We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Bond in motion is great”

Beaulieu National Motor Museum
Ranked #2 of 11 things to do in Beaulieu
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: In the heart of the glorious New Forest, Beaulieu is one of the South's top visitor attractions. Here you will find the National Motor Museum, home to over 250 vehicles telling the history of motoring. You can also visit Palace House and Gardens, home of the Montagu family since 1538, the remains of Beaulieu Abbey and World of Top Gear where you can see some of the vehicles from Jeremey, James and Richard's most ambitious challenges. Ride on the high level Monorail or climb aboard the replica 1912 open top London bus for a fun way to see Beaulieu's sights.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Stockbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Bond in motion is great”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2012

We went to see the Bond in motion exhibition ahead of the launch of Skyfall. It was fab it was great guessing which films the cars were in before reading all the blurbs.
The rest of the museum is gat too especially the recreated garage. Not sure about the ride through the history of cars, obviously sponsored by Ford, but somewhat out of date. The Top Gear exhibit was good too.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank GillyJ1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,073 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,420
    1,218
    303
    91
    41
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stockbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Well worth a visit”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2012

We visited on a wet October Monday, mainly to see the Bond in Motion exhibition ahead of the new Bond film. The motor museum was fab and a chance to see some of the great British cars of the past. We especially liked the Bond exhibits but the ride through the history of cars - sponsored by Ford I guess - was a little odd.
Elsewhere, the house was lovely, and a roaring fire in the dining hall took the edge off the weather. We also had a spin around the park in the monorail and popped into the Top Gear exhibition.
The cafe was really good value for money with a proper restaurant and a coffee shop. All in all it's well worth a visit if you are in the area.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank GillyJ1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hailsham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“So much to see!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2012

The £20 entry fee would usually have put me off, but I had to see the Bond cars and I'm really glad we went!

The Top Gear exhibit was great - loved seeing so many of the cars from the ridiculous challenges, especially the aquatic cars. The 'screen' cars section was a bit of a let down. I had hoped for a few more than they had. The Bond exhibit was everything I had hoped for, including lots of screens showing clips from the films so you could watch the cars in action. The rest of the motor museum was equally impressive.

The abbey is sadly a ruin (thank you very much Henry VIII!) but what is left is well presented and a very peaceful spot to look around.
Very much enjoyed the SOE museum and the house too.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Labtech666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucks, UK
Level Contributor
139 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Fantastic, even if you aren't interested in cars!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2012

We loved the Motor Museum, and I am not remotely interested in cars, we just happened to be staying nearby for the weekend. The fantastic range of cars, the information provided on them, the sense of history conveyed - all contributed to a great visit. I particularly loved the small selection of cars from the movies (Mr. Bean's Mini!!). And if you can get there before the Bond exhibition shuts then go just to see that, it's brilliant!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Bobsiej1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Broseley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
142 reviews
45 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Good day out”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2012 via mobile

Enjoyed our outing to the museum. Went specifically for the Bond exhibition and weren't disappointed. The Top Gear area was also very good. The abbey ruins and house are worth looking at. The ghostly tour guide was excellent. Restaurant on site but expensive so take a picnic. Staff friendly and helpful. Good wheelchair access. Entry price may be expensive after the bond exhibits have moved. Offers available for entry in leaflet. Money off booking online available but only in advance.

Helpful?
Thank Karen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Beaulieu National Motor Museum also viewed

Lyndhurst, New Forest
Ringwood, New Forest
 
Milford on Sea, Lymington
 

Been to Beaulieu National Motor Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing