We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely hotel in the heart of the New Forest”
Review of Montagu Arms Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Montagu Arms Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Beaulieu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 August 2011

Superb dining,excellent attention to detail and lovely location. Thoroughly recommended.

Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
2  Thank NEONMEATDREAM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,246)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,020 - 1,026 of 1,246 reviews

Reviewed 29 July 2011

My girlfriend and I had a weekend break in the New Forest and stayed in the Montagu Arms and we enjoyed everything about it. The staff we very friendly and helpful, the room was excellent and the food was out of this world. I have to do a lot of travelling with my work and I have to say it is definitely one of the best hotels I've stayed in in terms of the service and helpfulness of the staff. I would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AIngham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2011

We took a three night midweek break at this lovely hotel. Beaulieu is an ideal place to explore the New Forest from. The room overlooked the garden and was spacious and well equipped. The only niggle was the absence of a kettle. We ate two delicious dinners in the restaurant. The menu was inventive and largely made up of fresh local produce, just what was needed after a hard day's walking. We also ate one meal in Monty's next door. Breakfasts were also very good.

Overall a relaxing and stylish hotel. well worth a visit

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MugoH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2011

This is one of our favourite hotels, we first stayed here 19 years ago on our wedding night, my husband chose it from the AA handbook! It was delightful & still is.
We have stayed here four times now usually in March for our Anniversary but our last stay was in June, we were booked on a cruise from Southampton and decided it would a nice & relaxing to stay nearby the night before departure, where else but The Montagu Arms! We could have left our car & they would have driven us to the port but we had free parking at the terminal so we didn't need to.
The service is still as good as it has always been, the food is fabulous, the rooms are beautiful, comfortable and clean, the gardens are lovely and with an addition of a kitchen garden where much of the food is grown and their chickens provide the eggs!
We just love this hotel and can't fault it at all, we were even given a little gift bag when we left with fruit & water for our journey!
We will return soon!!!!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Beverley29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2011

I booked the Montegue Arms to celebrate my husbands birthday. we had visited the hotel for afternoon tea some time before and thought we would like to stay due to the location.

from the outside as others have said it looks like a lovely building. I emailed and told them previously that it was my husbands special birthday and could we have a nice room.
When we got there, I was very disappointed with the room given, no mention was made about the email and it was obvious no effort was made about the room either.

We went down for afternoon tea, it was about 3.30pm, we were told that afternoon tea could not be served to us, even though we were hotel guest as we had not booked, there was only 3 other people there, they could have the tea as they had booked and it was prepared. The chef was not back until 6pm, so we could only have a cup of tea, there was no one to make sandwiches. I found that quiet bizarre.

The room was tiny over looked the road. So I asked for an immediate change. This they gave us, it was a better room, but it appears the rooms are not that great at all. In the morning the showers was not working at all, so we had to go and shower in another room down the corridor and come.This was not acceptable really. The room was tired looking and needs re doing, I then hear that was a better room then others.

Stair area was not very clean at all, there was linen thrown about in the corridors outside the rooms.

I would not stay again, not worth the cost. The nicest parts were the gardens and the seating area outside. Staff were friendly, but average.

Room Tip: ask for one over looking the garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DuquesaLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2011

Ask for rooms in the main house overlooking the garden at the back -quieter. Charming staff , first class , attentive but not intrusive service from maitre d's and waiters; delightful chintzey, english country house styler rooms . Wonderful food and reasonably priced , good value for money wines from Matthew Tomkinson - who deserves his Michelin star with local and seasonal menues of great flavour and texture . A really delightfull weekend escape.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ScotsRaven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2011

We stayed here recently for two nights for part of our 25th anniversary celebrations - and we were upgraded to a jnr suite. The hotel is fabulous, and it set in the beautiful village of Beauliu with it's lovely little shops and chocolate maker. In the restaurant, we had the tasting menu complete with selected wines in the Michelin-starred restaurant on our anniversary, and it was gorgeous. We also had the inclusive meal the next night which was just as good. Fantastic 'old-fashioned' i.e. correct, service, with very knowledgeable staff. Nothing was too much trouble; I hurt my knee and the duty manager was at our door with an ice-filled bucket and a clean tablecloth to wrap the ice in within about 3 mins. Comp morning tea delivered to our door on request, and fab breakfasts looking out onto the small but perfectly formed, peaceful garden. Our suite was at the front, and it is a little noisy in the "rush hour", but the windows are double-glazed and there is a fan if it is warm. We had a four-poster and the bed was very comfortable, as was the sofa in the room. The garden has different seating areas, and they also grow their own veg and keep chickens, which provide wonderful breakfast eggs. We will return.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Debs G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Beaulieu
6.7 mi away
The Crown Manor House Hotel
10.9 mi away
Burley Manor
Burley Manor
#1 of 2 in Burley
429 reviews
5.5 mi away
Cottage Lodge Hotel
Cottage Lodge Hotel
#1 of 10 in Brockenhurst
1,119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
Rhinefield House Hotel
Rhinefield House Hotel
#7 of 10 in Brockenhurst
1,814 reviews
11.2 mi away
Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa
Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in New Milton
1,988 reviews
3.4 mi away
Beaulieu Hotel
Beaulieu Hotel
#2 of 2 in Beaulieu
841 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Montagu Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Montagu Arms Hotel

Address: Palace Lane, Beaulieu, New Forest, Brockenhurst SO42 7ZL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > New Forest > Brockenhurst > Beaulieu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Beaulieu
Price Range: £140 - £256 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Montagu Arms Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Beaulieu village, this 18th-century hotel is the perfect place for a gourmet break, romantic getaway or walking holiday. The Montagu Arms Hotel oozes traditional character with crackling log fires, oak panelling commodious sofas and beautiful gardens. The Terrace Restaurant makes it the venue of choice for foodies with head chef Matthew Tomkinson at the healm, who is one of only 34 Roux scholars in the world. The Terrace Restaurant pays homage to both tradition and innovation using the finest seasonal ingredients to create award-winning dishes. "We are not ones for passing fads, every ingredient has to deserve its place in our dishes," says Matthew. "No gimmicks, Just great food". Our country pub, Monty’s Inn, offers wonderful home-cooked classics, whilst Afternoon Tea can be enjoyed in our conservatory or gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Hotels.com, Agoda and Ebookers so you can book your Montagu Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Montagu Arms Beaulieu
Hotel Montagu Arms
Montagu Arms Hotel Beaulieu, New Forest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing