We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Camping”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ringwood
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Red Shoot Camping Park
Certificate of Excellence
Reading, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Perfect Camping”
Reviewed 15 June 2014

We arrived on Tuesday for a 3 night stay. From booking to leaving this was a perfect break. Tranquil, beautiful campsite in a superb location. Surprised to read a review regarding uneven pitches. They were well maintained and even. The shop was well stocked and the staff really helpful and friendly. Toilets and showers were spotless and underfloor heating was a bonus (no cold feet when getting out of shower). Shower cubicles a great size and always had hot water.

We bought a great book on walks from the campsite shop (by M Powers) and went on a couple of lovely walks, one straight from campsite, which took in amazing New Forest scenery, with welcoming pub stops☺

You can't leave without stopping at The Red Shoot pub, which is adjacent to the campsite to try one (or a few) of their lovely beers, some brewed onsite, Muddy Boots being a real treat=-O

We loved the campsite and the New Forest and will booking to stay again soon.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Joyce B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Forest1072, Manager at Red Shoot Camping Park, responded to this review, 22 June 2014
Many thanks for your kind comments regarding your recent stay with us, especially in respect to our staff, who work very hard indeed to ensure everyone has the best experience possible when they visit the New Forest. Let's hope this beautiful weather continues and you get in plenty more camping breaks this summer!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

261 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    150
    64
    31
    10
    6
See reviews for
137
81
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Harrow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2014

We stayed here over the Spring bank holiday weekend, having hired a VW camper van. It was the first time we had taken our young daughters (6 and 3) camping and it was a perfect introduction to camping for them. The washroom facilities are top class especially in relation to the size of the campsite (kept very clean and always a cubicle available) and the family washroom is a very useful feature. The owners / managers we dealt with both for the booking and on arrival were very polite and helpful. Good quality campsites obviously attract good quality and happy patrons, as everyone that we had an interaction with were cheerful and friendly. The location is very central from which to explore the New Forest. Finally, in the mornings, a lady came round selling warm croissants and pain au chocolates, which just rounds up how great the whole experience was!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jez-G73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Forest1072, Owner at Red Shoot Camping Park, responded to this review, 22 June 2014
Wow, what a wonderful review! All of us here at The Red Shoot work very hard to ensure that everyone has a great experience when they stay with us and it is always so good to get such positive feedback. We very much look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed here 24-29 May in 2 tents. Although the weather wasn't brilliant both family's had a fantastic time. The site is clean and not too big. The on site shop with warm chocolate croissants in the morning are lovely. The washing up facilities are good. Toilets and showers where clean and was lovely to have underfloor heating. The campsite is close if you want to visit Bournemouth and surrounding areas.
I would recommendation if booking tent space do ask not to be placed under the trees (the birds loved the tents and made them very messy) also be careful of the hot water when washing your hands as this is VERY hot.

I would not let these issues put us off returning.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Welltravelledtwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Forest1072, Manager at Red Shoot Camping Park, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
So glad you enjoyed your stay with us despite the weather and pigeons! Hopefully it will be sunny and pigeon poo free next time you visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorset
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We have been to many camp sites in the New Forest, but this was the first time at Red Shoot,what a lovely place. Very friendly staff. The ablution blocks where of a very high standard, plenty of hot water, and what a pleasure to have underfloor heating. The washing up facilities were excellent. We would love to return to this wonderful site and hope the oversight on our overly large set up won't stop us. We will definitely not be erecting it in that fashion again and thank the staff for being very understanding when explaining what we had done wrong. We would like to apologise to any body that we offended.. So here is hoping! We will definitely be returning !!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michelle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Forest1072, Manager at Red Shoot Camping Park, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Many thanks for your kind comments and apology! We very much appreciate that you understand why we were concerned about the size of your units as this, of course, all helps us in keeping the Park to the standard you have enjoyed without overcrowding . We’ll be very pleased to welcome you back with your ‘more compact’ structure in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

We're not big campers - we've done it a couple of times before and to be honest the campsites put us off. Many seem to be cliquey, cramped, rule-driven places where people arrive in their caravans or massive tents, set up shop and go about their normal lives with the sole difference being that they have to perform their ablutions (or at least dispose of them eventually) in unsavoury communal blocks. But I've always wanted to rent a vintage VW camper so we decided to give the camping thing another crack and spend the long weekend cruising the New Forest. We stayed at three places, this being the first. And I have to say it was brilliant; the kind of campsite you hope to stay at when you make the crazy decision to try it again after how it was before. In the middle of the forest, nice staff, lots of spacious grass to park on, only a few helpful signs around (not hundreds of rules about this and that plastered on signs at every corner) and mostly lots of nice, normal people just enjoying the fresh air and biking and hiking. The communal facilities were quite savoury (my non-communal abluting wife even agreed) and the pub literally at the front gate was lovely. There was a nice little store on the grounds and all in all, whilst there for only a night, we thought it great...we might even be back!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brad D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Forest1072, Owner at Red Shoot Camping Park, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Hello Brad D, I just wanted to thank you for your glowing review of The Red Shoot Camping Park. Whilst we welcome all comments from our guests it is always particularly satisfying to receive positive ones such as yours, and even more so from someone who is not necessarily a camping fan! I will make sure all our staff see your kind comments and we very much look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 10 May 2014

Nice location, decent facilities, well maintained. Bit cramped though - and sites vary in quality, so best be specific about where you want to be. No van awnings (tent add-ons) peak times, which won't work for many. Good for kids - kids everywhere! Having the pub next door is good, it's a nice pub and decent food. But live music when we were there starting at 10pm a bit at odds with the family ethos.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Drf777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Forest1072, Owner at Red Shoot Camping Park, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Thank you for your review of our camping park, I'm very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us however, I did want to address a couple of points. Caravan awnings are allowed at all times at the Red Shoot, however, we do restrict the use of awning extensions during peak times in order to ensure that everyone has enough space, they are allowed by prior arrangement only. With regards to pitch size, we do our utmost to match the size of a unit to an appropriate pitch but inevitably, whilst we check dimensions of every tent before accepting a booking, some measurements are inaccurate and very occasionally, we have to swap pitches around at the last minute. The Red Shoot Inn next door to us (a completely separate business to ours, owned and run by Wadworth Brewery), has a band on Sunday nights and on still evenings the music can be heard on our site, however, it generally finishes at 11pm and the vast majority of our guests find it very enjoyable.

Once again, thank you for your positive review and we very much look forward to welcoming you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Egham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2014

We stayed at Red Shoot last September and will be back this weekend for the beer festival. Excellent clean facilities, the staff are always pleasant and helpful. We like the site because it isn't too big or commercial, it has a nice quiet atmosphere that's easy to relax in. I am not sure why folk are saying it is expensive I have viewed other sites that are a similar price or more. We will definately be going back again :)

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Terri W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Forest1072, Manager at Red Shoot Camping Park, responded to this review, 6 April 2014
Thank you very much for your kind comments, sorry we weren’t able to organise good weather for you this time but hope to welcome you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ringwood
8.3 mi away
Cottage Lodge Hotel
Cottage Lodge Hotel
#1 of 10 in Brockenhurst
1,063 reviews
10.8 mi away
Captain's Club Hotel
Captain's Club Hotel
#4 of 11 in Christchurch
718 reviews
8.0 mi away
Eastclose Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 mi away
Rhinefield House Hotel
Rhinefield House Hotel
#7 of 10 in Brockenhurst
1,724 reviews
8.2 mi away
Balmer Lawn
Balmer Lawn
#3 of 10 in Brockenhurst
1,616 reviews
6.9 mi away
The Crown Manor House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Shoot Camping Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Shoot Camping Park

Property: Red Shoot Camping Park
Address: Toms Lane, New Forest, Ringwood BH24 3QT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > New Forest > Ringwood
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Speciality Lodging in Ringwood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 110
Also Known As:
Red Shoot Camping Park New Forest/Ringwood

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing