We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent lunch”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Turfcutters Arms
Ranked #1 of 5 Beaulieu B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 May 2013

Great lunch, friendly service, lovely beer garden and good beer too apparently! A very popular pub and ideal if visiting Beaulieu which is about 10 minutes away.There was even a log fire lit. We had the sticky ribs, fish and chips and coronation sandwich all excellent. The pate ploughmans was a little disappointing as it was only served with a small end of french bread but I didn't ask for more so thats my fault!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank badders10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (219)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

140 - 146 of 219 reviews

Reviewed 3 May 2013

After a days sailing out of Bucklers Hard we spent the evening in the Turfcutters Pub. A superb atmosphere, real log fire. The Ringwood Best was superb and we enjoyed several pints of it. Having built up a big appetite we enjoyed a starter of there famous Beef Sticky Ribs, probably the best i have eaten. the meat melted in your mouth and the sauce was delicious. We followed this up with Ribeye steak and chips. The portions are big so beware. At the end of the evening we asked for a taxi to take us back to Bucklers Hard and the bar manager kindly offered to drop us back FOC. You cant say fairer than that. I cant wait to return.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Harvrm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2013 via mobile

From the moment you walk into The Turfcutters you feel at home. A HUGE thank you to Jed & Simon for a wonderful, friendly,relaxing,cheerful stay. A delicious breakfast each morning & entertaining music selection....
We will be back..Thank You

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank debswilma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2013

This is a really good country pub. open fire, good beer and food, dogs welcome, great atmosphere, friendly locals, friendly staff.

the pub has a big garden which is enclosed, dogs are welcome in the garden and the pub and if your lucky, Kai, the bar managers black lab will come out to play!

Well worth a trip out into the lovely forest that surrounds the pub and local area.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MrGreenHampshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2013

A local pub with a relaxed and friendly atmosphere. The pub is dog friendly with dog biscuits on the bar. What more do you want on a cold winters night, relaxing in front of the roaring open fire with a pint of real ale and good food. There is also accommodation and ample parking. The pub is about 15 minutes from Lymington.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Peepies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2013

A really friendly local pub. The food here is really good and the pub has a really lovely relaxed and very friendly atmosphere. There are games you can play whilst having a drink which makes it good fun. We also had the take away fish and chips which they do every night for £5.75 and these were really delicious, proper chips and a wonderful tasting piece of cod.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RH1-7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2013

What a find. Thank you so much to all the previous reviewers, they described it so well as the "pub you always wished you had found". Owner Simon and Manager Jed were relaxed and relaxing, but also ready to help at the drop of a hat, whether with a chat or advice or practical stuff. Rooms were fresh and clean and full of character, lots of little touches throughout the accomodation and pub (kept meaning to ask where the great taste and feminine touches like fresh flowers, a proper hairdryer and nice bed throws came from, maybe Jed had hidden talents or maybe it was the gorgeous Kai?!) You have to be a dog lover, which we both were, and met all sorts of characterful and interesting breeds every day there! Plus donkeys in the yard (sorry about the daffs Simon...) and even an owl swooping over one night. Obviously wished the weather had been warmer, but can't wait to return when it is, and coming in to a great breakfast by a roaring fire each morning definitely helped a lot! And more little touches at breakfast - fresh toasted hot cross buns the first day and amazing strawberries from the farm over the road the second - yum!
Despite the good food, this is still very much a local rather than a gastro-pub, which is just what we like. And friendly locals no less - even the local undertaker...god I wish this was in my own village!!
Playing scrabble the second night by the fire we set off an hysterical scrabble tournament by the very lovely local yoofs, who hopefully may learn to spell at some point, but whose enthusiasm and friendliness kicking off a second rowdier game at the next table was quite wonderful. What a great bunch! Again, fab to see a proper pub with a proper mix of ages and backgrounds.
So all in all, great stay, can't wait to go again (hopefully in warmer weather to enjoy the garden even more) and if you love dogs, log fires, and want a good value, laid back but caring place to stay, this can't be beaten.
Thanks guys and hope things just get better and better there as the weather does too. Lynne xx

Room Tip: All great, I loved the high beamed ceiling in my "Horse" but my friends' one in the m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LGredwine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Beaulieu
1.4 mi away
Montagu Arms Hotel
Montagu Arms Hotel
#1 of 2 in Beaulieu
1,231 reviews
3.9 mi away
Beaulieu Hotel
Beaulieu Hotel
#2 of 2 in Beaulieu
835 reviews
6.8 mi away
The Crown Manor House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Forest Park Hotel
Forest Park Hotel
#10 of 10 in Brockenhurst
621 reviews
4.8 mi away
Cottage Lodge Hotel
Cottage Lodge Hotel
#1 of 10 in Brockenhurst
1,105 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Master Builder's House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Turfcutters Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Turfcutters Arms

Address: Main Road | East Boldre, Beaulieu, New Forest, Brockenhurst S042 7WL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > New Forest > Brockenhurst > Beaulieu
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Beaulieu
Price Range: £68 - £99 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Turfcutters Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Turfcutters Arms Hotel Beaulieu
The Turfcutters Arms Beaulieu, New Forest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing