We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (260)
Filter reviews
260 results
Traveller rating
198
52
9
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
198
52
9
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstroutfudgebraised beefbread and butter puddingmelt in your mouthbanks of the riverexcellent foodlovely locationlocal ingredientsgreat pubbar snacksquality toiletriesblue cheesecooked to perfectionmusselsmortimer trailmutton
Filter
Updating list...
37 - 42 of 260 reviews
Reviewed 7 October 2017

We have just returned from a most enjoyable lunch at the Riverside. Lovely room, great service from the girls both pleasant and efficient. Excellent food, love that they grow and source their produce locally Highly recommended

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank bakerylady2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2017

Enjoyed pleasant visit lovely welcoming staff comfortable modernised bedroom and very good food at a competitive reasonable rate. Would thoroughly recommend this inn service excellent and unlike many hotels their all round tariffs are fair including drinks and food.

Room Tip: Hatton dry nice but all rooms should be ok all recently refurbished
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2017

We came on a Friday lunchtime with my elderly parents and the food, service and atmosphere was perfect for us. For starters we chose the beetroot soup and mussels both were very good especially the soup which was excellent. Our main courses were a mixture of Hake and chips, Duo of Pork and the Guinea Fowl again all were well prepared and very tasty.
Only two of us had dessert and we both chose the bread and butter pudding which was the best I had eaten since the Castle in Wigmore changed hands about 4 years ago.

I can’t explain why but we hadn’t been back to the Riverside since we first moved to this area 14 years ago, we will not be leaving it long before we go again.

If your looking for good food in a very pleasant location then look no further.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leintwardine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2017

Visited this restraunt last month for a 3 course lunch. Great location on the banks of the River Lugg. Choice on the menu excellent with many local ingredients. Beautifully cooked and presented. Service was excellent. Booking recomended at lunchtime as they were very bisy - a good sign

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank 186424John_S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2017 via mobile

Just had a lovely lunch at The Riverside. First of all, the setting of the pub is delightful with outside benches that sit alongside the river. Inside the decor is fresh, but with a homely feel. Local art on display is a nice touch.
Staff were excellent, friendly, but not overbearing.
As for the food, had a travelzoo voucher for 2 courses and coffee, which made the meal excellent value as both starter and main were delicious. Even at full price, I'd have no issues with the prices as I was eating fresh, locally sourced food.
With the first 2 courses being so good, we had to add a dessert too!
Will definitely return!

Stayed: September 2017
Thank mikeyh14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews