We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"What a pity"”

Master Builder's Bar & Restaurant
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Chipping Norton, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“"What a pity"”
Reviewed 13 June 2014

What a pity that a hotel with such a good reputation and beautiful surroundings offers such poor quality food and service to its casual bar customers.
Having battled to place our order through a very verbose barman who, is apparently "my mate"
fish, chips and peas appeared on the plate looking as attractive as a " wet hen " in a deep litter shed. The supporting condiments were presented, dirty sauce bottles , heinz tomato sauce ?? I tried to order a nice bottle of wine only to be advised after a 5/6 minute search that it was not available. No alternative was offered !
I reccomend a picnic

    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CliveWatts1, General Manager at Master Builder's Bar & Restaurant, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Thank you for your review
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

385 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    100
    82
    79
    72
    52
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow
Level Contributor
68 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Don't arrive before noon”
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Having walked from Beaulieu, we were looking for something to eat. We arrived about 11:50 but, having seen that they did not take orders until noon, waited to place our order. My wife went to the bar bang on 12:00 to be met with "Is it 12 o'clock yet?"!! The food was of acceptable quality, served by a pleasant waitress. However, first impressions leave a lasting impression.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank RodneyMBamburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CliveWatts1, General Manager at Master Builder's Bar & Restaurant, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Thank you for your review and many apologies that you were greeted in the way that you were.
It is a lovely walk along the river from Beaulieu to Bucklers Hard and many of our customers come to us that way. We serve coffees and teas all morning and food from 12 noon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lymington, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“poor food and service”
Reviewed 6 June 2014

Took my mother for a light lunch yesterday but spent most of time in a queue at bar firstly for a drink then food. Probably left her sitting alone for 40 mins in total! 1 bar lady who said did not usually work in the bar. (she was very pleasant but overworked)
Chap wandering about in jacket and tie and as restaurant empty I felt he could have "mucked in".
Poor for the price (fishcake) with wllted salad on side.
No lock on toilet door.
Amazing building and views so feel they don't have to bother with food and service.
Went to the café in car park for puds as could not face the queue again. SO much better.
Suggest eat in the café or at the suberb Montague arms in Beaulieu.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank 17jeff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CliveWatts1, General Manager at Master Builder's Bar & Restaurant, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Thank you for your review and my apologies for the wait you experienced in the bar.
At busy times we do experience some queueing and we would highly recommend our restaurant which can be found by walking through to the main hotel from the lower bar. We have a very good and well priced lunch menu there. Whilst it is worth booking if possible, we will always try to find you a table. At weekends and during the summer holidays we also have a BBQ and bar in our garden.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fareham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Sailor Beware!”
Reviewed 6 June 2014

Eight of us sailed to Buckler's Hard as part of a week's trip around the Solent. Previous reviews of the bar food had been poor but the Harbour Master had assured us that there was a new chef in the Master Builder and the food was now very good. That was not our experience. Two of our number shared a seafood platter, which they rated pretty good, but it involved very little cooking. One had a burger which he described as "the cheapest budget burger accompanied by rubbish chips". Everyone else, including me, opted for the homemade chicken pie with 'seasonal vegetables'. The tiny pie, containing less than half a chicken breast I would guess, arrived on top of a dollop of cold mashed potato accompanied by a few chopped winter vegetables in a commercial packet gravy that had nothing to do with chicken. Moreover, it was very expensive. Those serving in the bar were helpful and enthusiastic, but let down by the chef and a management who seem out to exploit a captive audience: the problem is that there is nowhere else to eat here. Arriving by boat one cannot just jump in the car to go elsewhere. When we return to this beautiful spot on the river Beaulieu in the future we will plan to cook on board.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Sue M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CliveWatts1, General Manager at Master Builder's Bar & Restaurant, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Thank you for your review of the bar at the Master Builders.
You would be right in saying that we have had some good feedback from many of the sailors and crew that come down the Beaulieu River, both eating in the bar and restaurant.
The platters have been incredibly popular.
I am sorry that you felt let down by the burger and pies. Our burgers are specially made for us by our local butcher and we normally get very good feedback on them. We have various pie 'specials' that change daily and I will certainly be looking to make sure that these are filled to the brim. The pies are all home made in our kitchen.
Whilst we keep or bar menu simple, we do strive to provide value for money.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Lunch at master builders”
Reviewed 5 June 2014

Great location but marred by disappointing and overpriced meals in the bar plus poor service. Staff need proper training to meet the standards one would expect from a premium facility. We felt exploited in such a beautiful place.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Jane326
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CliveWatts1, General Manager at Master Builder's Bar & Restaurant, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Thank you for your review.
On busy days the bar does get very full and there are sometimes queues to order food which is done at the bar itself. At weekends when we experience the highest volumes of people we have a second food only ordering point which is proving very successful.
We also have a well priced lunch menu in our restaurant and on weekends, weather permitting, an outside BBQ and bar.
I note that you live a long way from the New Forest but hope that if you are back in the UK, we can look after you in our restaurant.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Master Builder's Bar & Restaurant also viewed

 
Lyndhurst, New Forest
 
Beaulieu, Brockenhurst
Southampton, Hampshire
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing