We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place for a short stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Master Builder's House Hotel
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Beaulieu
Portsmouth UK
Level Contributor
67 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Nice place for a short stay”
Reviewed 11 January 2014

My friend and I spent 2 nights here just after new year 2014. We had a classic room each (overlooks car park as other reviewers have said). The rooms are very nicely decorated; nice cafetierre coffee and teapig teas in rooms; and nice toiletries. And a good reduction when using the room for a single occupancy which was a bonus. The staff were very nice and friendly. We spent 2 happy evenings playing scrabble in front of big log fire in lounge; recommended. The bar feels a bit cold; but think this is in keeping with its history as part of Bucklers Hard. Lunch in restaurant was very nice; gnocchi was fantastic. Breakfasts - I had Eggs Royale both days - were fabulous - couldn't be faulted.

Room Tip: If you are going with a friend it is worth asking for single occupancy on classic rooms - we got the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PacificDiana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CliveWatts1, General Manager at The Master Builder's House Hotel, responded to this review, 4 February 2014
Thank you for your nice review and hope you come back to see us...the log fire in the bar is at full tilt.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

880 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    350
    271
    163
    71
    25
See reviews for
130
585
11
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (288)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Woking, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
82 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2014

This was my second visit to The Master Builders and Hubby's 3rd. We arrived early afternoon on the 24th to a very warm and friendly welcome, personally shown to our room 13 - Bittern top floor of the Henry Adams wing. Wonderful tea / coffee/ snack tray, although I did bring along my own PG Tips! Room is a fine size and the bed was huge and comfy, although as others have said the pillows are a little flat, will take my own next time.

Afternoon tea was served in the Lounge, where we got to meet a couple of other guests, very nice and relaxed start to the festivities.

3 course dinner in the evening served in the main restaurant was very good and generous portion sizes.

We skipped breakfast on Christmas day and was ready for lunch, service was great, the food was plentiful again and pretty tasty. Buffett in the evening with light entertainment. A quiz, which to be honest could have been better, it seemed that most of the questions where related to the host in some way, any way we had a laugh and the log fire was burning brightly.

Boxing day breakfast then off to the Motor Museum at Beaulieu. Very enjoyable. The only meal not included in the package was lunch on Boxing day so a quick sandwich in the bar was plentiful until Dinner.

Very impressed with the staff over the period, nothing was too much trouble and all were in good spirits.

We felt we got value for money with this package, and quite liked the fact that it was not overly organised which allowed all guests to do as they pleased. We will certainly consider The Master Builders again for a thoroughly relaxing Christmas break. So Thank You to all the Staff.

Room Tip: Dogs very welcome. Rooms are in the Henry Adams wing ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AgentNikky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CliveWatts1, General Manager at The Master Builder's House Hotel, responded to this review, 20 January 2014
Thank you for your nice review and it's very nice to see the comments about the staff. We hope to be able to offer some more bar entertainment next year, maybe not a quiz though! Hopefully we can welcome you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adderbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2014

The setting is splendid, the anticipation great - but what a let-down !
The quirky attic room was ok but lacked anywhere comfortable to sit, and any lighting bright enough or of sufficient height to read by
For our two night stay we chose to eat in the bar on the first night and the restaurant the second
The bar food was dreadful - whitebait starter which had probably been re-fried at least twice and was just grease, a limp Caesar salad with lumps of overcooked chicken which had clearly been hanging around a bit, and an inedible chocoloate bread and butter pudding - just what was in there?? The willing young staff could only apologise
Breakfast in the very pleasant dining room overlooking the river was ok for us, but all we heard around us were apologies again from the staff as cold porridge, cold coffee and limp toast were sent back
This was enough to put us off dining there, and we braved a really rough night to have an excellent meal in a pub 8 miles up the road
Next morning we were surprised to find that "Breakfast in the very pleasant dining room overlooking the river" was in fact served back in the dingy pub bar, because the main restaurant had already been laid up for New Year's Eve! - couldn't they have done that after breakfast??
This breakfast was a complete disaster and we left with the sound of "I'm sorry" coming from all the staff as guests became more and more irate
I asked to speak to the manager to suggest he got things sorted out - but he hadn't arrived
Perhaps he had been fired?
Never again

Room Tip: not room 32
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WICKETKEEPER1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CliveWatts1, General Manager at The Master Builder's House Hotel, responded to this review, 4 February 2014
Thank you for your review and I am sorry we didn't live up to your expectations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stafford
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2014

The terrible weather did not detract from the warm welcome and wonderful New Year stay at the Masterbuilders. The staff were cheerful, helpful and nothing was too much trouble for them. At the New Year,s eve dinner the champagne flowed and along with the food, disco and fireworks made for a true celebration.
Breakfasts were varied and first class and a trip to the nearby Beaulieu Estate completed a lovely experience.
Please Masterbuilders do this again next year; but we will visit you again before this.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StaffordBarbaraR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CliveWatts1, General Manager at The Master Builder's House Hotel, responded to this review, 20 January 2014
Don't worry, we have the same planned for this year - dinner, dancing, fireworks and of course, flowing Champagne! We hope you will come again...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
surrey
Level Contributor
96 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2014

lovely hotel, friendly staff, clean, we stayed for Christmas, nice room tho a bit small, bed comfy but pillows go flat, may need to take your own. tea and coffee facilities good, the food was excellent apart from xmas lunch, which was the worst meal, probably due to us being at the last sitting. nice breakfast, everyone had a xmas stocking upon returning from breakfast, nice touch! nice walk to Beulieu, close to Lymington and new forest. bar with log fire. the only thing lacking was some kind of entertainment, and perhaps a comms board. Lovely view of the harbour. we would recommend for a short stay.

Room Tip: We had room 14, upstairs, choose upstairs if you are not a dog owner, people with dogs have downstai...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank coupleguildford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CliveWatts1, General Manager at The Master Builder's House Hotel, responded to this review, 20 January 2014
Thank you for your kind review. I am very pleased you enjoyed your Christmas break and the Christmas stockings. Our 2014 Christmas package is now finalised and pleased to say a discount is available for early booking.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
28 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2014

Stayed in the upgraded 'Chic Room' (Pandorra) which was very nice in the atic, having a lot of character in this very old building. A very charming hotel, well recommended for a romantic getaway. Particulaly nice in the Winter with the open fire going. Appreciated being personally shown to our room - it was unfortunate though that the restaurant was quite quiet during the evening dinner (lacked atmosphere) and the hotel was unable to serve any food during the afternoon until the evening. Otherwise a great stay, and nice pub next door too!

Room Tip: I can recommend the Pandorra room
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dhalluk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CliveWatts1, General Manager at The Master Builder's House Hotel, responded to this review, 20 January 2014
Thank you for your kind review. We are hoping to introduce an afternoon tea menu shortly and I am pleased to say that we have extended our weekend lunch time menu to 3pm on Saturday and 4pm on Sunday.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milborne Saint Andrew, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2013

Stayed three nights in this charming hotel. All the staff made us VERY welcome and were very attentive and the smallest of detail was never overlooked by them .Delicious food, great room, well equipped very clean and comfortable open fires in the lounge and pub. Great location for walks along the Beaulie River bank or explore the wooded trail and discover what timbers were used in the building of our ancient warships. Extra touches: the dog had his own bed complete with cream blanket with satin bound trim. Santa paid us a visit on Christmas morning and left a stocking hanging on our bedroom door full of goodies. We have booked for next year, several guests were staying over Christmas having booked after their stay for Christmas 2012.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank operadiva42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CliveWatts1, General Manager at The Master Builder's House Hotel, responded to this review, 3 January 2014
It is so nice to see so many of our guests booking for the Christmas Break year after year and thank you for your lovely review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Beaulieu
1.9 mi away
Montagu Arms Hotel
Montagu Arms Hotel
#1 of 3 in Beaulieu
1,144 reviews
5.3 mi away
The Beaulieu Hotel
The Beaulieu Hotel
#2 of 3 in Beaulieu
774 reviews
6.9 mi away
Cottage Lodge Hotel
Cottage Lodge Hotel
#1 of 11 in Brockenhurst
1,023 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
Balmer Lawn
Balmer Lawn
#3 of 11 in Brockenhurst
1,585 reviews
8.6 mi away
The Crown Manor House Hotel
9.2 mi away
Rhinefield House Hotel
Rhinefield House Hotel
#7 of 11 in Brockenhurst
1,686 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Master Builder's House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Master Builder's House Hotel

Property: The Master Builder's House Hotel
Address: Bucklers Hard, Beaulieu, New Forest, Brockenhurst SO42 7XB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > New Forest > Brockenhurst > Beaulieu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Beaulieu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Master Builder's House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With its stunning location in the New Forest overlooking the Beaulieu River, this historic hotel at Buckler's Hard offers a relaxing stay of quirky but affordable luxury. Tuck into a pint and a snack in the Yachtsman's Bar & Gardens, or treat yourself to a sumptuous meal in the Riverside Restaurant. Most importantly, relax and enjoy every minute of your time with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Master Builder's House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Master Builders Hotel
The Master Builder's House Hotel Beaulieu, New Forest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing