We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Attractive in all respects” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Greyhound Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Greyhound Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Aldbury B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Norfolk
Level Contributor
185 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Attractive in all respects”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2013

Our final stopover after walking the Ridgeway. A very pretty restaurant/pub overlooking the village pond. We arrived on a sunny Sunday afternoon and the village was heaving, as was the restaurant, although it was gone 3pm. Our room was on the first floor of a converted building at the rear of the pub overlooking a small childrens' play area and field. Very quiet. Menu was good and the food tasty. Real ale on tap. Staff very helpfull. A good choice to end our walk here, just a very short taxi ride to Tring station.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Molenders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

182 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    85
    62
    18
    9
    8
See reviews for
34
70
5
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Essex
Level Contributor
55 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2013

I thought this was going to be a pub with a few rooms that did food.

Oh no, this was a lovely country pub with really great staff, clientel, beautiful rooms some away from the main pub with every attention to detail looked after and a superb restaurant!

I stayed Thursday night two weeks ago and was so impressed by the place the village the staff and especially the food!

A thank you to all the staff, I really hope to be back soon!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MapManEssex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheddington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2013

Visited this restaurant many times in large groups and with family. The landlord is very hospitable and compliant. Food delicious and the menu varied, something for everyone. Waiting staff always polite. Please book to avoid disappointment. Haven't made use of the B&B as we are local.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chops5hs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2013 via mobile

Good stop off point on the Ridgeway upto Ivinghoe Beacon. A really warm welcome, a with super pub lunch food. Lovely decor and prompt good service. Pies, sandwiches, chips whatever you fancy. Others could take a leaf out of their book.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Bankc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
127 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2013 via mobile

The Greyhound Inn was a warm welcome indeed after a chilly 2 hour walk with our two dogs on Easter Monday. Fortunately we had booked because the restaurant was packed.
Good food, narrow but interestng menu and a very nice end to our day. Efficient and pleasant service.

Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Harry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2013

We saw this pub listed in our pub walks book - the roast dinners that were coming out of the kitchen looked great too. Started were very nice but both our main courses were average.. not much flavour sadly.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Fatspoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Teddington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2013

I thought this was a lovely little pub with very reasonably priced rooms. The food was good quality and the pub was welcoming. Rooms had everything you could want including free bottled water. Plenty of room to leave a car outside for doing a walk - you can do a good circuit up to Ivinghoe Beacon.

Room Tip: A room in the annex behind the pub would be best for a quiet night's sleep
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LeedsTeddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aldbury
1.5 mi away
Pendley Manor Hotel
3.9 mi away
Premier Inn Tring Hotel
5.2 mi away
West Lodge Hotel
West Lodge Hotel
#1 of 1 in Aston Clinton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
The Pennyfarthing Hotel
The Pennyfarthing Hotel
#2 of 2 in Berkhamsted
4.0 of 5 bubbles 113 reviews
6.2 mi away
Boxmoor Lodge Hotel
Boxmoor Lodge Hotel
#2 of 11 in Hemel Hempstead
4.5 of 5 bubbles 369 reviews
6.6 mi away
Red Lion Hotel
Red Lion Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wendover
4.0 of 5 bubbles 395 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Greyhound Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Greyhound Inn

Property: The Greyhound Inn
Address: 19 Stocks Road, Aldbury, Tring HP23 5RT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hertfordshire > Tring > Aldbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Aldbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Greyhound Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Book Direct Rooms and Hotels.com so you can book your The Greyhound Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Greyhound Hotel Aldbury
The Greyhound Inn Aldbury, Hertfordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing