We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (262)
Filter reviews
262 results
Traveller rating
200
52
9
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
200
52
9
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews trout fudge braised beef bread and butter pudding melt in your mouth banks of the river excellent food lovely location local ingredients great pub bar snacks quality toiletries blue cheese cooked to perfection mussels mortimer trail mutton
Filter
Updating list...
203 - 208 of 262 reviews
Reviewed 5 June 2013

On 27th May BH we had been over to Telford and decided to return to Hereford via the scenic route. We came across The Riverside Inn and decided to pop in for a lunchtime drink and snack. We were greeted by a truly wonderful landlord who made us feel wanted. A table was found for us where upon we chose our snack which was very good and together with a glass of wine we had a most enjoyable time. The menu looked very inviting and we shall certainly return very soon for a meal. The setting is idyllic, true Herefordshire at its best

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank wonderbabes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2013

We visited the Riverside Inn last weekend and the weather was fantastic. We sat outside in the sunshine and enjoyed some pre-lunch drinks watching the birds and ducks. We then went inside and downstairs for our meal. The roast beef was delicious and the vegetables were cooked to perfection. Delightful location and great food. We will definately be back for more.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ateasd5941
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2013

Julie and I have just spent a memorable 7 nights at The Riverside Inn. Our hosts, Richard and Liz, plus the excellent friendly, attentive staff make this establishment a "must" for anyone visiting the Herefordshire/Shropshire area.

But why? I will not dwell on the excellence of the cuisine or value for money, which has been much commented on in other reviews, but would rather focus on what makes the Riverside Inn so unique.
To start with the location is fantastic nestling alongside the River Lugg, a handy source for the Trout dishes on the menu and as a centre for walkers at all levels. We are amateurs at this pastime, but the advice and help received in this regard has certainly made us converts to this activity.

The answer to the excellence of this Inn lies much deeper and this is contained within the overall management and ethos of the establishment.
The art of perfection in the catering/hospitality industry is hard work and ability, served up to look easy and simple, which it is not.

Richard and Liz are relative newcomers to this business sector, having taken over the Riverside in 2001, but clearly they have brought with them all of their many years of industrial and commercial experience.

I was puzzled one evening in the restaurant when I overheard Richard turning away a couple for dinner because they were fully booked, when in fact there were tables available.

Curiosity got the better of me and I had to ask the reason for this. Richard explained that they were a member of staff short that evening and through the capacity planning system he deploys, then it would have put the rest of the team under increased pressure, including the kitchen and this could have led to a deterioration in the standard of service to the customers.
This is clever, most establishments would take as many "bums" on seats as they could accommodate and not worry about the quality of service levels.

It was noted that the staff were continually being encouraged and motivated throughout service, indeed some members of his team are undertaking advanced external training in the industry with the owners blessing and support.

There was one evening when Richard and Liz took the night off, but the restaurant was fully booked! My trepidation of the possible consequences was totally unfounded as it was business as usual and totally faultless.

These are the pointers to an excellent establishment that knows its marketplace, with an affordable, value for money pricing strategy and excellent hosts who really know what they are doing.

The Riverside Inn fully deserves the praise that it receives and we will certainly be returning.

Mike & Julie
May 2013

Room Tip: For a longer stay I would definitely opt for one of the suites in the stable block, next to the river.
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2013

Picked off the internet, this lovely place was outstanding. Food was excellent to say the least and reasonably priced. What a lovely location too and the staff were fun and very efficient - will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jill18746
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2013

Would definately visit again. Lovely situation along side the river. Food was lovely - best quality steak I've had in a long time. Loved the twice cooked cauliflower and goats cheese soufflé ! Richard (very welcoming landlord nothing was too much trouble...didn't even mid steve putting his prune stones in his juice glass!) recommended circular walk, took about an hour and a half, wonderful sunshine ! what's not to love!. ..........did I say the food was lovely !!

Room Tip: it really doesn't matter about the room - everything else is so lovely.
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wouldlikemymoneyback
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews