We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Curate's Egg”
Review of Montagu Arms Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Montagu Arms Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Beaulieu
Certificate of Excellence
Herne, Kent.
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“The Curate's Egg”
Reviewed 4 May 2013

We took a two night Spring Break, booked directly with the hotel. Having read some comments on Trip Advisor since making the booking, I telephoned to ask if our room could be on the garden side which would be quieter. I also booked (required) two additional full cream teas for friends who would be joining us for the afternoon. This was all very diligently taken down, repeated back about choice of filling for the samdwiches etc no detail was overlooked or spared. We arrived in the early afternoon to find all the car parks and the lane full to overflowing, this was rectified by a member of staff moving their car!...we checked in and were shown to our room...on the road! We remonstrated and the Manager kindly moved us and upgraded, to a room fully overlooking the garden, a delight....pity about the painters in the corridor though! Once settled in, our friends joined us on a truly memorable hot sunny afternoon which made the 'Arms garden complete with fountain, absolutely stunning. Birds sang, Parasols raised, Tablecloths laid. The order was taken for the tea first ( best outside the RITZ in London according to an article in the local newspaper) where the 'Arms has recently won a prestigious award for it's Cream Teas. The tea arrived served strained into the finest elegant bone china...where's the cream teas?...they are coming! Our friends sandwiches arrived after a second ask, our cream and jam arrived but no sandwiches as ordered on the phone...and where are the scones?...they are coming! Without boring the reader, this went on for some time and became more like a Whitehall Farce than afternoon tea in a splendid setting. We got there in the end, but a bigger muddle could not be imagined. This said, the rest of our break was excellent. The Terrace restaurant meals from their Michelin starred chef were memorable for their execution, detail and sheer artistry. A starter dish of Scottish diver caught scallops on the ALC menu was probably the best I have ever tasted in a lifetime of gourmet eating. The grounds are superbly kept, and our room, Number 26 Hornbeam, was bright and airy with a wonderful view over the garden, very well appointed, clean and comfortable. Service in the restaurant was personal, and informed, yet unobtrusive. Reception could not have been more helpful making the whole experience, bar the farcical tea party, a very pleasant one indeed. The location couldn't be bettered for visiting anywhere in the New Forest and even the village and the immediate area just a few steps away, make the Montague Arms a true jewel in the Crown of Hampshire. Overcome the occasional quirkiness and you will have a very comfortable stay.

Room Tip: 26, is a deluxe room overlooking the garden and is very quiet part from the dawn chorus with the win...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pelicanproductions
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,173 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    854
    234
    67
    14
    4
See reviews for
152
800
15
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (256)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2013

I enjoyed our stay and the staff were very friendly and customer focused. Yes refurbishment work was going on but luckily for us we were out of the way in room 31 (Willow). This room had a wonderful view, we could see the Beaulieu river and part of the Abbey. Yes the room was a little old fashioned and we sunk into the middle of the bed but we had a lovely time. I'm a fan of Masterchef and we thoroughly enjoyed our Michelin star meal. Just wish I was rich enough to stay there more often, well it wouldn't be a birthday treat then would it! We went over to Carey's Manor to used the spa, and I have to admit it would have been nice to get complimentary entry into the hydrotherapy area but we had to pay £25 each. Hope this review helps. Beaulieu is a lovely place in a fantastic part of the country.

Room Tip: We had Willow, number 31 I think, this room isn't modern but has a lovely view, I think it's...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ann-Marie_Skill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Welwyn Garden City, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
135 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2013

This isn't a cheap hotel and we chose to pay the extra because we were eating at the hotel 's award winning restaurant...... but it really should have been discounted. There are decorators in at the moment, and they are very much needed. The decor is in need of a full refurb, and the thread bear carpets in the common areas and chips and scratches on the wallpaper of the stairways points to how long this has needed to be done. the staff are, on the whole, excellent and try to make up for the short-comings

We had a room facing the main road and it was comfortable and warm and clean, but there was no wifi signal - we had to go downstairs to find that - and the same issues of tired decorations were there to see (and the shower tray needed new sealant).

Room Tip: If you need wifi ask for that above all else - only a few rooms have a signal
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ted S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guildford, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2013

We have just returned from a night at the Montagu Arms Hotel for my husband's 50th birthday. We booked and paid for 3 rooms for ourselves and friends, spending £798 for a night, and as I'd told the hotel it was my husband's 50th, I had hoped for a good room. Sadly, our room was a bit of let down The hallway outside was in a state of redecoration and the room size (room 10) was 12ft x12ft (approx) room, we could hardly pass eachother around the bed, whilst our friends were given much larger rooms with four poster beds. The bathroom had cracked tiles over the taps. We had paid £266 for one night/room inc breakfast and a meal at the pub. The staff mixed up the rooms, I think as my husbands birthday card was in another room. We opted to eat at Monty's Inn for a more informal atmosphere and my starter of scallops was raw and I couldn't eat it. I sent it back but didn't get a replacement. Myself and my friend ordered steak as a main course, one of us ordered rare and one medium/well done. They gave us the wrong steaks and we were both eating them before we realised the mix up and had to swap dinners. They did give us a bottle of wine though. I asked if the hotel or restaurant could supply a little something extra as it was my husbands birthday, such as a candle in his dessert or just something special in our room but nothing was done. The whole hotel was really hot too and all 6 of us struggled to sleep. We couldn't open our window as the hotel is on a main road and our rooms all faced the road.
On the plus side - Downstairs the hotel is lovely though and the breakfast was very good. I just felt rather disappointed with our room and the meal we had. I wouldn't go back.

Room Tip: Room 10 was disappointing compared to the other rooms we saw.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Yvonne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviewed 28 April 2013

We found this hotel whilst travelling around England on an unplanned drive without reservations. The check-in at reception was very good with staff eager to please and help with luggage. The room was beautifully decorated and spacious with a four-poster bed and well-equipped bathroom. We didn't use the Michelin restaurant having already dined before we arrived but the breakfast the following morning was as good as you will find anywhere. Now we have to plan another trip just to sample the restaurant which by all accounts is excellent

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wimborne
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2013 via mobile

My wife and I have just returned from a wonderful stay at the Montagu. Everything was perfect, check in was an ease with a very friendly receptionist! Our suite was fantastic and the cream tea in the afternoon was also a delight!
Dinner was absolutely fantastic, great food, executed to a very high standard, as you would expect from a "starred" restaurant. The sommelier was excellent as was the young lady who served our cheese course! All of the restaurant staff were a real complement to the hotel, friendly, knowledgable, efficient without being intrusive.
Check out was the only down side as we knew we would be leaving but again the process was easy & very friendly.
All the little touches the hotel does did not go unnoticed and helped make my little birthday break and thoroughly enjoyable time! We will return!
I would recommend this hotel to anyone that is in need of a little TLC and enjoys the finer things in life!

Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Lechef27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wiltshire uk
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2013

We were in the New Forest for short break revisiting old haunts - I used to live there 40 years ago - and with Bucklers Hard in mind as our destination came to Beaulieu and began to feel the need for refreshment in the form of lunch. I remembered the Montagu Arms hotel from all those years ago but had never been in the hotel before let alone eaten there but decided to give it a try. We found a space in their car park and walked a short distance through the attractive back garden and presented ourselves at the restaurant and asked for a table. Having spent some time earlier that morning walking in the Forest we probably did not look that promising as customers but we were immediately greeted with great courtesy and shown to a nice table overlooking the garden. The service was excellent throughout - friendly but not intrusive, knowledgeable and efficient. The food was superb from a limited table d'hote menu and requests for minor variations were met without difficulty. There was a decent interval between courses which suited us but maybe if we had been in a hurry it might have been a problem. However the atmosphere and ambience is such that it was a treat just to sit back and enjoy it. The food itself was good value but after a couple of glasses of champagne and pre-lunch drinks the overall meal cost was not cheap but we have had much inferior meals at higher prices in other places and overall were delighted with the experience.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bonzo26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Beaulieu
3.4 mi away
The Beaulieu Hotel
The Beaulieu Hotel
#2 of 2 in Beaulieu
797 reviews
6.7 mi away
The Crown Manor House Hotel
7.7 mi away
Rhinefield House Hotel
Rhinefield House Hotel
#7 of 10 in Brockenhurst
1,720 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Cottage Lodge Hotel
Cottage Lodge Hotel
#2 of 10 in Brockenhurst
1,059 reviews
10.9 mi away
Burley Manor
Burley Manor
#1 of 2 in Burley
360 reviews
5.2 mi away
Balmer Lawn
Balmer Lawn
#3 of 10 in Brockenhurst
1,614 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Montagu Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Montagu Arms Hotel

Property: Montagu Arms Hotel
Address: Palace Lane, Beaulieu, New Forest, Brockenhurst SO42 7ZL, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > New Forest > Brockenhurst > Beaulieu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Beaulieu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Montagu Arms Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Montagu Arms Hotel offers luxury accommodation in the quaint village of Beaulieu in Heart of the New Forest. The Michelin Starred Terrace Restaurant makes it the venue of choice for indulgently delicious fine dining with a taste of tranquil country life. The 18th Century Hotel is the perfect setting for a romantic getaway, walking holiday or a midweek break; oozing traditional charm with its open brick fireplaces, oak panelling and impressive gardens. The historical village of Beaulieu is just 30 minutes from Southampton Cruise Terminal making us the ideal base both pre and post your cruise. The Terrace Restaurant has held its Michelin Star for 5 years running and pays homage to both tradition and innovation; whilst Head chef Matthew Tomkinson uses the finest seasonal ingredients available to create award winning dishes. We are not ones for passing fads, every ingredient has to deserve its place in our dishes. No gimmicks, Just great food.For a more relaxed meal, Monty’s offers wonderful home-cooked classics or country fare, whilst delectable Afternoon Tea can be served in our conservatory or gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com, Otel and Ebookers so you can book your Montagu Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Montagu Arms Beaulieu
Hotel Montagu Arms
Montagu Arms Hotel Beaulieu, New Forest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing