We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good service, nice food” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Framptons New Forest

Framptons New Forest
Ranked #27 of 66 Restaurants in Ringwood
Cuisines: Cafe, British, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Local cuisine, Kids, Special Occasion Dining, Bar Scene, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Drinks, Breakfast, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Ringwood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Good service, nice food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

Just returned from lunch at Framptons. The food was delicious and the staff to a man were super helpfull, nothing was too much trouble.

Well worth a visit and the cake is to die for!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Racing-Hippo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

524 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    205
    136
    74
    57
    52
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ringwood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
327 reviews
232 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
“In need of food & water, morning, noon, or night - Framptons!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

Great breakfast, lovely lunches, and tasty dinners, Framptons is a great all rounder. It has a rustic, but classy feel to it. Service is pretty much the best you will get in Ringwood, so if its something informal and casual look no further. I maybe a little bias as it is my local, but I mean everything I said.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Nic L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
105 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Buzzing Atmosphere, Tasty Food, Beautiful Wine”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2014

My first time here with friends, an absolutely buzzing, vibrant venue if you just want to stand around drinking from a vast selection of wines or sit down and enjoy a tasty but somewhat limited selection of food. If you like shabby chic then this is the place for you with unfinished walls, rustic tables and an eclectic mix of memorabilia hanging on the walls.
Background music is somewhat drowned out by the constant chatter from the patrons and staff who were friendly were somewhat pushed later on to serve desserts which were very nice, especially the sticky toffee pudding. The plough mans meat platter could have done with having a slice of cheese rather than so much meat but the burger was most probably one of the nicest I've ever eaten.
Make sure you wear your best outfit when going here. Certainly one I would return to.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MrMRT1777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth
Level Contributor
43 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great ambience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2014 via mobile

This restaurant/cafe used to be an old merchants and has kept all of its old charm with original oak counter area and massive loo with original high level flush! It has a lovely bright conservatory type area and free wifi. Lovely coffee, cakes, sandwiches and lite bites. We go here regularly. Very comfortable and uncramped seating.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank jackiecoup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorset
Level Contributor
44 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“First visit .. nice place but just needs a bit more attention to detail”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2014

We popped into Framptons for lunch last week as we had heard nice things about the place and wanted to try for ourselves.
There was a good busy atmosphere and we opted to sit in the sun. Service was prompt. My husband had a goats cheese salad which he thoroughly enjoyed and I had a vegetarian olives humous etc. I have a nut allergy so checked this option was OK for me. Rather than report back that the bread wasn't - I was presented with the olives etc minus the bread and no alternative was discussed or offered to me. I found this meal choice difficult to eat minus the bread so asked for some potato crisps- which I should have felt I could have been presented with in the first place as the lunch wasn't cheap!
The chips my husband ordered were forgotten and when they did arrive they were in a tin which was lined around the edges with greaseproof but had a rusty , unlined bottom which was very off putting.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Sue and Brett J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Framptons New Forest also viewed

Ringwood, New Forest
Ringwood, New Forest
 
Ringwood, New Forest
 

Been to Framptons New Forest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing