We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“excellent location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Master Builder's House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Master Builder's House Hotel
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Beaulieu
Certificate of Excellence
surrey
Level Contributor
91 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“excellent location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2014

lovely hotel, friendly staff, clean, we stayed for Christmas, nice room tho a bit small, bed comfy but pillows go flat, may need to take your own. tea and coffee facilities good, the food was excellent apart from xmas lunch, which was the worst meal, probably due to us being at the last sitting. nice breakfast, everyone had a xmas stocking upon returning from breakfast, nice touch! nice walk to Beulieu, close to Lymington and new forest. bar with log fire. the only thing lacking was some kind of entertainment, and perhaps a comms board. Lovely view of the harbour. we would recommend for a short stay.

Room Tip: We had room 14, upstairs, choose upstairs if you are not a dog owner, people with dogs have downstai...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank coupleguildford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CliveWatts1, General Manager at The Master Builder's House Hotel, responded to this review, 20 January 2014
Thank you for your kind review. I am very pleased you enjoyed your Christmas break and the Christmas stockings. Our 2014 Christmas package is now finalised and pleased to say a discount is available for early booking.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

845 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    334
    260
    157
    68
    26
See reviews for
127
559
11
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (279)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
28 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2014

Stayed in the upgraded 'Chic Room' (Pandorra) which was very nice in the atic, having a lot of character in this very old building. A very charming hotel, well recommended for a romantic getaway. Particulaly nice in the Winter with the open fire going. Appreciated being personally shown to our room - it was unfortunate though that the restaurant was quite quiet during the evening dinner (lacked atmosphere) and the hotel was unable to serve any food during the afternoon until the evening. Otherwise a great stay, and nice pub next door too!

Room Tip: I can recommend the Pandorra room
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dhalluk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CliveWatts1, General Manager at The Master Builder's House Hotel, responded to this review, 20 January 2014
Thank you for your kind review. We are hoping to introduce an afternoon tea menu shortly and I am pleased to say that we have extended our weekend lunch time menu to 3pm on Saturday and 4pm on Sunday.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milborne Saint Andrew, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2013

Stayed three nights in this charming hotel. All the staff made us VERY welcome and were very attentive and the smallest of detail was never overlooked by them .Delicious food, great room, well equipped very clean and comfortable open fires in the lounge and pub. Great location for walks along the Beaulie River bank or explore the wooded trail and discover what timbers were used in the building of our ancient warships. Extra touches: the dog had his own bed complete with cream blanket with satin bound trim. Santa paid us a visit on Christmas morning and left a stocking hanging on our bedroom door full of goodies. We have booked for next year, several guests were staying over Christmas having booked after their stay for Christmas 2012.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank operadiva42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CliveWatts1, General Manager at The Master Builder's House Hotel, responded to this review, 3 January 2014
It is so nice to see so many of our guests booking for the Christmas Break year after year and thank you for your lovely review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2013

A drop-in night here turned out to be a lot of fun. This historic yet almost resort style hotel gives you a reasonably comfortable night with a bit of atmosphere. The complex runs down to the river over the old boat building area which gives it a pleasant setting. The bar area was quite cosy while we were there but I guess in summer it would be very busy. We chose to eat in the bar rather than the restaurant because there weren’t many people about but the restaurant menu looked good and breakfast was quite good. Our room was a good size with dark woodwork and a reasonable bathroom – but you have to know to turn the pump on to get hot water for the shower! The staff were pleasant and helpful – happy to give us a hand down the stairs with our gear. Close to Beaulieu and the rest of the New Forest and more affordable than the hatted Montagu Arms.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank AgingSlowly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CliveWatts1, General Manager at The Master Builder's House Hotel, responded to this review, 3 January 2014
Thank you for your nice review. From your kind words I suspect you may have wanted to award us a higher rating, but we are delighted with what you wrote, so thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 December 2013

We went for a wedding and it was lovely. The food, the decor, the staff -- all perfect. I especially loved the huge open fireplaces. So cozy in late November. The room in the new wing was very comfortable.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Nadya L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CliveWatts1, General Manager at The Master Builder's House Hotel, responded to this review, 3 January 2014
Many thanks for your review and with the weather as it is right now, we feel blessed to have so many open fireplaces.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
149 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 December 2013

My son & now daughter in law had the wedding reception at this lovely place, on the 14/12/2013. The setting is superb, the food and service very good. Nice rooms with quaint furniture. All in all a lovely experience.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BRIANACTON
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CliveWatts1, General Manager at The Master Builder's House Hotel, responded to this review, 3 January 2014
Thank you for your nice review and I am delighted you enjoyed your time with us
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hatfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 December 2013

We had one night at the hotel staying in the Henry Adams Wing, could not fault it the room was well equipped, clean and very comfortable, and although our room overlooked the car park it was peaceful. Breakfast was enjoyed, we both had the full english. The staff to include reception, bar, waiters and waitresses very pleasant and helpful.
I chose this Hotel as I took my partner for his 50th birthday to the National Motor Musuem and the hotel was a short distance away - perfect!

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank sandra p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CliveWatts1, General Manager at The Master Builder's House Hotel, responded to this review, 3 January 2014
Thank you for your review.
We are lucky to be located so near to the Beaulieu Motor Museum.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Beaulieu
1.9 mi away
Montagu Arms Hotel
Montagu Arms Hotel
#1 of 3 in Beaulieu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,099 reviews
5.3 mi away
The Beaulieu Hotel
The Beaulieu Hotel
#2 of 3 in Beaulieu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 733 reviews
6.9 mi away
Cottage Lodge Hotel
Cottage Lodge Hotel
#1 of 11 in Brockenhurst
4.5 of 5 bubbles 981 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.6 mi away
The Crown Manor House Hotel
9.2 mi away
Rhinefield House Hotel
Rhinefield House Hotel
#7 of 11 in Brockenhurst
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,618 reviews
6.8 mi away
Balmer Lawn
Balmer Lawn
#3 of 11 in Brockenhurst
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,527 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Master Builder's House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Master Builder's House Hotel

Property: The Master Builder's House Hotel
Address: Bucklers Hard, Beaulieu, New Forest, Brockenhurst SO42 7XB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > New Forest > Brockenhurst > Beaulieu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Beaulieu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Master Builder's House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With its stunning location in the New Forest overlooking the Beaulieu River, this historic hotel at Buckler's Hard offers a relaxing stay of quirky but affordable luxury. Tuck into a pint and a snack in the Yachtsman's Bar & Gardens, or treat yourself to a sumptuous meal in the Riverside Restaurant. Most importantly, relax and enjoy every minute of your time with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotel.de, Hotels.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The Master Builder's House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Master Builders Hotel
The Master Builder's House Hotel Beaulieu, New Forest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing