We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Afternoon Tea”
Review of The Beaulieu Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Beaulieu Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Beaulieu
Certificate of Excellence
Southampton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Afternoon Tea”
Reviewed 20 July 2014

I booked 6 of our family for afternoon tea. 7 of us turned up in the end which didn't seem to be a problem. We were shown to our table to a lovely quiet garden in the shade. Lovely so far, it was lovely to relax and enjoy some family time but I can not recommend afternoon tea. There was hardly any service, tea for 6 appeared with 1 extra scone only. Sandwiches were not enough and when asked for more they explained they were too busy. Scones were lovely but the sandwiches and cake choice lacked inspiration. Tea pots were not topped up and no attentive service. At £14:95 per head I do expect better service and value.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Normskii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newforesthotels, Guest Relations Manager at The Beaulieu Hotel, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
I am sorry you had a disappointing afternoon tea at the Beaulieu Hotel. This is not our usual level of service and I will ensure the general manager investigates your comments further. Thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

762 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    302
    243
    130
    60
    27
See reviews for
214
396
19
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (269)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014

Booked afternoon tea here and was shown to a lovely table in the garden. We were the only ones having tea.This is where the good review ends. The afternoon tea priced at £14.95 and consisted of a poor selection of sandwiches which were cut as triangles and fingers, were dry and not enough. 3 varieties of unimaginative cakes (finger of lemon drizzle, bake well tart and millionaire shortbread) sorry to say I could have bought these from a cheap bakery. Where's the meringues or dainty macaroons, Mille-feuille or mini eclairs? On a positive note the scones where lovely. The service was very poor and we had no top up of tea.The receptionist was very abrupt. I think staff need to visit other places in their local area so that they can improve the quality of their service and food. We will not be returning.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Sara D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newforesthotels, Guest Relations Manager at The Beaulieu Hotel, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
I am sorry you had a disappointing afternoon tea at the Beaulieu Hotel. This is not our usual level of service and I will ensure the general manager investigates your comments further. Thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
107 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2014

I booked this hotel at the last minute and discovered what they do well, they do very well, however there are a couple of easy fixes.

Check in was quick and easy while extremely friendly.

The location and scenery can't be faulted.

The food and drink are of great quality with top draw service.

Room was scrupulously clean and well appointed.

There were only 2 real drawbacks and they really let it down for me

First the bed - it was so soft I really had issues.

Secondly the squeaky floorboards - I'm not unreasonable, it's an old building and you expect a few however the racket all evening from my floor and the floor above were horrendous. Please, employ a local carpenter to fix some down, it would make a massive issue to the sleep quality.

Room Tip: Top floor room to avoid the very load squeaky floorboards
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Arobajase
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newforesthotels, Guest Relations Manager at The Beaulieu Hotel, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write this review. Bed comfort is very difficult to get right for every guest, as everyone has different mattress requirements. If you decide to stay with us again, please mention you would prefer a firm bed and we will do our utmost to allocate you a room with the most suitable bed. The squeaky floorboards is as you say due to the age and character of the building. I will however ask our Maintenance Manager to investigate this problem. I am delighted that apart from these 2 issues you had an enjoyable stay at the Beaulieu Hotel and hope you will return for another visit in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Lovely setting in the new forest, although not quite in the middle of no-where. There are 2 car parks but for the hotel best going to the one to the left of the entrance, but avoid parking under the trees as the tree sap falls on your car!. We had a front facing room which was very spacious with great view out front. Bed very soft but still got good nights sleep. I think due to the age of the property there are a few creaky floorboard outside the room and you could hear people waking about, but i would say only a minor complaint. There is a decent menu for the hotel but we chose to eat next door at The Drift Inn, which I believe is owned by the hotel. The hotel/pub has an excellect beer garden with loads of benches should you want to dine/drink al fresco. Good childrens play area as well. The hotel has a small swimming pool and steam room. Would definately go back

Room Tip: ask for front facing room and away from the railway line
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rubberheid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lymington, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2014

Booked afternoon tea for two and asked for a window table with a view; arrived and was seated on the low sofas with no view. Asked to be moved to a window table overlooking the forest; this request was declined as these tables were set up for dinner (this was 3pm) so seated at a window table overlooking the car park. Had to request a tablecloth. We were, incidentally, the only two guests in the dining room/lounge for the entire time we were there. Eight finger sandwiches, two scones (with marmalade?), six small assortment of cakes (taken home for hungry offspring) - £30.00 - quite expensive given the almost total lack of service. I wouldn't go again - plenty of places in the New Forest offering afternoon teas and interested in making them a special occasion!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christina1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newforesthotels, Guest Relations Manager at The Beaulieu Hotel, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
I am sorry you had a disappointing afternoon tea at the Beaulieu Hotel. This is not our usual level of service and I will ensure the general manager is made aware of this review so that further staff training can be implemented where required. Thank you for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manama, Bahrain
Level Contributor
53 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014

Great location for exploring the New Forest & the motor museum and set in lovely surroundings.
However, I found the room I was given to be small & cramped & very dated - definitely needs a spruce up and the bathroom was an 80's throwback with the shower running at a virtual dribble. However, the worst part was that the room was so stuffy & hot that even with the stand fan provided on full blast & the window open as far as it could go it was a very uncomfortable & disturbed night with not much sleep enjoyed.
I was disappointed overall & would probably choose a different hotel on return visits which is a shame as with a bit of thought and refurb works this should be a great hotel.
I would strongly recommend the Drift Inn pub next door for excellent food & good beer

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank SCS123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newforesthotels, Guest Relations Manager at The Beaulieu Hotel, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write this review following your recent visit to the Beaulieu Hotel. We offer 4 different room types which enables our guests to upgrade to a larger room if required. We are constantly renovating the bedrooms at all our hotels and will ensure the maintenance team assess this room as soon as possible. Thank you once again for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hythe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

A lovely hotel with a nice pub next door. We were a party of staying in 3 rooms and we had very good service. The breakfasts were delicous with lovely sausages. Evening meals were enjoyable with the specials changing everyday. The wine was expensive but they did not mind us bringing the odd pint in from The Drift Inn next door.
It was nice to step out of the door straight into the New Forest and see the ponies within feet of the Hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Curran56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Beaulieu
3.6 mi away
Forest Lodge Hotel
Forest Lodge Hotel
#4 of 8 in Lyndhurst
4.0 of 5 bubbles 787 reviews
3.4 mi away
Montagu Arms Hotel
Montagu Arms Hotel
#1 of 3 in Beaulieu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,128 reviews
5.4 mi away
Bartley Lodge Hotel
Bartley Lodge Hotel
#1 of 1 in Cadnam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 804 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.8 mi away
Burley Manor
Burley Manor
#1 of 2 in Burley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 311 reviews
3.5 mi away
The Crown Manor House Hotel
3.4 mi away
Balmer Lawn
Balmer Lawn
#3 of 11 in Brockenhurst
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,567 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Beaulieu Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Beaulieu Hotel

Property: The Beaulieu Hotel
Address: Beaulieu Road, Beaulieu, New Forest, Brockenhurst SO42 7YQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > New Forest > Brockenhurst > Beaulieu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Beaulieu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Beaulieu Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Beaulieu Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hotel Beaulieu
The Beaulieu Hotel New Forest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing