We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wonderful treat for my birthday”
Review of Montagu Arms Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Montagu Arms Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Beaulieu
Certificate of Excellence
East Molesey, United Kingdom
1 review
“wonderful treat for my birthday”
Reviewed 25 April 2013

We had a wonderful stay in room 002 ,the room was perfect with lots of room space and everything
we needed. The minute we arrived the receptionist Angela made us feel very welcome, all the staff were excellent all the time we were there. The evening meal was superb as was the service.
This was not our first visit, we hope to book a return soon. Mr and Mrs J Woodbridge. Surrey.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the garden are very popular because of view but all perfect
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeffrey W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,137 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    820
    232
    67
    14
    4
See reviews for
143
780
15
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (246)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Pembrokeshire, UK
Level Contributor
38 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2013

It is so lovely to be able to say how very much we enjoyed our return to the Montagu Arms. Our suite was lovely; warm and relaxing with an impressive layout and with a wonderfully comfortable four-poster!

On arrival we were shown to our suite by Head Receptionist, Anzelika, who is a lovely lady with a genuine warmth of character. She arranged to have our car parked for us. On our first night we were warmly greeted as old friends by Paul in the residents’ bar; it was a delight to see him again and he looked after us very well throughout our stay.

We dined in the Terrace Restaurant on each night and, needless to say, Matthew’s cuisine was second to none. I am sure there is no equal to the Montagu’s fine dining experience anywhere. The dining room staff were lovely, too; they displayed a good knowledge of each course, they were diligent and attentive to our every need, yet they were unobtrusive. All were immaculately well presented – a real credit to the hotel.

The hotel’s Restaurant Manager, Pierre Rizet Mosser, went out of his way to make us feel both special and at ease, not just on our first meeting, but throughout our stay. Pierre’s attentiveness and professionalism were obvious, thoughtfully tempered with a genuine interest in our personal care whilst resident at the hotel.

In short, each and every aspect of our stay was perfect; from the quality of the breakfast to the ultimate dining experience in the Terrace Restaurant; from the ambience of the hotel and the tranquillity of the gardens, to the extremely high standard of the customer service, and we cannot praise highly enough the effort that the Resident Manager, Sunil Kanjanghat and every member of his staff had gone to, to make our stay memorable.

We are already counting the days to our next visit to the Montagu in June!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ken N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2013

I have to confess we never stayed here but my partner and I went for dinner and the restaurant was out of this world!

It turned my life around when I ordered a cheese board and the guy came out with a TROLLY! The cheese connoisseur (who just happened to be French) could tell me ever tiny detail about each individual cheese (of which there were about 6 different varieties under each type) from where it was made to what the texture was like... One of the camembert was so runny he had to dish it out with a spoon!

But if you're not a cheese person the food it's self was outstanding and the waiter we had was excellent too! I highly recomend here for dinner, we're going back this year to do the 7 course menu, I'm so excited!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PocketRocket92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2013 via mobile

The staff are some of the best I have ever encountered in terms of getting the blend right of quality service, friendly and polite with out being pretentious. The rooms were great very spacious (we got an upgrade to a suite) comfortable with character yet all the modern convenience that you would expect. The value was exceptional. The setting both relaxing and invigorating with a picturesque garden setting to calm even the most tempestuous of characters. The restaurant was worthy of the Michelin star it boasts, whilst the most fastidious of food aficionados might find fault in the minutiae (which might perhaps prevent further stars) the chefs cook up a magnificent treat that 99% of people would reminisce about for the foreseeable future. The sommelier was helpful, supremely knowledgeable and most importantly extremely competent at choosing the right drinks and with our eclectic tastes that was one nigh on an insurmountable challenge. All in all we will be 100% returning and hope they can live up to the impressive standard that hey have now set

Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Matthew J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2013

Going to sleep in a four poster bed, deeply nestled in the new forest and waking up to wild horses and donkeys in front of the hotel is one sure cereal experience. Eating in the evening to log fires crackling is a sure heavenly experience which you do not get to do everyday. I old recommend this to anyone who wants to getaway for a romantic experience which should not be missed.

Room Tip: Make sure a dour poster bed is in order.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lucy_Speed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Byfleet, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2013

We booked a Spring Dining break to celebrate our 25th Wedding Anniversary having read the reports on tripadvisor. We were not disappointed from the minute we arrived until we checked out the service was excellent. On arrival we were greeted with a delicious cream tea with warm home made scones, we were then shown to our room which was well furnished, spacious, clean and the en suite came with complimentary White company toiletries. Having enjoyed a pre dinner drink and olives, nuts and cheese gougeres we opted to eat the 7 course taster menu with the paired wine collection. The food was quite exquisite, with every mouthful being a combination of different flavours, it was amazing. We thoroughly enjoyed our evening, the staff were attentive without being intrusive. We ended the evening with coffee and petit fours in the lounge. A perfect way to celebrate!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Familyjones5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2013

My partner & I visited the Montagu Arms in the New Forest, on January 30th for a nights stay, inclusive of afternoon Tea & Scones, + Pre dinner drink glass of Champagne & evening dinner
in their Micheline Star restaurant.
I wasn't sure what to expect ? As 'The Montagu Arms' suggests to me a pub ? It isn't, its a Hotel, but very lovely, if you enjoy 'Old England' type venues, with Oak beams and wood panelling with large welcoming fireplaces ! Looks a Treat, and very welcoming staff, we also got upgraded to a beautiful suite, Fabulous ! Also as guests of The Montagu Arms we were entitled to visit 'Careys Manor Hotel and use their Spa, Amazing !! Food was a joy !! Wish I could afford to stay longer !! Will return, as we really loved it !

Room Tip: We have only stayed once so done have great experience of different rooms ? All I can say is we boo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Beaulieu
5.5 mi away
Cottage Lodge Hotel
Cottage Lodge Hotel
#1 of 11 in Brockenhurst
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,015 reviews
6.7 mi away
The Crown Manor House Hotel
11.2 mi away
Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa
Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in New Milton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,745 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
The Beaulieu Hotel
The Beaulieu Hotel
#2 of 3 in Beaulieu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 764 reviews
5.2 mi away
Balmer Lawn
Balmer Lawn
#3 of 11 in Brockenhurst
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,571 reviews
7.7 mi away
Rhinefield House Hotel
Rhinefield House Hotel
#7 of 11 in Brockenhurst
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,670 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Montagu Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Montagu Arms Hotel

Property: Montagu Arms Hotel
Address: Palace Lane, Beaulieu, New Forest, Brockenhurst SO42 7ZL, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > New Forest > Brockenhurst > Beaulieu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Beaulieu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Montagu Arms Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Montagu Arms Hotel offers luxury accommodation in the quaint village of Beaulieu in Heart of the New Forest. The Michelin Starred Terrace Restaurant makes it the venue of choice for indulgently delicious fine dining with a taste of tranquil country life. The 18th Century Hotel is the perfect setting for a romantic getaway, walking holiday or a midweek break; oozing traditional charm with its open brick fireplaces, oak panelling and impressive gardens. The historical village of Beaulieu is just 30 minutes from Southampton Cruise Terminal making us the ideal base both pre and post your cruise. The Terrace Restaurant has held its Michelin Star for 5 years running and pays homage to both tradition and innovation; whilst Head chef Matthew Tomkinson uses the finest seasonal ingredients available to create award winning dishes. We are not ones for passing fads, every ingredient has to deserve its place in our dishes. No gimmicks, Just great food.For a more relaxed meal, Monty’s offers wonderful home-cooked classics or country fare, whilst delectable Afternoon Tea can be served in our conservatory or gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda and HRS so you can book your Montagu Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Montagu Arms Beaulieu
Hotel Montagu Arms
Montagu Arms Hotel Beaulieu, New Forest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing