camping thing another crack and spend the long weekend cruising the New Forest. We stayed at three places, this being the first. And I have to say it was brilliant; the kind of campsite you hope to stay at when you make the crazy decision to try it again after how it was before. In the middle of the forest, nice staff, lots of spacious grass to park on, only a few helpful signs around (not hundreds of rules about this and that plastered on signs at every corner) and mostly lots of nice, normal people just enjoying the fresh air and biking and hiking. The communal facilities were quite savoury (my non-communal abluting wife even agreed) and the pub literally at the front gate was lovely. There was a nice little store on the grounds and all in all, whilst there for only a night, we thought it great...we might even be back!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brad D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Forest1072, Owner at Red Shoot Camping Park, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Hello Brad D, I just wanted to thank you for your glowing review of The Red Shoot Camping Park. Whilst we welcome all comments from our guests it is always particularly satisfying to receive positive ones such as yours, and even more so from someone who is not necessarily a camping fan! I will make sure all our staff see your kind comments and we very much look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

230 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    133
    56
    30
    7
    4
See reviews for
121
69
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 10 May 2014

Nice location, decent facilities, well maintained. Bit cramped though - and sites vary in quality, so best be specific about where you want to be. No van awnings (tent add-ons) peak times, which won't work for many. Good for kids - kids everywhere! Having the pub next door is good, it's a nice pub and decent food. But live music when we were there starting at 10pm a bit at odds with the family ethos.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Drf777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Forest1072, Owner at Red Shoot Camping Park, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Thank you for your review of our camping park, I'm very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us however, I did want to address a couple of points. Caravan awnings are allowed at all times at the Red Shoot, however, we do restrict the use of awning extensions during peak times in order to ensure that everyone has enough space, they are allowed by prior arrangement only. With regards to pitch size, we do our utmost to match the size of a unit to an appropriate pitch but inevitably, whilst we check dimensions of every tent before accepting a booking, some measurements are inaccurate and very occasionally, we have to swap pitches around at the last minute. The Red Shoot Inn next door to us (a completely separate business to ours, owned and run by Wadworth Brewery), has a band on Sunday nights and on still evenings the music can be heard on our site, however, it generally finishes at 11pm and the vast majority of our guests find it very enjoyable.

Once again, thank you for your positive review and we very much look forward to welcoming you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Egham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2014

We stayed at Red Shoot last September and will be back this weekend for the beer festival. Excellent clean facilities, the staff are always pleasant and helpful. We like the site because it isn't too big or commercial, it has a nice quiet atmosphere that's easy to relax in. I am not sure why folk are saying it is expensive I have viewed other sites that are a similar price or more. We will definately be going back again :)

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Terri W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Forest1072, Manager at Red Shoot Camping Park, responded to this review, 6 April 2014
Thank you very much for your kind comments, sorry we weren’t able to organise good weather for you this time but hope to welcome you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Telford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2014 via mobile

Lovely location and very helpful pleasant staff. The tariff is, however on the pricey side. Luckily we took advantage of the off season 20% discount offer, otherwise we wouldn't have stayed. The shower block is lovely and clean, but the showers only stay on for about 10 seconds before you have to push the button again. Bit annoying!!! We went in March when it was a bit boggy underfoot, and trying to manoeuvre the motorhome over the grey water drain in the mud in an area with not a lot of manoeuvring space was fun!! Might be worth making this area hard standing.
Would visit again, but only off season with a discount, as I think it is overpriced. But, as hubby says 'Southern prices isn't it'.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Julie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Forest1072, Manager at Red Shoot Camping Park, responded to this review, 6 April 2014
Thank you very much for your positive comments. We do check our prices each year to keep them in line with other sites in the New Forest, many of whom do not open until Easter. We appreciate your remarks regarding the grey water disposal which we only installed this year in response to several requests and it was a challenge for us to find a suitable spot for it in our small site. Now it is ‘with us’ we will work on improving it for next year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2014 via mobile

The site is clean and tidy and the shower block is clean and lovely and warm but we paid £32.50 for a pitch for one night for a vw camper , even the site at Durdle Door only charges £18 at this time of year!!

Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank jdcawow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Forest1072, Manager at Red Shoot Camping Park, responded to this review, 20 March 2014
Thank you for your great comments regarding our site. Our basic pitch price at this time of year is just £17 though, unlike Durdle Door we do charge extra for electric and for additional persons over the 2 included in the pitch cost. Durdle Door is a much bigger site than ours so I guess they are able to structure their costings differently. We see they are more considerably more expensive than us in peak season so perhaps we'll see you back then!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampshire
Level Contributor
33 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2014

We have been regulars at the Red Shoot Campsite overt he last 5 years and would happily recommended it to anybody as a clean and family friendly site in a great location. We will be returning again, weather permitting, in 2014

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DuncanJohnson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2013

We have just returned from another stay at the Redshoot camping park, we only stayed for a few days this time but as always the site was well kept and the toilets and showers were clean.
The staff were very helpful and the shop was well stocked and we could order newspapers every day if we wanted to. The situation of the site is excellent as you can just go and walk out of the site and you are in the middle of the new forest. As far as peoples comments about the site being over priced this is the 'norm' now as we looked at the Lake District and other sites in the New Forest area and we found the Redshoot to be comparable with other sites.
All in all we had a great stay and we shall return next year.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Farzo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jaqui O, Owner at Red Shoot Camping Park, responded to this review, 17 October 2013
Thanks for your great review, it's always good to get positive feedback. Hope you had a good trip home and we look forward to seeing you again next year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ringwood
8.2 mi away
Balmer Lawn
Balmer Lawn
#3 of 11 in Brockenhurst
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,568 reviews
8.0 mi away
Lime Wood Hotel
Lime Wood Hotel
#2 of 8 in Lyndhurst
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,240 reviews
8.3 mi away
Cottage Lodge Hotel
Cottage Lodge Hotel
#1 of 11 in Brockenhurst
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,011 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Cypress Log Cabins
Cypress Log Cabins
#1 of 15 in Fordingbridge
5.0 of 5 bubbles 262 reviews
1.0 mi away
High Corner Inn
High Corner Inn
#3 of 21 in Ringwood
4.0 of 5 bubbles 411 reviews
2.4 mi away
Little Forest Lodge
Little Forest Lodge
#2 of 21 in Ringwood
5.0 of 5 bubbles 115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Shoot Camping Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Shoot Camping Park

Property: Red Shoot Camping Park
Address: Toms Lane, New Forest, Ringwood BH24 3QT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > New Forest > Ringwood
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Speciality Lodging in Ringwood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 110
Also Known As:
Red Shoot Camping Park New Forest/Ringwood

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing