We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent short stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Mount Pleasant Lodge
Ranked #2 of 3 Aymestrey B&B and Inns
Staffordshire, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent short stay”
Reviewed 4 August 2014

I surprised my wife for our anniversary with a night at Mount Pleasant Lodge and we thoroughly enjoyed out stay. This was made easy by our excellent hosts, who made us feel very welcome and are very down to earth, they made us feel very comfortable. We also had an anniversary meal at the local pub, the Riverside Inn. again, this was a fantastic. we rounded the weekend off with a trip into Ludlow before heading home. I definitely recommend Mount Pleasant to other guest and we would love to stop again. It was so good that I've left another, equally complimentary review on another website too.

Thanks again,

Craig and Em Taylor

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 164C_T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa S, Owner at Mount Pleasant Lodge, responded to this review, 1 January 2015
Thank you for your kind review, it was lovely to meet you both and we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope the Birthday celebrations were not too disruptive.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    50
    3
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
8
31
5
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Youlgreave, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
137 reviews
104 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2014

Feeling weary after a day's walk we were warmly received and served copious quantities of tea. The room was spacious and smart and the breakfast was local produce prepared to the best of standards. Advice on local eating places was freely offered and we felt well looked after.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank WanderingBrit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa S, Owner at Mount Pleasant Lodge, responded to this review, 1 January 2015
Thank you for your kind review, it was lovely to meet you and we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2014

We absolutely loved staying here!
The hostess was partciularly friendly and her breakfasts were fantastic too. (She even went and got myself some gluten free bread for the second morning as we'd turned up last minute to her place on the first night due to an "emergency"!)
Even though we'd literally booked half an hour before we arrived, both hotesses were very welcoming and understanding of our situation.
Their dog was really cute and well-mannered (though I was told if I didn't like dogs, it would've been shut away for us.)

The room was really comfortable - I had the best night's sleep I'd had in absolutely ages!

The only slight negative was that the room we stayed in (standard double) had a very tiny shower, which made it quite hard for me to wash my hair without banging my head on the sides!
The facilities were lovely and clean though, with plenty of tea and coffee with complimentary "sweets" The milk was brought up fresh when we requested it which was a much better way of doing things.

I'd totally recommend staying here, I wish I hadn't had to leave! :)

If you need the wifi - there is a good connection but it depends where in the house you stand/sit! (To be expected in a big house out in the countryside though)
Even the smallest standard double was fairly spacey, with a large bathroom area,

Room Tip: The rooms are all lovely, although if you can afford it the bigger the better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank llama86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa S, Owner at Mount Pleasant Lodge, responded to this review, 1 January 2015
Thank you for your kind review, it was lovely to meet you and your husband and glad to be able to make your stay in Herefordshire a nicer experience than expected. Thank you for the post card, its pined to the notice board in my office as a place I must visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 16 April 2014

Mount Pleasant Lodge is in an impressive setting, easily located and accessible. Our room was spotlessly clean, with high quality fixtures, fittings and furnishings, proving very warm and comfortable. We were given our room key, along with a front door key to allow late access if necessary, along with local advice on finding an evening meal.
Our breakfast was beautifully presented in the attractive dining area, with a wide choice from a locally sourced menu. There was an attractive selection of fresh fruit, cereal and yogurt to start, with generous servings of superbly cooked hot food to follow. Ample extra toast was also provided.
Many thanks for such a warm welcome and enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gillian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa S, Owner at Mount Pleasant Lodge, responded to this review, 1 January 2015
Thank you for your kind review, it was lovely to meet you and we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint-Severin, France
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2013

A big thank you to Pat, Lisa and Mabel - you couldn't have made our recent stay more delightful. The breakfasts were varied and copious and beautifully cooked. Our room was extremely comfortable with those little touches which mean so much when away from home.
We highly recommend Mount¨Pleasant Lodge, and look forward to seeing you all again soon.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank petal127
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2013

My husband and I stayed at this great B&B for 3 nights at the end of September. The house is lovely, the gardens are beautiful and there is plenty of car parking space. Our room was gorgeous, with a window seat in which I could have happily spent the whole time, reading! LIsa and Pat are friendly (as is Mabel the dog), helpful and very informative about the area and where to eat. Talking of food, Pat's breakfasts are the stuff of legend!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Denise B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2013

We stayed for one night on 01/09/13. It was a last minute booking after a long day sightseeing in the area. We had a large room at the back of the house overlooking the beautiful garden. Pat & Lisa (and the dog, Mabel) were very welcoming. Being a Sunday, Lisa advised us which local restaurants are open. We traveled a short distance to The Jolly Frog at Leintwardine.
Our only complaint would be the size of the shower - there isn't much room to turn around for us 'more cuddly' people.
Comfortably appointed room & bed and a very quiet location made for a relaxing night. The breakfast was excellent and set us up for another busy day exploring.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Auslas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aymestrey
5.8 mi away
Talbot Hotel
Talbot Hotel
#1 of 2 in Leominster
303 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Riverside Inn & Restaurant
5.4 mi away
Lowe Farm B&B
Lowe Farm B&B
#1 of 2 in Pembridge
114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
The Castle Inn
The Castle Inn
#1 of 2 in Wigmore
37 reviews
5.0 mi away
Walford Court
Walford Court
#2 of 8 in Leintwardine
117 reviews
0.2 mi away
Farm Breakfasts B&B
Farm Breakfasts B&B
#3 of 3 in Aymestrey
5 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mount Pleasant Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mount Pleasant Lodge

Property: Mount Pleasant Lodge
Address: Aymestrey, Aymestrey HR6 9SU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Herefordshire > Aymestrey
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Aymestrey
Hotel Class:4 star — Mount Pleasant Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on the Herefordshire Shropshire borders in the tranquil village of Aymestrey is Mount Pleasant Lodge B&B on the Mortimer Trail. A family run B&B who pride themselves on quality of service. A five minute walk away is the renowned and award winning Riverside Inn, whose good reputation is known throughout Herefordshire.Mount Pleasant Lodge has three rooms available to guests, one Double, one Kingsize and one Superking/Twin.Mount Pleasant Lodge is a short drive from the picturesque market town of Leominster on the River Lugg and Ludlow in South Shropshire, designated an area of scientific interest. Another short drive away is the start of the Black and White Village Trail, Croft Castle and their open air summer events programme, Cider Museums and historic houses and gardens all worth visiting.The Garden Room / Conservatory acts as the guest lounge. This room gets the sun from around mid morning until late afternoon. An abundance of tourist literature can be found there if looking for inspiration as to what to do on your visit. Copies can be made of any maps/walks contained with in any of the books. Binoculars and reference books are also located there, as a number birds and other animals visit the garden throughout the year. Last weeks visitors were a herd of Sheep. For rainy days the dresser contains a number of games, jigsaws and playing cards, should you wish to while the day away at the house.There is no TV in this room but CD player / radio are available for use. Should you wish to watch TV we asks guests to do this in the comford of their own rooms. There are a selection of DVD's which you are free to borrow and watch during the course of your stay. Guests are free to use any part of the garden or terrace area. The paddock to the top of the ridge denotes the rear boundary for Mount Pleasant Lodge and guests are free to wander to their hearts desire or undertake a spot of weeding if they have the inclination. :-) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Book Direct Rooms so you can book your Mount Pleasant Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing