We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely weekend stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Riverside Inn & Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 3 Aymestrey B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Lovely weekend stay”
Reviewed 22 June 2013

We recently spent a lovely weekend at the Riverside Inn for our 13th wedding anniversary. The rooms were clean and comfortable, the hosts and staff very welcoming and helpful, and the food really excellent. Fantastic area for walking / cycling. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrsH1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

214 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    160
    46
    8
    0
    0
See reviews for
23
114
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Stourport-on-Severn, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2013

Recently visited with friends for midweek lunch on recommendation. A good menu choice and friendly service combined with stunning location made it a place we would want to go back to. It was very windy the day we visited but can imagine having lunch outside by the river would be equally good. Must visit again before the autumn.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
Helpful?
Thank safariman_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Herefordshire, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2013

On 27th May BH we had been over to Telford and decided to return to Hereford via the scenic route. We came across The Riverside Inn and decided to pop in for a lunchtime drink and snack. We were greeted by a truly wonderful landlord who made us feel wanted. A table was found for us where upon we chose our snack which was very good and together with a glass of wine we had a most enjoyable time. The menu looked very inviting and we shall certainly return very soon for a meal. The setting is idyllic, true Herefordshire at its best

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wonderbabes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hereford
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 262 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2013

We visited the Riverside Inn last weekend and the weather was fantastic. We sat outside in the sunshine and enjoyed some pre-lunch drinks watching the birds and ducks. We then went inside and downstairs for our meal. The roast beef was delicious and the vegetables were cooked to perfection. Delightful location and great food. We will definately be back for more.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ateasd5941
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Istan, Spain
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2013

Julie and I have just spent a memorable 7 nights at The Riverside Inn. Our hosts, Richard and Liz, plus the excellent friendly, attentive staff make this establishment a "must" for anyone visiting the Herefordshire/Shropshire area.

But why? I will not dwell on the excellence of the cuisine or value for money, which has been much commented on in other reviews, but would rather focus on what makes the Riverside Inn so unique.
To start with the location is fantastic nestling alongside the River Lugg, a handy source for the Trout dishes on the menu and as a centre for walkers at all levels. We are amateurs at this pastime, but the advice and help received in this regard has certainly made us converts to this activity.

The answer to the excellence of this Inn lies much deeper and this is contained within the overall management and ethos of the establishment.
The art of perfection in the catering/hospitality industry is hard work and ability, served up to look easy and simple, which it is not.

Richard and Liz are relative newcomers to this business sector, having taken over the Riverside in 2001, but clearly they have brought with them all of their many years of industrial and commercial experience.

I was puzzled one evening in the restaurant when I overheard Richard turning away a couple for dinner because they were fully booked, when in fact there were tables available.

Curiosity got the better of me and I had to ask the reason for this. Richard explained that they were a member of staff short that evening and through the capacity planning system he deploys, then it would have put the rest of the team under increased pressure, including the kitchen and this could have led to a deterioration in the standard of service to the customers.
This is clever, most establishments would take as many "bums" on seats as they could accommodate and not worry about the quality of service levels.

It was noted that the staff were continually being encouraged and motivated throughout service, indeed some members of his team are undertaking advanced external training in the industry with the owners blessing and support.

There was one evening when Richard and Liz took the night off, but the restaurant was fully booked! My trepidation of the possible consequences was totally unfounded as it was business as usual and totally faultless.

These are the pointers to an excellent establishment that knows its marketplace, with an affordable, value for money pricing strategy and excellent hosts who really know what they are doing.

The Riverside Inn fully deserves the praise that it receives and we will certainly be returning.

Mike & Julie
May 2013

Room Tip: For a longer stay I would definitely opt for one of the suites in the stable block, next to the rive...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sidmouth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2013

Picked off the internet, this lovely place was outstanding. Food was excellent to say the least and reasonably priced. What a lovely location too and the staff were fun and very efficient - will definitely be back.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jill18746
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2013

Would definately visit again. Lovely situation along side the river. Food was lovely - best quality steak I've had in a long time. Loved the twice cooked cauliflower and goats cheese soufflé ! Richard (very welcoming landlord nothing was too much trouble...didn't even mid steve putting his prune stones in his juice glass!) recommended circular walk, took about an hour and a half, wonderful sunshine ! what's not to love!. ..........did I say the food was lovely !!

Room Tip: it really doesn't matter about the room - everything else is so lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wouldlikemymoneyback
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aymestrey
7.6 mi away
The Cliffe at Dinham
The Cliffe at Dinham
#3 of 8 in Ludlow
446 reviews
8.0 mi away
The Feathers at Ludlow
7.7 mi away
Dinham Hall Hotel
Dinham Hall Hotel
#6 of 8 in Ludlow
438 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 mi away
Talbot Hotel
Talbot Hotel
#1 of 2 in Leominster
310 reviews
2.3 mi away
The Castle Inn
The Castle Inn
#1 of 2 in Wigmore
42 reviews
6.2 mi away
The Salwey Arms
The Salwey Arms
#22 of 48 in Ludlow
70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Riverside Inn & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Riverside Inn & Restaurant

Property: The Riverside Inn & Restaurant
Address: Aymestrey HR6 9ST, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Herefordshire > Aymestrey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Aymestrey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your The Riverside Inn & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Riverside Inn & Restaurant Hotel Aymestrey
The Riverside Inn And Restaurant

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing