We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Stay”
Review of Montagu Arms Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Montagu Arms Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Beaulieu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 July 2013

We stayed at the Montagu on the 26th July for one night. This was to celebrate my wife's 30th Birthday, so I was very keen for the hotel to live up to expectation and it didn’t not disappoint.

We arrived at the hotel early as I had had a Spa afternoon booked at the sister hotel; Carey's Manor. Check in was easy and attentive at the montagu. Carey's Manor is about 10 minutes down the road from the Montagu. By chance we met the owner of the hotel at the Montagu and he made our trip between the Montagu and Carey's Manor a joy, ensuring we arrived and were returned by the compliments of the hotel. It was also fantastic to understand he was there delivering fresh veg from his own home to the Montagu restaurant. As a selection of produce is grown in his own estate. The Spa afternoon and lunch in the Thai restaurant were all fantastic. The facilities great and the staff a credit, they can't do enough for you.

On our return to the hotel we were shown to our room. I went for an upgraded room and was not disappointed. Yes they could be a little more plush, but then that wouldn’t be in keep with the hotel. The rooms are clean. We had a shower room and a bathroom, so very spacious. Products in the room are good also, White Company.

We enjoyed the garden in the later afternoon for a drink, absolute wonderful setting. Drinks are on the more expensive side, but didn’t make me gasp. Quality establishments don’t charge cheap prices. My only one feedback item would be they don’t serve small snacks in the day, other than afternoon tea, which would have been nice. But I do understand that, given the restaurant does quality food for breakfast, Lunch and Dinner. You can't overrun the kitchen with adhoc orders.

We dinned in Terrace restaurant and had the taster menu. The whole experience was wonderful. Quality food and drink offered throughout in a wonderful setting that looks over the gardens. The staff in the restaurant are A1. The staff have experience coming from the likes of the Fat Duck and Mid Summers House so the advice and knowledge given is fantastic. The food is local produce cooked perfectly with modern techniques, compliments to the Chef.

The breakfast was also wonderful, fresh fruit, homemade granola, jams. Full English, the full works. Probably one of the best breakfast I have had in the UK.

Overall I wouldn't hesitate to return, as we will be. The service is one of the best; if not the best I have had within the UK. The quality of the produce on offer and superb staff makes for a wonderful stay.

Sorry for the long review, but I wanted to ensure I covered everything!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Richard W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,210)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

734 - 740 of 1,210 reviews

Reviewed 20 July 2013

We booked the Monagu arms some months ago and opted for their inclusive dbb package. We upgrade our room prior to our arrival as we thought the basic rooms looked a little tired on Trip Advisor. On arrival, our room was a little tired – and a bit dearer. Light fittings were all exposed bulbs and where there were any lampshades, they were askew. Very clean, but hardly four star. Heat was almost unbearable, reading 27.5º. However, staff at reception were pleasant and helpful and we wandered off to the Motor Museum, a pleasant 15 minute walk away.
Monty's pub next door does not open 'til six so we were gasping for a cold beer. On our return, we sat in the lovely hotel garden for a good 25 minutes as the waiter served everyone except us. I eventually went into the bar to ask for service. Miniscule bottle of lager was £4.25, which was a bit expensive and no draught beer. By now we were a bit fed up as retiring to our furnace of a room was not an option. Waiter was very friendly, but seemed a bit stretched.
In the evening, we went to the Michelin-starred Terrace restaurant, where we were seated in the depths of the restaurant with distant view of the lovely garden and closer views of the waiters' station. This, combined with our fusty room and poor service in the garden did little to improve our mood. Happily, the Montagu now has a fantastic restaurant manager Pierre Rizet-Mosser. We were immediately relocated to a garden view table which was lovely on a sunny Summer's evening. However, we were then not offered any water, drinks or bread for a further half an hour.
Pierre found us and asked if everything was ok. On hearing of our problems, he immediately solved all our problems and even went as far as to arrange an upgraded room (which we declined) His actions and the fantastic food made up for all our problems and he is solely responsible for our four and not three star rating. Breakfast next day was faultless and we left a great deal happier than we had been twelve hours before. I think we may have been unlucky with a few of the problems and genuinely hate to complain but, as often mentioned on this site, the hotel cannot address problems unless they are made aware of them. I hope, that if we return, the rooms may have been upgraded, but would still enjoy the experience.

Room Tip: Rooms have no air con, so can be hot in summer
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChesterLeStreet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2013

We booked the Montagu Arms for a last minute rest and relaxation break. We thought it would be quiet and peaceful set amidst the beauty of the New Forest and the write up in the hotel brochure looked really good with a Michelin star restaurant in which to indulge ourselves. The weather was glorious and the hotel has a lovely garden but unfortunately none of the seats were very comfortable so after an hour or so we had to decamp to our room for some more comfortable chairs. The hotel is very expensive - we knew how much it would cost but it really wasn't anything like what we paid and the restaurant was SO pretentious and overpriced. Wine was really pricey. The food was good but not fantastic. The staff generally were pleasant and friendly but again in the restaurant they were rather snooty.
Breakfast was OK and if you wanted the full-blown English cooked it looked good but the buffet was poor and the same piece of chorizo sausage appeared on all four days that we were there, untouched by anyone!
The worst aspect of our stay was the room. It was very well appointed (we had a suite with a four poster) but the noise from the constant traffic passing right outside was awful. The weather was hot so we had to have the windows open and the road is so busy that the vehicles were passing regularly until about 1.30 in the morning and started again at 6 a.m.
We wouldn't return.

Room Tip: Don't choose a room at the front of the hotel - it's far too noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Suzie490
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2013

I have been to the Terrace restaurant on a handful of times but this was the first occasion i stayed at the Hotel. I discovered a Spring Break deal for two on the website which included Cream Tea on arrival, Glass of sparkling wine, three course meal and breakfast at the Terrace Restaurant, and a stay in the hotel.

This is without doubt the best deal i have ever done.

The stay was perfect, food outstanding, customer service known better.

On my previous visit to the restaurant if there was one criticism it would have been the atmosphere or lack of it. Due to the fact there is a new restaurant manager he has enhanced the experience by improving this one downfall, credit must go out to him.

I highly recommend staying here and I must say this is my favourite restaurant.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2013

Five* hotel.
Excellent food, very comfortable room and excellent service.
The restaurant kitchen and waiting staff looked after my wifes dietary requirements and made our evening meal memorable. What more can be said? the surrounding Forest is stunning, the walk to Buckler's Hard along the Beaulieu River is well worthwhile and the nearby Beaulieu Motor museum is well worth visiting.
A small gripe, the bedroom air conditioning was not as effective as one would have wished, particularly as the weekend was very hot.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank beachcomber633
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2013

We booked a short stay of three days in this relaxing hotel which proved to be the perfect place to unwind. The room was extremely comfortable and quiet even though it was at the front of the hotel. Afternoon tea, served in the English country gardens of the hotel, could not have been better. The food was of an excellent standard with plenty of choice. Beaulieau and the surrounding countryside is well worth a visit, offering quiet leisurely walks, history, places of interest and great coastal towns.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pat B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2013

This hotel is wonderful. When we arrived they couldn't immediately find our booking, but when they did, as an apology they upgraded us to a nicer room. A great start!

The food was fantastic. If you get the chance, do the tasting menu as we agreed it was one of the best meals we've ever had!

The staff were friendly, the rooms were comfortable and the location was ideal for exploring the local area. You can also use the spa at the sister hotel which was a great addition to an already relaxing stay.

We hope to come back soon!

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zan85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Beaulieu
11.2 mi away
Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa
Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in New Milton
1,892 reviews
3.4 mi away
The Beaulieu Hotel
The Beaulieu Hotel
#2 of 2 in Beaulieu
823 reviews
6.7 mi away
The Crown Manor House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Cottage Lodge Hotel
Cottage Lodge Hotel
#1 of 10 in Brockenhurst
1,084 reviews
7.7 mi away
Rhinefield House Hotel
Rhinefield House Hotel
#7 of 10 in Brockenhurst
1,757 reviews
5.2 mi away
Balmer Lawn
Balmer Lawn
#4 of 10 in Brockenhurst
1,645 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Montagu Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Montagu Arms Hotel

Address: Palace Lane, Beaulieu, New Forest, Brockenhurst SO42 7ZL, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > New Forest > Brockenhurst > Beaulieu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Beaulieu
Price Range: £177 - £335 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Montagu Arms Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Montagu Arms Hotel offers luxury accommodation in the quaint village of Beaulieu in Heart of the New Forest. The Michelin Starred Terrace Restaurant makes it the venue of choice for indulgently delicious fine dining with a taste of tranquil country life. The 18th Century Hotel is the perfect setting for a romantic getaway, walking holiday or a midweek break; oozing traditional charm with its open brick fireplaces, oak panelling and impressive gardens. The historical village of Beaulieu is just 30 minutes from Southampton Cruise Terminal making us the ideal base both pre and post your cruise. The Terrace Restaurant has held its Michelin Star for 5 years running and pays homage to both tradition and innovation; whilst Head chef Matthew Tomkinson uses the finest seasonal ingredients available to create award winning dishes. We are not ones for passing fads, every ingredient has to deserve its place in our dishes. No gimmicks, Just great food.For a more relaxed meal, Monty’s offers wonderful home-cooked classics or country fare, whilst delectable Afternoon Tea can be served in our conservatory or gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers and Agoda so you can book your Montagu Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Montagu Arms Beaulieu
Hotel Montagu Arms
Montagu Arms Hotel Beaulieu, New Forest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing