We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great day out.”

Beaulieu National Motor Museum
Ranked #2 of 14 things to do in Beaulieu
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: In the heart of the glorious New Forest, Beaulieu is one of the South's top visitor attractions. Here you will find the National Motor Museum, home to over 250 vehicles telling the history of motoring. You can also visit Palace House and Gardens, home of the Montagu family since 1538, the remains of Beaulieu Abbey and World of Top Gear where you can see some of the vehicles from Jeremy, James and Richard's most ambitious challenges. Ride on the high level Monorail or climb aboard the replica 1912 open top London bus for a fun way to see Beaulieu's sights.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Reviewed 29 June 2014

This was our first visit for many years, and we had a thoroughly enjoyable day out. You need about 4 hours to see all the many features available. We were lucky enough to visit on a really good summers day which adds to the enjoyment. The vehicle museum is the major part of this attraction which has cars from bygone days, and from all around the world. There is a monorail which gives you an aerial view of the grounds etc. The ruins of Beaulieu Abbey, and the gardens are worth a visit also.

Thank Cavalier1946
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (4,970)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"top gear"
in 1,156 reviews
"motor museum"
in 1,256 reviews
"palace house"
in 346 reviews
"gift aid"
in 157 reviews
"something for everyone"
in 273 reviews
"vintage bus"
in 182 reviews
"old cars"
in 154 reviews
"james bond"
in 112 reviews
"open top bus"
in 92 reviews
"chitty chitty bang bang"
in 87 reviews
"all ages"
in 226 reviews
"car enthusiast"
in 77 reviews
"petrol head"
in 108 reviews
"secret army exhibition"
in 75 reviews
"brabazon restaurant"
in 73 reviews
"go karts"
in 63 reviews
"stately home"
in 88 reviews
Filter

3,603 - 3,607 of 4,972 reviews

Reviewed 29 June 2014 via mobile

I visited here yesterday as a birthday treat, was a brilliant day the main museum was fantastic and the top gear cars and show was amazing, felt a little let down with how big the film cars arena as only a small handful of cars they had to fill it with Mr beans mini and trotters Robin reliant which are still cool but I didn't see any bond cars at all so felt it could have done better there but as I said the top gear arena was the best part of that area.

Thank Titch F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beaulieu_Hampshire, Public Relations Manager at Beaulieu National Motor Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2014

Thank you very much for your review. We are sorry to hear that you were disappointed not to see any Bond cars, but the large temporary exhibition of James Bond vehicles that was on display in the museum closed in January 2014.

However, in place of that exhibition, the museum has recently opened two brand new permanent displays; 'For Britain & For The Hell Of It', which features the museum’s iconic Land Speed Record Breakers in a stunning new multimedia display, alongside a temporary exhibition of vehicles with a more alternative LSR heritage, and 'The Motorcycle Story', which showcases motorcycles and memorabilia to tell the history of two-wheeled transport.

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your day at Beaulieu, particularly the World of Top Gear exhibition – which has been refreshed and updated for 2014 - and we do hope to welcome you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

We did not expect to find so much there for the price we paid (being 60 now we get a cheaper rate). We arrived at about 1115hrs and were very nearly the last out at 1750hrs and could have spent longer there. The Motor museum is second to none with everything from the 1st car and bikes to the 2014 car of the year. But it's not just walking round reading plaques in front of cars, there are exhibits showing the history of Sat Nav, Brakes, wheels and tyres as well. There are film features to sit and watch and a very interesting 'pod' ride through the history of motoring. Out side of this you have the Top Gear building with a video show and many of their 'vehicles' on display. A separate exhibit on cars from film and TV is small but very interesting. What else is there? Well how about an amazing historical house to walk around, a Victorian garden to enjoy, a lake, an open top bus ride (vintage), a monorail and a woodland walk. Was that all? No, there is a Secret Army exhibit and an old Abbey to explore. If you have young ones there are rides and play areas as well as go-carts for slightly older ones. Add the restaurant and that was our day. There were no events on the day we went but in addition to all I have mentioned you can book on a day when there is a special event on (Alpha Romeo day coming up) and get even more in the day to do. What a great place and cost us just under £33 for both of us. Value.

Thank Paul C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Wanted to revisit here as I had not been since childhood.
I left feeling somewhat let down.
The on screen cars attraction, 5 and only one of those from 'Bond'.
'Top Gear' attraction vehicles pretty much as you see them on set.
Land speed display seemed unfinished with vehicles missing'.
'Motorcycle story' as with much of the rest, no real cohesive flow.
There were areas of empty floor with no explanation as to the reason why.
If the missing exhibits had been removed and taken to 'Goodwood' then that would have real shame for the paying, and quite highly charged, punters.
All in all, the shine you would expect from a 'national collection' is getting dull.

Thank andya308
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beaulieu_Hampshire, Public Relations Manager at Beaulieu National Motor Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2014

Thank you for your review. We are sorry to hear that you felt disappointed with your visit. The BOND IN MOTION exhibition, which ran for two years, closed permanently in January 2014, and in place of this, the museum has opened two new permanent displays this year; ‘For Britain & For The Hell Of It’, featuring iconic Land Speed Record cars, and ‘The Motorcycle Story’.

Unfortunately, on the day you visited, a small number of vehicles were off display, as they were attending the Festival of Speed at Goodwood. The museum is an active museum and tries to keep as many of the exhibits in working order as possible, regularly taking the vehicles out to shows and rallies and rotating the exhibits to keep the museum displays as fresh and interesting as possible. The museum also exhibits guest vehicles, loaned by other museums and private collections both in the UK and Europe, and is constantly adding to the core collection.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 29 June 2014

We had decided to go the as I had not visited the area for a long time.
The visit to the house was on the agenda of TOH and she was slightly disappointed as there was only a small portion of the house to view.
The signage for the facilities, near the old abbey, was also somewhat hidden and without a map could be easily missed.

1  Thank andya308
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beaulieu_Hampshire, Public Relations Manager at Beaulieu National Motor Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2014

Thank you for your review. We are sorry to read that you felt disappointed in your visit to Beaulieu. The all-inclusive admission price gives you access to the whole Beaulieu attraction, which features the National Motor Museum, World of Top Gear, On Screen Cars, Beaulieu Abbey and Palace House and gardens. The House is a large historic country house, which is still lived in by the Montagu family, but it is not on the scale of some of the UK’s other Treasure Houses, such as Blenheim Palace, and is not advertised as such. Approximately half the House has been opened to the public, including all the main reception rooms, with the family still living in the other private half, however, when the Montagu family are not in residence, visitors have the opportunity to take a tour of the private apartments.

All visitors to the Beaulieu attraction are given a Welcome To leaflet on arrival, which includes a map of the attraction site, clearly marking the lavatory facilities, both in the restaurant building and in the Abbey building. There are also signposts around the Abbey building directing visitors to these facilities.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Beaulieu National Motor Museum also viewed

 

Been to Beaulieu National Motor Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing