We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lunch at the Montagu Arms”
Review of Montagu Arms Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Montagu Arms Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Beaulieu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 May 2013

My wife and I stopped for lunch at the Montagu Arms. We parked at the rear of the hotel and walked through the garden to the terrace. We were immediately greeted and when we asked if we could have lunch were seated in the lounge and offered drinks. These were delivered with a selection f nuts and olives. The restaurant manager was an immaculately dressed French man who was very attentive, his number two who was similarly attired and also French explained the menu. We explained that my wife is a coeliac, and were assured that all would would be well.
Having made our choice, muscles risotto to start followed by chicken, we were soon shown through to impressive restaurant. The food and the service from the staff was outstanding and the high point of our week holiday. The bill came to £ 64 which included the wine and a memorable three course lunch. Fantastic. What impressed us most? The level of customer care, my wife was provided with a small table on which to place her handbag, as, the waitress explained, it is bad feng shui to have your money on the floor.

Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Clive H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,261)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

819 - 825 of 1,261 reviews

Reviewed 22 May 2013

My wife and I stayed for the second time at The Montague Arms. Once again we were delighted with every aspect of this superb hotel. The food lived up to it's Michelin rating.Our room was excellent,the staff were delightful and the garden a joy to sit in. We would not hesitate to include this hotel in our itinerary when touring the south west of England.

Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Miriam S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2013

We stayed one night on a dinner, bed and breakfast package. The food in the Terrace Restaurant was fabulous, I highly recommend it. The gardens and surrounding area of the hotel are excellent with a great walk to Buckler's Hard. However I was really disappointed by the rooms. They are very tired and in need of a full re-fit. The corridors were being redecorated and looked fresh and clean although the style remained dated. It is a shame as everything else about this hotel is great.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cs_5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2013

I booked a 1 night deal in the week which included cream tea, pre dinner canapes and prosseco, evening dinner in The Terrace Restaurant and B&B. From the moment we arrived we felt relaxed. The service was attentive and excellent but with a lovely informal atmosphere. We were upgraded to a lovely room at the front of the hotel which we appreciated. The scones at the cream tea were the best we have ever tasted. We had the tea in the lounge as a rainy day but the garden looked lovely if taken in the summer. Again the evening meal in The Terrace was gorgous with a lovely atmosphere which suprised me for a Tuesday night. We could have eaten anything on the menu so took a while to make our mind up! The breakfast the next morning was of equal standard with the staff especially the breakfast manager making that too seem relaxed and special. We live not too far away and wanted somewhere relaxing with good food and service for our 30th wedding anniversary. It certainly fullfilled our expectations and hope to return again in the future.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank janiebeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2013

Thank you to Sunil and all the staff at the Montagu Arms for making our 25th wedding anniversary weekend so very special. The food was excellent as was the trip to Careys Manor for the Spa. We had a Spring Dining break with a package of B&B, cream tea in the afternoon and dinner in the Terrace restaurant; every part of the package was first class and nothing was too much trouble. We will definitely go back!!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MarkE1163
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2013

Not that these guys need it, but this is yet another highly positive review of the Montagu Arms in Beaulieu.

We stayed for two nights, with a package of B&B and dinner in Monty's Inn on the first night, then a package of B&B, cream tea in the afternoon and dinner in the Terrace restaurant on the second.

I won't go into exhaustive detail, but instead just point out a few tips for prospective visitors.

Monty's Inn is a nice wee pub; don't confuse the bar menu (the usual pub grub, burgers, gammon etc.) with the Monty's restaurant menu, which is far above what you might normally expect in a pub: superb scotch egg, pork belly, guinea fowl etc. And the restaurant in Monty's is again different to the main Terrace restaurant.

Cream Tea is excellent, it's kind of what you would expect - tea, scones, clotted cream and jam. Afternoon Tea is the full-on extravaganza of tea, scones, sandwiches cakes and sweets. We only just about managed breakfast, cream tea and dinner in the restaurant. It would take an extremely hearty appetite to substitute Afternoon Tea for a Cream Tea.

As well as Monty's, which really is a pub, there is a nice wood-panelled bar in the hotel serving bottled beer, wine and a good selection of whisky.

In general I can't really fault this place. The staff were great, the room large and clean, the food and drink were excellent.

We shall definitely return.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MidModder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2013

I booked this hotel as a birthday weekend for my fiance.
Our room was at the front and overlooked the river, and the window was framed by the lovely old wisteria. The bed was very comfortable, a lovely tester overhead added to the cosiness. Lovely old furniture, and very good quality fabrics.
The decor was a little tired, the sink was cracked, and paint peeling from the bathroom door. Such a shame, it needs a little TLC.
However, we weren't disappointed with the restaurant - Michelin star and very worthy!
Ideally placed for visiting Beaulieu Motor museum, an easy 15-20 minute walk.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ali-257
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Beaulieu
6.7 mi away
The Crown Manor House Hotel
10.9 mi away
Burley Manor
Burley Manor
#1 of 2 in Burley
445 reviews
5.5 mi away
Cottage Lodge Hotel
Cottage Lodge Hotel
#1 of 10 in Brockenhurst
1,135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.2 mi away
Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa
Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in New Milton
2,019 reviews
7.7 mi away
Rhinefield House Hotel
Rhinefield House Hotel
#7 of 10 in Brockenhurst
1,835 reviews
3.4 mi away
Beaulieu Hotel
Beaulieu Hotel
#2 of 2 in Beaulieu
852 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Montagu Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Montagu Arms Hotel

Address: Palace Lane, Beaulieu, New Forest, Brockenhurst SO42 7ZL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > New Forest > Brockenhurst > Beaulieu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Beaulieu
Price Range: £157 - £250 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Montagu Arms Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Beaulieu village, this 18th-century hotel is the perfect place for a gourmet break, romantic getaway or walking holiday. The Montagu Arms Hotel oozes traditional character with crackling log fires, oak panelling commodious sofas and beautiful gardens. The Terrace Restaurant makes it the venue of choice for foodies with head chef Matthew Tomkinson at the healm, who is one of only 34 Roux scholars in the world. The Terrace Restaurant pays homage to both tradition and innovation using the finest seasonal ingredients to create award-winning dishes. "We are not ones for passing fads, every ingredient has to deserve its place in our dishes," says Matthew. "No gimmicks, Just great food". Our country pub, Monty’s Inn, offers wonderful home-cooked classics, whilst Afternoon Tea can be enjoyed in our conservatory or gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Montagu Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Montagu Arms Beaulieu
Hotel Montagu Arms
Montagu Arms Hotel Beaulieu, New Forest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing