We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A warm welcome” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mill House B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Beaulieu
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Mill House B&B
Ranked #4 of 5 Beaulieu B&B and Inns
hull
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“A warm welcome”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2010

John and Harriet made us so welcome during our two night stay with them. Nothing was too much trouble, breakfast was lovely - cooked to individual requirements, the open fire in the sitting room comforting after hectic days sightseeing, and the bed clean and very comfortable. What a beautiful location this home is in too!
Judy & Bruce Allison

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank judy2755
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    22
    11
    7
    1
    7
See reviews for
6
30
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Watford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2009

We (hubby, myself and Gemma the dog) have just returned from a wonderful 2 night stay at the Mill House. We were a little apprehensive before we went due to some of the other reviews but on arrival we were warmly greeted by Harriet & John and very soon made to feel at home with a cup of tea and choccy biscuits overlooking the wonderful views from their home. Our room was as described in the reviews but in a nice homely way, as if you were staying at the home of a friend or relative and we were certainly treated in that way. We were invited into their own lounge for a cup of tea with a lovely open fire that was nice and cosy on a chilly October evening. Good recommendations were given for somewhere to eat in the evening- The Turfcutter's Arms at East Boldre. Good hearty food & reasonably priced, we went back on our 2nd night as it was a good and varied menu. Breakfast at the Millhouse was also very good. Cereals, fruit, cooked breakfast and toast all on offer and freshly cooked. Harriet and John were very good with our dog, Gemma and she was very comfortable too and made herself at home. We will look forward to returning again , hopefully next year. Thank you Harriet and John.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gemmadogsmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2009

Harriet and John welcomed us into their home as though we were family members. We thoroughly enjoyed the charm of the old Mill House. Lovely linens, duvets and cozy beds were welcome after long days sightseeing as was the warm fire in the livingroom. A hearty English breakfast was served daily. We loved everything about it. Merrilyn & Doug Smith

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank roxethUsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2009

We did not stay the night but I hope you still allow my report to be published as The Mill is almost unique. The setting is to die for and the welcome is warm, honest and pleasantly eccentric. i was with my wife, son and mother, in Beaulieu just for the afternoon. On sighting a fading handwritten teas and cakes sign on a garden gate we investigated to find the most wonderful English Garden overlooking a unique setting by the river in Beulieu. Our host served an abundance of tea, coffee, cakes and scones and could not have been more welcoming. The setting is wonderful, the hospitality is genuine and recalls a bygone age. Thank you for a memorable Saturday afternoon.

  • Stayed August 2009
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank snorters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Uxbridge UK
2 reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2009

For £80 per room per night we expected better. Very hospitable, superb location and a great breakfast but as said before, no locks on doors, no beverage making facilities and cupboards and drawers filled with other peoples personal items. The building is very old and interesting but showing serious signs of neglect. It is also untidy and we noticed dust everywhere and it needed a thorough clean.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank johnhill747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
paris
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2009

This B&B must be pleasant but we have discover an dirty accommodation, a disorder bedroom , dirty bathroom with the bowl of the toilet not cleaned and not emptied and in the dining room the breakfast is served on a dirty table without butter, only not fresh margarine in the original package, no taste in the general decoration, the house with a lot of parts in refection, so and so...and to finish, the price for two personns and per night is too high 75£...
An accommodation to avoid.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ParisFairy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Flitwick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2009

We stayed in this B&B during the late-May bank holiday weekend for two nights. It was my partner's birthday treat, a weekend in the New Forest and a visit to the Go Ape! aerial course at Moors Vallery country park.

We chose this B&B partly because of its location, partly because of the Mill House building, but mainly because they were the only establishment that would allow us to stay for just two nights over a Bank Holiday weekend (I was due to be at work on the Bank Holiday Monday).

The Mill House itself is in the perfect location, the first building you come to as you enter the village of Beaulieu from the east. From the front , you can see the Beaulieu lake, around which stretches the village. From the back, there is a patio and the ever-changing view of the tidal Beaulieu River.

Our room, number 1 (of three) was a double with a view of the river. Within the room, there is an ensuite toilet and bath, with a handheld shower connected to the bath taps. The room contained a pile of leaflets for local attractions, some of which included money-off vouchers.

The service is very personal and attentive, which is where the 'unusal experience' part of my subject comes from. All guests have breakfast together, on the outdoor patio when the weather is good and in the dining room when it's not. There is also a communal living room with a TV and stereo, which guests can use whenever they like. The owners, Harriet and John, are happy to make you hot drinks whenever you like, as there are no drink facilities in rooms. They are also happy for you to use the dining room or patio to eat your evening meals.

The house and rooms contain personal items (the walk-in wardrobe in our room was full of their clothes) so this B&B isn't for those who want to shut themselves away from everyone else. It is, however, perfect for those who don't mind being sociable, particularly during breakfast and sharing the house with the owners and other guests. There are no locks on the doors or TVs or drink-making faciltiies in the rooms, but if you want truly personal, good old-fashioned hospitality in an amazing building in a wonderful location, the Mill House in Beaulieu is the one for you!

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank stuartpinfold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Beaulieu
0.0 mi away
Montagu Arms Hotel
Montagu Arms Hotel
#1 of 3 in Beaulieu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,099 reviews
3.4 mi away
The Beaulieu Hotel
The Beaulieu Hotel
#2 of 3 in Beaulieu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 733 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Master Builder's House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Cottage Lodge Hotel
Cottage Lodge Hotel
#1 of 11 in Brockenhurst
4.5 of 5 bubbles 981 reviews
5.5 mi away
Lime Wood Hotel
Lime Wood Hotel
#2 of 8 in Lyndhurst
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,194 reviews
6.4 mi away
Ormonde House Hotel
Ormonde House Hotel
#3 of 8 in Lyndhurst
4.5 of 5 bubbles 432 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mill House B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mill House B&B

Property: Mill House B&B
Address: Mill House Palace Lane, Beaulieu, New Forest, Brockenhurst, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > New Forest > Brockenhurst > Beaulieu
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Beaulieu
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Mill House Hotel Beaulieu
Mill House Bed And Breakfast
Mill House B&B Beaulieu, New Forest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing