We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely pub, Sunday Lunch adequate.”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of The Greyhound Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Greyhound Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Aldbury B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Tring, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Lovely pub, Sunday Lunch adequate.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2013

Went for Sunday lunch, they have 2 sittings. Beautiful village. Decor and ambiance are lovely. Staff were friendly and efficient. However the roast dinner did not live upto the surroundings.
The roast beef was overlooked for my taste and the roast potatoes were a long way for being crispy.The cabbage was very nicely cooked but the broccoli was soggy.
Dessert was a disappointment as I went for desert of the day, strawberry cheesecake. Not a single strawberry in sight,just a jelly like topping on what looked like an industrial made cheesecake. It's the height of the strawberry season- not even one for garnish.
In short, not really great food but adequate food in a lovely well appointed village pub.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Penthelesia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    85
    65
    19
    9
    8
See reviews for
35
71
5
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Chesham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
131 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2013

My wife and I shared the Seafood platter- Crab meat, prawns, smoked salmon, crayfish & Marie Rose sauce with rustic bread/salad etc. Excellent @ £10.95. There are similar sharing/or not sharing dishes based on Cheese, Cured Meat, or Mezze Plate. The rest of the Menu is wide ranging - something for everyone. A good choice of value wines. Overlooking the village pond - which needs a serious desilting operation. But better not complain or I will be put in the stocks - also in view. Overall, a delight on a summer's day.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maxima5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
244 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2013

We only called in for a drink or two late afternoon on a Thursday. Very good welcome, good beers and excellent location in a very attractive village. Looked at the food on the menu and this could be a good place to visit again to eat. Seemed to be a popular place to dine as more and more turned up early evening with reservations D&S 11/7

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravellingDSSM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norfolk
Level Contributor
186 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2013

Our final stopover after walking the Ridgeway. A very pretty restaurant/pub overlooking the village pond. We arrived on a sunny Sunday afternoon and the village was heaving, as was the restaurant, although it was gone 3pm. Our room was on the first floor of a converted building at the rear of the pub overlooking a small childrens' play area and field. Very quiet. Menu was good and the food tasty. Real ale on tap. Staff very helpfull. A good choice to end our walk here, just a very short taxi ride to Tring station.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Molenders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex
Level Contributor
59 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2013

I thought this was going to be a pub with a few rooms that did food.

Oh no, this was a lovely country pub with really great staff, clientel, beautiful rooms some away from the main pub with every attention to detail looked after and a superb restaurant!

I stayed Thursday night two weeks ago and was so impressed by the place the village the staff and especially the food!

A thank you to all the staff, I really hope to be back soon!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MapManEssex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheddington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2013

Visited this restaurant many times in large groups and with family. The landlord is very hospitable and compliant. Food delicious and the menu varied, something for everyone. Waiting staff always polite. Please book to avoid disappointment. Haven't made use of the B&B as we are local.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chops5hs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2013 via mobile

Good stop off point on the Ridgeway upto Ivinghoe Beacon. A really warm welcome, a with super pub lunch food. Lovely decor and prompt good service. Pies, sandwiches, chips whatever you fancy. Others could take a leaf out of their book.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Bankc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aldbury
1.5 mi away
Pendley Manor Hotel
3.9 mi away
Premier Inn Tring Hotel
3.2 mi away
The Pennyfarthing Hotel
The Pennyfarthing Hotel
#2 of 2 in Berkhamsted
4.0 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
Boxmoor Lodge Hotel
Boxmoor Lodge Hotel
#2 of 11 in Hemel Hempstead
4.5 of 5 bubbles 378 reviews
5.2 mi away
West Lodge Hotel
West Lodge Hotel
#1 of 1 in Aston Clinton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 188 reviews
6.6 mi away
Red Lion Hotel
Red Lion Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wendover
4.0 of 5 bubbles 426 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Greyhound Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Greyhound Inn

Property: The Greyhound Inn
Address: 19 Stocks Road, Aldbury, Tring HP23 5RT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hertfordshire > Tring > Aldbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Aldbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Greyhound Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Book Direct Rooms, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Greyhound Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Greyhound Hotel Aldbury
The Greyhound Inn Aldbury, Hertfordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing