We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Riverside Inn & Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 3 Aymestrey B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 June 2010

We stayed for a three night walking weekend. This hotel suited very well having a great location on the banks of the river Lugg. We stayed in the Hayloft which had masses of room if a bit old fashioned but everything worked and was comfortable. Lovely to be able to sit outside the room on our own patch of grass in the sunshine.

The breakfasts were very good with all the usual choices. The evening meals didn't all quite hit the spot however, portions were sometimes a bit small for the prices which I thought were a tad expensive for some dishes for a pub/hotel like this even one which is clearly a destination establishment. The dishes were however for the main part interesting and there is clearly a chef being allowed to do his creative stuff which is excellent. The owner and staff are friendly and helpful and the whole atmosphere and service is friendly and unpretentious if sometimes a bit slow.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank foggy66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (223)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

217 - 223 of 223 reviews

Reviewed 15 November 2009

Always slightly unnerving returning to a hotel or restaurant that impressed previously. I shouldn’t have worried – the Riverside Inn is by no means perfect but it would be hard to leave the place at the end of your stay without a smile on your face. The dog-friendliness is outstanding and the accommodation for guests with dogs is still the best we’ve come across.

The food was, again, great – the breakfast on our final morning was, I think, the best cooked breakfast I have ever had. Each component ingredient adding to the overall joy of the feast – particularly liked the cherry tomatoes (presumably from their greenhouse on the hill behind the hotel) fried on the vine. And oh, the black pudding....

OK, our one gripe was about the service in the evening – there was nothing very wrong with this, just a bit amateurish. Still friendly as owt but a bit sluggish and one or two of the orders/timings a bit out. But the quality and provenance of the food more than makes up for it.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DrDaveCumbria_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2009

Stayed for one night while walking the Mortimer Way. The waiting / bar staff were friendly and helpful and the room clean and comfortable. It was good to see the source of the breakfast ingredients printed on the menu. Would definitely stay again, especially as dogs are welcome.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BathLion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2009

Stayed for 2 nights at the end of October. Cosy and friendly pub, good location, great service and fantastic food. Our room was simple but comfortable. Breakfast is very good.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kevin1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2009

Just stayed one night in the hayloft and were made to feel very welcome. The food is very good , the situation lovely, and the room comfortable. Good breakfast.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank charlesSomersetEng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2009

The Riverside is a real gem of a find! Fantastic spot sitting alongside a small river, even in winter and the food was superb and exceptional value for money. The landlord is more than helpful, as were the staff. ten out of ten (The entrance area could do with a bit of a clear out though!) We will visit again next time we stay in Ludlow. Super honest little pub.

Stayed: January 2008
2  Thank CotswoldMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2007

This is a great "food-led" pub in a great location for walkers. The atmosphere is cosy and friendly, the rooms comfortable and the food is really good!

  • Stayed: November 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Hatchyman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aymestrey
6.0 mi away
Talbot Hotel
Talbot Hotel
#1 of 2 in Leominster
318 reviews
7.6 mi away
The Cliffe at Dinham
The Cliffe at Dinham
#2 of 8 in Ludlow
467 reviews
8.0 mi away
The Feathers at Ludlow
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
Travelodge Ludlow Woofferton Hotel
7.7 mi away
Dinham Hall Hotel
Dinham Hall Hotel
#6 of 8 in Ludlow
460 reviews
2.3 mi away
The Castle Inn
The Castle Inn
#1 of 2 in Wigmore
43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Riverside Inn & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Riverside Inn & Restaurant

Address: Aymestrey HR6 9ST, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Herefordshire > Aymestrey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Aymestrey
Price Range: £88 - £149 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your The Riverside Inn & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Riverside Inn And Restaurant
The Riverside Inn & Restaurant Hotel Aymestrey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing