We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Luxurious accommodation, great service and a perfect setting.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Montagu Arms Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Montagu Arms Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Beaulieu
Certificate of Excellence
Surrey
1 review
“Luxurious accommodation, great service and a perfect setting.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2009

We have an eight month old daughter (our first) so overnight stays can be quite daunting. When my in-laws suggested a night in the New Forest, we were apprehensive to say the least. As such, we decided to reduce the risk and stay somewhere nice. After some research and a recommendation from our friends who honeymooned in the hotel 33 years ago, we decided on the Montagu Arms.

We could not have been more pleased. The location is perfect with the surroundings being the epitome of the New Forest; quiet, green and lots of horses! The hotel itself is in excellent order and there is everything you need from a quiet, relaxing bar, lovely gardens and of course the renowned restaurant. We had a junior suite which was very comfortable with a nice, large bathroom, beautiful bed and a flat screen TV.

What really made it though was the service. The lady on the front desk (Sally I believe was her name) was exceptional and made sure our every need was met (she even organised cheese and biscuits to be sent to our room despite the fact it was not on the menu that evening). The chap in the bar let me try some wines before I bought a bottle and the room service people were charming. This made us feel really welcome and meant our stay was very special.

If you fancy a special stay in lovely surroundings you should look no further.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jon_Cat_B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,099 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    785
    229
    67
    14
    4
See reviews for
137
757
15
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (238)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
North Somerset
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2009

Last minute "spontaneous" booking, following visit to sister hotel "Careys". Beautiful setting and gardens. Rooms very well appointed and clean. Staff welcoming and attentive. Dinning at "Monti's", the attached bistro, was a pleasure, relaxed atmosphere that enable us to unwind but again good service and excellent food. Coffee in the morning delivered to the room prior to breakfast was a real treat! Even the car windscreen was cleaned in preparation for departure and a note left to wish us a safe onward trip....amazing service and definately will return!

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank freedom_foodies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hindhead
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2009

We have often passed the Montague Arms hotel when visiting the New Forrest and decided that as an aniversary treat this year we would book a Junior Suite for three nights.
The hotel was very comfortable and relaxing with an excellent restruant. We dined in each night as the food was so good. We found all of the staff very friendly and helpfull making our stay very pleasant. The hotel also has a beautiful english garden, well maintained by a very friendly lady gardener.
We will certainly be returning and would highly recommend the hotel to both friends and strangers. Recommendations from someone you do not know is difficult to judge but can assure you our standards are high and the Montague Arms will not dissapoint.
David W Lewis

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dwlrml
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2009

Our family arranged a stay at the Hotel as a Ruby Wedding Anniversary present, as we had enjoyed our honeymoon here 40 years ago! We were not disappointed! The staff were attentive, friendly and the room and food were fabulous! We could not have wished for a better place to stay. The Cream Tea on the terrace was beautiful, and the evening meal in the Restaurant was a gourmet experience we shall not forget for a long time.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ninaandian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IVER Buckinghamshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2009

My wife & I took advantage of the package of driving to the Montagu Arms the day before we were due to leave on a cruise from Southampton. We stayed the night in a loverly room and had a superb meal in the resturant.
The staff could not have been more friendly or attentive.
The next morning we had a super breakfast with real leaf tea (no tea bags).
The staff then took us to Southampton with our luggage leaving our own car in their car park.
At the end of our cruise we were transported back to the hotel to pick up our car and drive back to our home address.
I would certainly recommend starting any cruise by using this service and hope to revisit the hotel in the not to distant future.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank IHBCCaptain2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
leeds ,UK
Level Contributor
80 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2009

Miss Marple left her cycle by the holly hedge, the vicar was having afternoon tea...
not quite but we could have been back in 1930. Little has changed in Bealieu to alter the old world charm. Real shops are now art galleries but that is a fact of UK life.
The hotel is spread over two buildings dating from 1888 and 1925. The main rooms are in the 1925 era, all oak panelling and arts and crafts style. Cleverly it is updated with lighter shades and blonde wood has been introduced to remove the sombre tone. However this is not stuck in the past, business people meet to digest powerpoint slides during the week and romantic breaks fill the weekends. The restaurant is pigs trotters and foaming delights with a wine list catering for some deep pockets.
As everyone says the staff are exceptional, the gardens a delight and it is hard to fault so i will not bother to try.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Regdor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wales
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2009

Very pleasant young lady at the desk when we asked about a room.
The hotel was in a beautiful village.
Our room was very nice, had everything you would want.
A lovely lounge to relax,all the staff very helpful.
Would love to stay there again,and hope we will.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank meiwales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Beaulieu
5.4 mi away
Cottage Lodge Hotel
Cottage Lodge Hotel
#1 of 11 in Brockenhurst
4.5 of 5 bubbles 981 reviews
6.7 mi away
The Crown Manor House Hotel
3.4 mi away
The Beaulieu Hotel
The Beaulieu Hotel
#2 of 3 in Beaulieu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 733 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Balmer Lawn
Balmer Lawn
#3 of 11 in Brockenhurst
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,527 reviews
5.5 mi away
Lime Wood Hotel
Lime Wood Hotel
#2 of 8 in Lyndhurst
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,194 reviews
11.3 mi away
Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa
Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in New Milton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,677 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Montagu Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Montagu Arms Hotel

Property: Montagu Arms Hotel
Address: Palace Lane, Beaulieu, New Forest, Brockenhurst SO42 7ZL, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > New Forest > Brockenhurst > Beaulieu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Beaulieu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Montagu Arms Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Montagu Arms Hotel offers luxury accommodation in the quaint village of Beaulieu in Heart of the New Forest. The Michelin Starred Terrace Restaurant makes it the venue of choice for indulgently delicious fine dining with a taste of tranquil country life. The 18th Century Hotel is the perfect setting for a romantic getaway, walking holiday or a midweek break; oozing traditional charm with its open brick fireplaces, oak panelling and impressive gardens. The historical village of Beaulieu is just 30 minutes from Southampton Cruise Terminal making us the ideal base both pre and post your cruise. The Terrace Restaurant has held its Michelin Star for 5 years running and pays homage to both tradition and innovation; whilst Head chef Matthew Tomkinson uses the finest seasonal ingredients available to create award winning dishes. We are not ones for passing fads, every ingredient has to deserve its place in our dishes. No gimmicks, Just great food.For a more relaxed meal, Monty’s offers wonderful home-cooked classics or country fare, whilst delectable Afternoon Tea can be served in our conservatory or gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Montagu Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Montagu Arms Beaulieu
Hotel Montagu Arms
Montagu Arms Hotel Beaulieu, New Forest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing