We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Meal”

Riverside Inn at Aymestrey
Ranked #1 of 2 Restaurants in Aymestrey
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$13 - US$78
Cuisines: European, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Bar Scene, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Description: Aymestrey���s The Riverside Inn and Restaurant is nestled in the Herefordshire countryside, where the Roman Watling Street crosses the meandering River Lugg. Amongst trees where butterflies flutter and dragonflies buzz, The Riverside Inn is an old black and white timbered building full of original features - oak beams, log fires, exposed stone - dating back more than three hundred years. Warm and full of character, this is a typically British inn with an excellent line in local ales, countryside perries and ciders as well as a number of European and New World wines selected as accompaniments to the fine dining food produced by the kitchen���s award winning chefs. Committed to supporting local producers and suppliers from the rich larder of the surrounding counties, The Riverside Restaurant is proud to be local - even hyper-local in some cases with herbs and vegetables often taken from the inn���s very own garden - and as such dishes are created to showcase the best seasonal ingredients. Every item is freshly cooked just meters from your table and every taste and requirement is catered for with excellent vegetarian options as well as good choices for coeliacs and non-dairy eaters.
Leominster, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Meal”
Reviewed 17 August 2014

The food is always great at riverside. When we have friends come we always go there staff are great and owner Well done chef the food that come out of kitchen is top class and it's great always local produce

  • Visited August 2014
    • Atmosphere
Helpful?
Thank Eardisland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

295 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    213
    58
    13
    3
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bala, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A wonderful stay with great food and service.”
Reviewed 1 August 2014

Just returned from a four day stay at the Riverside Inn and will definitely return. The food and service were of a high standard with friendly staff. Our dog was made welcome too! Spoilt for choice on the menu and a surprise birthday cake appeared when the staff found out it was my birthday. Great area to stay in with good walking available on the doorstep.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank team479
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HEREFORD, UK
Level Contributor
144 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Sunday lunch ”
Reviewed 20 July 2014 via mobile

Awesome food, great welcome, great location, superb value, Hobsons beer. Home produce. Have been coming here for years and it gets better. Sunday lunch three course is £19.95 but if you knock the dessert off they reduce. Service a delight not rushed nor overstaffed and no waiting.

Helpful?
Thank monocularman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Gradually going downhill”
Reviewed 14 June 2014

I first dined here 15 years ago - superb - came with my wife and her parents. READ ON.

A meal for 2 a few months later and te restaurant met expectation. Anyway after a break, returned in 2013 and again a couple of times this year (we live locally). the first time we had a mediocre meal. Last year the food was edible and the service poor and the price expensive. this was nothing to write home about and I felt that this was "last chance saloon" time.

A month ago, I had to send back both courses as inedible - the replacement was barely edible. The service was appalling, the owner stood around and barely acknowledged anyone gracing his bar and had the audacity to charge me full price for probably the worst meal I have suffered in many years. I recommend you avoid this place unless you want to endure the full benefit of rip-off Britain with surly service, food that is pretentious and inedible and a manager who is condescending and arrogant.

    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank AJG414
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wow Great Place”
Reviewed 27 May 2014

The Riverside Inn was recommend in the visitor book at Broxwood Barn, we phoned ahead the day before to book a table for sunday lunch for four people and our dog. We were greated by friendly staff who couldnt do enough to make you feel welcome. The food was wonderful and well above pub grub standard it would warrant restaurant standard in our opinion. We couldnt recommend this place enough. Its a must visit.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank biggles10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Riverside Inn at Aymestrey also viewed

Wigmore, Leintwardine
Pembridge, Herefordshire
 
Kingsland, Leominster
Pembridge, Herefordshire
 

Been to Riverside Inn at Aymestrey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing