We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, good location & friendly staff.”
Review of The Greyhound Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Greyhound Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Aldbury B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
london
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Nice hotel, good location & friendly staff.”
Reviewed 29 August 2012

We enjoyed our stay at the Greyhound Inn and it was perfectly located to explore the local area ( Ashridge etc) on foot and on bike. The staff at the pub were very friendly and breakfast was yummy. The room had all the facilities expected, it is a little dated but clean! so i would recommend it. Also had dinner at the pub and really enjoyed it.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lara_M1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    89
    67
    22
    10
    9
See reviews for
37
76
5
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2012

We went with some friends for Sunday lunch at this pub and found the food to be decidedly average. My friends fish was overcooked, my husband roast beef was also overcooked and appeared to have not been freshly carved but taken out of a catering pack, and his roast potatoes were so hard and undercooked that he could not eat most of them.

No idea what it's like to stay there, but will certainly not be returning for any food.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank brenzLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hertfordshire
Level 6 Contributor
253 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2012

We stayed here for one night Sunday 3 rd June.We picked This inn because we found a delightfull walk through the village of Aldbury.The walk was by David Wenk,and included walking to Tring Station,tow path of Grand Union Canal,Cow Roast Marina,village of Aldbury,Bulbourne Valley Toms Hill and Moneybury Hill.Even though it rained all day we still enjoyed this walk and stopped at The Cow Roast Inn for lunch.the landlord was very friendly and lunch was good value.
The Greyhound Inn provided us with a lovely clean room, We had a room above the inn The bed was comfortable and we had a good night sleep.I was pleasantly suprised with the added finishing touches of shampoo shower gell,tea cofee, bottled water and biscuits
we had an excellent evening meal in the evening and the staff were very friendly helpfull and attentive.
The breakfast was great in fact one of the best We have had.
we would recomend this inn and we would stay here again if we were to come back to this area.
Our only negative thing we have to say is we were cold in the bedroom there was no heating and no radiator working.Having been walking in the rain all day couldnt dry our wet clothes but this was a mior issue.Having said that as it was June the owners probally didnt expect the weather to be so poor after the nice spell we had just had.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tobyHertfordshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2012

Stayed at The Greyhound for two nights on business. Lovely welcome - my bag was taken up to my room - really comfy and quirky. I had a seperate sitting room, and a 2nd bedroom with cute little pine bed for a child.
Was pleased to have bottles of water along with tea/coffee in the room. Had a brilliant nights sleep - no road noise just birds singing in the morning and a lovely view over the old church and fields.
Breakfast was excellent - really good quality produce and friendly service. Made to feel very welcome - I even had a drink in the bar in the evening on my own - something I never do in a hotel but the other customers were friendly too - even their dogs !
Looking forward to going back quiet soon - want to have another stroll in the churchyard - fascinating !

Room Tip: Ask for The Aldbury - the biggest room in the hotel with a 2nd bedroom - great for a family.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roberta B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2012

Stayed over on a business trip, Warm enjoyable atmosphere, Clean rooms, Good bar and food,
Staff pleasent and helpful. Will stay again if the opportunity arises

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DekeIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkhamsted, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 10 January 2012

I had eaten at The Greyhound on numerous occasions, the food is always delicious, the atmosphere charming and the waiting and bar staff helpful and courteous. Based on this and that we were getting married at Aldbury church. we decided to hold our wedding reception there.

After walking from the church we were greeted with a very delicious and much needed glass of mulled wine. The Pub itself was beautifully and tastefully decorated for christmas. The sit down meal was fabulous. Even though they cater for many more of weekend sitting, I'm certain making sure 60 meals were ready all at once was no mean feat. Every course was faultless.

The evening buffet was incredible! Lots of variety and exactly what was needed for cold evening guests (and insatiable family!)

So if you go for just a meal a deux or a larger function, I cannot recommend The Greyhound enough!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsHodson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2012

The rooms were clean and cosy, the staff were helpful, the food was excellent, and the location is both convenient for travel to the midlands and london but also very senic.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paul k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aldbury
1.5 mi away
Pendley Manor Hotel
3.9 mi away
Premier Inn Tring Hotel
5.2 mi away
West Lodge Hotel
West Lodge Hotel
#1 of 1 in Aston Clinton
193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
The Penny Farthing Hotel
The Penny Farthing Hotel
#2 of 2 in Berkhamsted
118 reviews
3.4 mi away
The Kings Arms
The Kings Arms
#1 of 2 in Berkhamsted
224 reviews
6.6 mi away
Red Lion Hotel
Red Lion Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wendover
492 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Greyhound Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Greyhound Inn

Property: The Greyhound Inn
Address: 19 Stocks Road, Aldbury, Tring HP23 5RT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hertfordshire > Tring > Aldbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Aldbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Greyhound Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Book Direct Rooms, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Greyhound Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Greyhound Hotel Aldbury
The Greyhound Inn Aldbury, Hertfordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing