We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent, possibly best ever”
Review of Montagu Arms Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Montagu Arms Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Beaulieu
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent, possibly best ever”
Reviewed 18 May 2013

Not that these guys need it, but this is yet another highly positive review of the Montagu Arms in Beaulieu.

We stayed for two nights, with a package of B&B and dinner in Monty's Inn on the first night, then a package of B&B, cream tea in the afternoon and dinner in the Terrace restaurant on the second.

I won't go into exhaustive detail, but instead just point out a few tips for prospective visitors.

Monty's Inn is a nice wee pub; don't confuse the bar menu (the usual pub grub, burgers, gammon etc.) with the Monty's restaurant menu, which is far above what you might normally expect in a pub: superb scotch egg, pork belly, guinea fowl etc. And the restaurant in Monty's is again different to the main Terrace restaurant.

Cream Tea is excellent, it's kind of what you would expect - tea, scones, clotted cream and jam. Afternoon Tea is the full-on extravaganza of tea, scones, sandwiches cakes and sweets. We only just about managed breakfast, cream tea and dinner in the restaurant. It would take an extremely hearty appetite to substitute Afternoon Tea for a Cream Tea.

As well as Monty's, which really is a pub, there is a nice wood-panelled bar in the hotel serving bottled beer, wine and a good selection of whisky.

In general I can't really fault this place. The staff were great, the room large and clean, the food and drink were excellent.

We shall definitely return.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MidModder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,152 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    835
    232
    67
    14
    4
See reviews for
147
787
15
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (249)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Hertfordshire
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2013

I booked this hotel as a birthday weekend for my fiance.
Our room was at the front and overlooked the river, and the window was framed by the lovely old wisteria. The bed was very comfortable, a lovely tester overhead added to the cosiness. Lovely old furniture, and very good quality fabrics.
The decor was a little tired, the sink was cracked, and paint peeling from the bathroom door. Such a shame, it needs a little TLC.
However, we weren't disappointed with the restaurant - Michelin star and very worthy!
Ideally placed for visiting Beaulieu Motor museum, an easy 15-20 minute walk.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ali-257
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2013

Friends and I popped in for a quick lunch at Montys bar and found it to be a pleasant experience. Service was friendly and quick. Food was reasonably priced and tasty. Lovely building in a gorgeous town. We walked through the gardens and had a sneak peek at the restaurant which looked like it would be a lovely setting for a special occasion.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SLEWIS1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isle of Wight UK
Level 6 Contributor
183 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 223 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2013

We stayed at the hotel as part of the Spring dining package, which offers good value. The superb new Hotel Manager greeted us in the car park and assisted us with a parking space as it was a busy Sunday and carried our luggage to the hotel.

Check in was very warm and efficient and we enjoyed a cream tea in the garden, as part of our deal. Our reason for staying was to eat in the Michelin starred restaurant that evening (see separate review) – it was superb!

The hotel is very traditional, with a stunning courtyard and small garden. The lounge and conservatory are lovely areas to spend time.

Our bedroom was dated (we did expect this) and in particular, the bathroom needs a significant refurbishment. Our room was small and to be honest, quite tired (faded and stained cover on chair, mismatching furniture). It was also a warm weekend and the room was very overheated, despite having all windows wide-open. The towel rail in the bathroom is directly wired into the mains so cannot be turned off. We were very warm when it was only 18 degrees outside – it would be unbearable in the Summer! We were offered a fan the next morning if we stayed again, but rooms really do need air-con in the future.

Breakfast was a lovely experience – fabulous homemade granolas and jams, fruits, cereals, pastries etc plus cooked-to-order hot food. Everything was lovely quality and very tasty – we certainly over-indulged!

Staff were all completely charming and keen to deliver excellent service – if we could rate service separately it would be 5 out of 5.

We would stay again, but only if the rooms were refurbished and air-conditioning available.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IOWtravelbabes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey, UK
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2013

What a beautiful find in the New Forest, just an hour and a bit outside of London.
The hotel is centrally located in the small village of Beaulieu, which bosts a motor museum, country house and grounds, and Buklers Hard a working shipbuilding museum, all within walking distance of the hotel.
Once you're done exploring, relax in the lovely seculded garden with gorgeous afternoon tea, and then prepare for the experience that is dinner in the spacious bedrooms.
Dinner is an amazing expereince, a wonderful mitchelin starred taste, complimented by an extensive wine selection (expect michelin star prices), and beautiful service. Take your time, you'll enjoy it.
Breakfast the next morning is an equally enjoyable expereince, table service obviously, local produce and again good service.
It's a shame to leave, and when you do you get a small travel bag to keep ypui fed and watered on your way.
The hotel goes out of its way to ensure you remember your stay. It's a gem!

Room Tip: The rooms overlooking the garden are the ones to request
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SwissLV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Forest
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2013

We had dinner in the gorgeous Terrace Restaurant at the Montague Arms Hotel this week.

The food was stunning the service excellent. I cannot wait to go again but next time I would like to stay over night!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TallDadTim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2013

We stayed for my husband's birthday on 02/05/13 on the spring break deal. I knew what a bargain this was as I had previously looked at staying. On arrival we had been upgraded to a suite which was huge, and a lovely suprise. My husband was also given a birthday card which I thought was a nice touch.

We had our cream tea in the garden as it was a gorgeous day and then spent the afternoon under one of the parasols with a glass of wine and a book. Perfect.

Whilst we were getting ready for dinner, I recieved a call from reception asking if they could move our car. We realised then that this waz due to 7 aston martins turning up. Maybe they reserved the space but had a bit of a 'arent we good enough moment'. Appreciate the porter moving it though.

Later we enjoyed our fizz and nibbles outside before dinner before being shown into the restaurant for our fantastic michelin starred dinner.

We both slept well despite our room being near the road, and our tea arrived as requested.

Breakfast was a feast and again, we enjoyed it.

The service was outstanding at all times and we felt so relaxed after our stay. I loved how people knew my name and how they obviously kept an eye on you but in a very subtle way.

The food too has to be the other main positive, it was after all, the reason I chose to stay here.

I didnt mind that there were decorators, they are there to do a job and were really polite and apologetic to me every time I walked by.

It was lovely to be upgraded to a suite, but I have to say, if I had paid for it I'd be annoyed as the room in places looked a bit warn, and looking at suite prices, I have paid the same and stayed in much better rooms in comparison.

I would absolutely go back, and fully intend to.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank westcountrylass22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Beaulieu
5.5 mi away
Cottage Lodge Hotel
Cottage Lodge Hotel
#1 of 11 in Brockenhurst
1,041 reviews
6.7 mi away
The Crown Manor House Hotel
7.7 mi away
Rhinefield House Hotel
Rhinefield House Hotel
#8 of 11 in Brockenhurst
1,697 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Passford House
Passford House
#3 of 7 in Lymington
714 reviews
3.4 mi away
The Beaulieu Hotel
The Beaulieu Hotel
#2 of 3 in Beaulieu
787 reviews
11.2 mi away
Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa
Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in New Milton
1,797 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Montagu Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Montagu Arms Hotel

Property: Montagu Arms Hotel
Address: Palace Lane, Beaulieu, New Forest, Brockenhurst SO42 7ZL, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > New Forest > Brockenhurst > Beaulieu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Beaulieu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Montagu Arms Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Montagu Arms Hotel offers luxury accommodation in the quaint village of Beaulieu in Heart of the New Forest. The Michelin Starred Terrace Restaurant makes it the venue of choice for indulgently delicious fine dining with a taste of tranquil country life. The 18th Century Hotel is the perfect setting for a romantic getaway, walking holiday or a midweek break; oozing traditional charm with its open brick fireplaces, oak panelling and impressive gardens. The historical village of Beaulieu is just 30 minutes from Southampton Cruise Terminal making us the ideal base both pre and post your cruise. The Terrace Restaurant has held its Michelin Star for 5 years running and pays homage to both tradition and innovation; whilst Head chef Matthew Tomkinson uses the finest seasonal ingredients available to create award winning dishes. We are not ones for passing fads, every ingredient has to deserve its place in our dishes. No gimmicks, Just great food.For a more relaxed meal, Monty’s offers wonderful home-cooked classics or country fare, whilst delectable Afternoon Tea can be served in our conservatory or gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Montagu Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Montagu Arms Beaulieu
Hotel Montagu Arms
Montagu Arms Hotel Beaulieu, New Forest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing