We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A gem of a Pub with Rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Riverside Inn & Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 3 Aymestrey B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 November 2013

At first glance the location by a fairly busy road was a worry but our stable suite was quiet enough.
The room decor was a bit tired and so was the quality of bed, but this is a "Pub with Rooms" and not an hotel and the price reflects this.
Staff service was impeccable and the food just superb. Great use of local ingredients,imaginative recipes and all served in a characterful bar/dining room.
The Riverside is a must for foodies and nearby Ludlow awaits too!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (235)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

167 - 173 of 235 reviews

Reviewed 15 September 2013

Just come back from a wonderful weekend at The Riverside, we stayed in the stable en-suite and absolutely loved it. The evening food was stunning and the staff made you feel very welcome and relaxed. Beautiful scenery and the Inn is obliviously set right next to the river. Cant wait to go back.

Room Tip: Our stable en-suite was perfect for us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patrick Chapman J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2013

very good value for money, good size rooms friendly and helpful hosts and very good food. shall return hopefully to get some walking in , a very scenic area.was a bit worried about bar and restaurant noise but no problem quietened down quicker than expected and slept very well!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank john m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Evening meal with friends - all excellent! The service was very good, the wine list also good.My minted pea risotto was memorable and the chocolate tart with chocolate ice cream was fab!! Not cheap but worth every penny ! Lovely cosy ambience.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alice S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2013

We visited the riverside inn during the evening after reading other reviews and the fact that it was dog friendly!

We were not disappointed at all,

We were placed on a table in the cosy bar area and Jake our dog was made very welcome,

Service from the start was perfect and we were made very welcome, the food was brilliant and cooked to perfection.

Thanks to all the staff at the Riverside inn we will be coming back soon.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nigedeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2013

We visited the Riverside for a second time within a couple of months just a few days ago. Both times we went at lunchtime, my partner and I had the beef and it was cooked to perfection. The pub has a lovely atmosphere with music playing in the background. Staff were polite and friendly and it is set in a beautiful location next to the river.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cazpzu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2013

We wanted to come here for a Saturday night meal, but it was so popular we couldn't get a table until 9pm. Very glad we waited though! Superb starters, including vegetarian, carnivore and fish-lover options - I chose the local Herefordshire snail tempura, which was fabulous, excellent texture and perfectly balanced flavour. For main courses, I had "Mortimer forest venison", and my partner had "pork cheeks" - we were both so protective of our choices that we didn't taste each other's, but each enjoyed every single mouthful! Desserts also lovely, and very good coffee to finish.
Friendly service, and not over-priced for the excellence of the cooking and the thoughtful use of ingredients.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank hjmarchant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aymestrey
2.3 mi away
The Castle Inn
The Castle Inn
#1 of 2 in Wigmore
46 reviews
6.5 mi away
Farm Breakfasts B&B
Farm Breakfasts B&B
#3 of 3 in Aymestrey
7 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mount Pleasant Lodge
Mount Pleasant Lodge
#2 of 3 in Aymestrey
54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Riverside Inn & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Riverside Inn & Restaurant

Address: Aymestrey HR6 9ST, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Herefordshire > Aymestrey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Aymestrey
Price Range: £88 - £121 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Riverside Inn & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Riverside Inn And Restaurant
The Riverside Inn & Restaurant Hotel Aymestrey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing