We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming place with wonderful people”
Review of Mill House B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Beaulieu
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Mill House B&B
Ranked #4 of 5 Beaulieu B&B and Inns
Reviewed 30 May 2011

After reading some of the other reviews, I would strongly suggest these individuals re-evaluate why they travel. The Mill is a wonderful spot. No fancy soaps, perhaps. but if you just want to collect toiletries please refer back to my opening sentence. That this place could be called expensive or overpriced is absolutely absurd. John and Harriet are just the kind of people you travel to meet. Funny, interesting and full of local knowledge. They also have a gift for bringing the guests together. Yes, there is construction but did not one bit affect the quality of the stay. Besides, you could look a long time to see the restoration of a 15th ( I think ) century miil in progress. Fascinating. If you are traveling and miss family, john and Harriet are the next best thing. I regret NOT taking their picture before left. Now that I'm home, the stay at The Mill is one of my fondest memories.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank fabvrgl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (48)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

28 - 34 of 48 reviews

Reviewed 17 May 2011

First of all, Harriet and John are very friendly hosts and nothing seemed like too much trouble for them. Breakfast was wonderful with endless amounts of cereal and cooked food to eat. The place is slightly old fashioned i.e. no locks on doors, curtain for a bathroom door but me and my partner just took it with a pinch of salt and laughed about it. Views from the room were fabulous and the location was perfect if you have a car.
Place could do with a bit of renovating, however we were only merely there for breakfast and to sleep as were out both days for the long weekend that we stayed. Bedding was very clean. If your looking for 5* then dont go, but if relativly cheap, quirky and old fashioned is your style then I would definatly go!

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Joshy21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2011

Without doubt the worst B & B we have ever stayed at and the price of £85 per night is wholly unjustified. Our bedroom on the first floor was full of the owners' belongings (including knickers) and toiletries. Inadequate power points with trailing extension leads everywhere. No tea or coffee making facilities. The en suite tiny "Bathroom" had no door, only a curtain, There was no new soap. and was poorly fitted. No lock on the Bedroom door. The whole place is tatty and unkempt with shabby decor and the Breakfast Room was filthy with dust and even leaves around the skirting boards. The chosen breakfast cereal was out of date by two months. To be avoided at all costs.

Room Tip: There is not one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank NIGEL927
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2011

We only stayed for 1 night and our room had a lovely view over the water. We sat outside for a hour or 2 which was very relaxing as we were the only couple there. The bathroom is clean as is the bedding, the building is very old and creaky with a few areas in need of attention but what do you expect....we would stay again.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PurpleWorldUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2010

We stayed at The Mill House as we were attending a wedding reception on a Saturday evening at the Abbey. A wonderfully charming B&B in a superb location. Harriet was so welcoming and accommodating, she even gave us a lift to our wedding reception. Having read some of the negative reviews I would suggest that these people have never stayed in the country before. This is country life! We absolutely loved our stay here and would return at the drop of a hat!

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anidiotabroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2010

We had reservations to stay at this B&B after a month of touring around Europe and staying in various low cost accommodations. After viewing the rooms and the breakfast room we deicded to look elsewhere for cleaner, more cheery looking rooms.

I would think twice about staying here. There are much nicer rooms available in the area at a slightly higher cost but a much better value!

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank jill2dive4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2010

The location of this B&B is fantastic, a five minute walk from the famous Abbey. It is an old house with creaky floorboards and beautiful views. The owners are really polite and full of character. The bedroom and bathroom were clean but dated and tired. You feel as though you are staying over at your auntie's friends house as personal possessions are everywhere! There isn't a shower in the ensuite and a curtain instead of a door so make sure you and your partner know each other well! Not everyone will like this accomodation, but it was fun, a bit different and the building is gorgeous. Also, for breakfast, you sit around a huge table with everyone else which we really liked as we got to socialise with other people...how very unenglish of us. My only negative comment is that at £80 a night, I did think it was overpriced for the quality of the bedroom.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stargazer30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Beaulieu
0.0 mi away
Montagu Arms Hotel
Montagu Arms Hotel
#1 of 2 in Beaulieu
1,212 reviews
3.4 mi away
Beaulieu Hotel
Beaulieu Hotel
#2 of 2 in Beaulieu
824 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Master Builder's House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Forest Park Hotel
Forest Park Hotel
#10 of 10 in Brockenhurst
612 reviews
5.5 mi away
Cottage Lodge Hotel
Cottage Lodge Hotel
#1 of 10 in Brockenhurst
1,089 reviews
5.2 mi away
Balmer Lawn
Balmer Lawn
#4 of 10 in Brockenhurst
1,651 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mill House B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mill House B&B

Address: Mill House Palace Lane, Beaulieu, New Forest, Brockenhurst, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > New Forest > Brockenhurst > Beaulieu
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Beaulieu
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Mill House Hotel Beaulieu
Mill House Bed And Breakfast
Mill House B&B Beaulieu, New Forest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing