We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cute old building”

The Star Inn Ringwood
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Star Inn Ringwood
Ranked #9 of 21 Ringwood B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Silverthorne, Colorado
Level Contributor
44 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Cute old building”
Reviewed 2 August 2014

Very historic building, cute area. We were visiting friends in the area and they recommended it. It was nice. Newly renovated bathrooms, clean crisp sheets. Dinner was nice. Outside area nice for visiting and close enough to the rooms for the kids to be in them playing.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MichelleSG2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    54
    31
    5
    6
    4
See reviews for
10
50
7
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

This pub/hotel in the heart of Ringwood in the New Forest has all the authentic old world charm of a country pub downstairs while the recently refurbished bedrooms upstairs are comfortable and well appointed. Not all rooms have a shower so if you prefer a shower to a bath, ask when booking.
The pub dinner menu is oriental and very good quality and there are some excellent ales on tap.
Have a look at the art on the walls around the bar and you will get a clue as to the 'other life' of the owner, who, by the way is an excellent host.
Ideal location for the New Forest and only about 8 miles from Bournemouth

Room Tip: Some rooms have a bath with a hand shower attachment and others have a shower cubicle so make sure y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wimborne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
167 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2014

Don't tell everyone how excellent the Oriental food is here or we won't be able to get a table ourselves ! We called in to the Star Inn yesterday for lunch. We chose Malaysian meals. My spicy Malaysian noodles couldn't have been better, fresh, flavoursome, hot and wholesome. All other meals chosen by our party were said to be superb too. Warm, friendly service made for a great meal and a promise of a return visit very soon.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Johnnyfastgun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2014 via mobile

Stayed at the Star inn with my husband and a group of friends for one night as we were visiting friends who live in Ringwood and the place was recommended by them.
Room was clean, comfortable bed, nice clean white towels and Tea/coffee facilities.Pub was pleasant with a nice atmosphere. Food (tai) was excellent and plenty of it!! Breakfast was very good. It was a full English and you could help yourself to croissants, cereals, fruit and yoghurts.
The pub is well situated, only short walk from shopping precinct as well as being minutes away from the heart of the new forest.
We will return to the Star Inn again and would recommend to anyone visiting New Forest /Ringwood.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank sarahjs1530
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed 25 April 2014

We arrived late last night looking for a room and John and Ian were extremely welcoming and accommodating even cooking us steak,chips and eggs for dinner! The room was very comfortable and clean and the shower was fantastic. Breakfast was wonderful. Only complaint - no hairdryer in the room.

Room Tip: Spitfire room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chatham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014

My wife and I stayed at The Star Inn for the Easter weekend and had a great break. The staff were really friendly and the food was fantastic, especially the cooked breakfasts. It is in a great location as a base for visiting both the New Forest and Dorset. The room was ideal for us, it was clean with a plentiful supply of towels and complimentary toiletries in the bathroom. It was such good value for money that we will certainly be returning and would definitely recommend it to family and friends. Thank you to all of the staff for giving us a great stay.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mark_heath969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2014

We have just returned from a very enjoyable stay at The Star. This is a fantastic place to stay. I booked a two night stay for the four of us (my wife and two children) and I am so pleased with what we experienced. This place has so much character, the staff are fantastic and the food very, very good. We would like to thank everyone at the Star for making our stay very enjoyable!!
If you like spicy food try the hot red curry, it's excellent!!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GaryH151
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ringwood
0.0 mi away
original white hart
original white hart
#3 of 3 in Ringwood
3.5 of 5 bubbles 233 reviews
2.3 mi away
St. Leonards Hotel
St. Leonards Hotel
#1 of 2 in St Leonards
3.5 of 5 bubbles 640 reviews
4.3 mi away
Premier Inn Bournemouth/Ferndown Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Tyrrells Ford Country Inn & Hotel
0.4 mi away
Lamb Inn Ringwood
Lamb Inn Ringwood
#13 of 21 in Ringwood
4.0 of 5 bubbles 63 reviews
0.3 mi away
Avonmead House
Avonmead House
#8 of 21 in Ringwood
5.0 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Star Inn Ringwood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Star Inn Ringwood

Property: The Star Inn Ringwood
Address: Cnr. Star Lane And 12 Market Place, New Forest, Ringwood BH24 1AW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > New Forest > Ringwood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Ringwood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 8
Also Known As:
The Star Inn Ringwood Hotel Ringwood
The Star Inn Ringwood New Forest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing