We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Idyllic cottage and setting for extended family...”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Forest Cottage

Entrance to the Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Entrance to the Cottage
Entrance to The Lodge and Forest Cottage Hot Tub
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
25 reviews
Entrance to the Cottage
Entrance to The Lodge and Forest Cottage
Hot Tub
Swimming Poole
Play Area
Bathroom
Kitchen
Dining Area
Master Bedroom
Onsite Personal Trainer at an extra cost
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Ringwood, New Forest, Hampshire, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 25 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
john f
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
Reviewed 21 May 2018 for a stay in May 2018
9
people found this review helpful

As soon as we arrived, we were told we weren't expected despite booking a month prior and messaging the owner that morning. As a result, the carpets were dirty, the boiler didn't work resulting in freezing cold bedrooms, the lamps didn't work in the bedroom and we were unable to shower on the Saturday because every tap poured out boiling hot water (even the toilet flush). We loved the surroundings and the amenities (particularly the pool and hot tub) but the whole experience was certainly far from value for money. Lisa was very nice and chatty but I had to introduce myself to Chris the day after we arrived to help me with the water despite the fact that he was working outside our place and we were in and out regularly. The hosts were rarely there, visiting the pub on Friday and a garden party on Saturday. I was going to mark it as average but because they couldn't even be bothered to be around when we left Sunday morning, it has to be marked as poor. We wanted to explain our feelings to them prior to leaving but, as we were unable to, resulted in this poor review. All of these problems resulted from us not being expected and the owners not being around. For the price I paid, I was expecting, rightly so, far better. The amenities and beauty of the place are not enough to make it 'luxury', it needs far more.

Thank you

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kristin P
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Idyllic cottage and setting for extended family stay”
Reviewed 30 October 2017 for a stay in October 2017
1
person found this review helpful

This is a beautiful location with fantastic family-friendly accommodation! Made great use of the spacious cottage, heated indoor swimming pool, nearby New Forest cycling paths, and the impressive Moors Valley country park. Would definitely recommend to friends and visit again!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ktg309
Woking
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Beautiful Location”
Reviewed 25 July 2017 for a stay in June 2017

We hired both Forest Cottage & Lodge for a hen weekend. The location is lovely right in the heart of the New Forest – very picturesque.
Both the properties were very well equipped, and clean. Whilst the layout worked well for our group, the cottage itself is on two levels with a steep spiral staircase which could be an issue if you have either young children or somebody less mobile within your party. The lodge had a larger “entertaining” area so we tended to gather there for meals and chilling as there was more space than within the cottage.
As we had hired both properties we had full & sole use of the facilities and certainly made the most of the swimming pool – the lodge has its’ own private garden which lent itself well to our BBQ the first evening – plenty of outside chairs and tables – but we did have to clean them before using them. We had a few issues with the Hot Tub not working properly but it is quite old, and having the pool made up for it.
There is some road noise from the A31, which could be heard from the upstairs bedroom in the cottage and in the grounds of the property – but didn’t detract from our enjoyment. The place felt like it needed a little TLC especially the outdoor areas, but we all said we liked it enough to come back for a revisit.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katharine...
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Lovely ❤️”
Reviewed 21 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017

Overall this is a little gem! Lovely friendly hosts who were discreet but attentive (I have to point out how kind Chris was when my car needed jump starting!)
The cottage itself is beautifully quirky and has everything you need. Parts are dated and the bunk beds are creaky beyond belief but somehow it's just such a happy space to be in that these things are overlooked. Warmer duvets would be welcomed but other than this it's a truly lovely place to stay...the New Forest is stunning!
Thank you for our lovely mini break

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
emilygrac...
Brighton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Pool, tennis court, childrens play area, New Forest location - fantastic”
Reviewed 20 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Location just off the A31.
Pool, tennis court, childrens play area.
You can walk out of the gates directly onto the New Forest.
Family friendly.
Local attractions Moores Valley/ Go ape, Ringwood has a waitrose. bagnumequestrian is great for horse riding.
Everything you need in the lodge, two double beds, one bunk bed, clean towels and bed linen, washing machine, dvd player etc.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
katie72bl...
Farnborough, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Surprise birthday weekend”
Reviewed 21 February 2017 for a stay in February 2017
2
people found this review helpful

The lodge was perfect for our 2 night stay for a surprise birthday weekend away. Very clean and in a beautiful part of the new forest, there is lots to do near by and Bournemouth is only a short drive away. Pool and hot tub were perfect for relaxing in after a day full on adventure. The 5 of us had an amazing time and will definitely be coming back!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KarenHawo...
Brighton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Half Term break”
Reviewed 21 February 2017 for a stay in February 2017

Lovely well-appointed cottage in the heart of the new forest. The owners were very friendly and helpful.The accommodation had everything we needed for a relaxing break.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing