We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb hosts & excellent accommodation”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bovingdon
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Fir Trees Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 1 Bovingdon B&B and Inns
Reviewed 4 January 2013

We stayed for 3 nights over the new year period. We received a very warm welcome from Sandra. Our room was warm and welcoming, as well as being spotlessly clean, tastefully furnished and well equipped, not to mention the many treats and sweets generously provided!
Breakfast was superb, top quality ingredients, freshly prepared, nothing was too much trouble.
Regrettably, we had no time to sample the tempting evening menus, however, we will definitely be back in February and look forward to enjoying a meal with friends.
I would highly recommend this little gem!
Paul & Andrea
January 2013

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (81)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

70 - 76 of 81 reviews

Reviewed 14 December 2012

I stayed for one night while visiting friends in Berkhamsted. Everything was excellent. The property is very nice and residential with a private parking. My room was luxurious and very clean. Breakfast was outstanding and Sandra and Robert were very kind and helpfull. Highly recommended !

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eric L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2012

We both stayed here as my girlfriend was on a course with Victoria Hammond for a week.
The owners both Sandra and Robert were very welcoming and provided excellent
service to us both. The accommodation is relaxed very clean and truly Excellent well worth the
money!
The Food was on another level, Very Good indeed, we both felt like it was like being
in a top resturant in the evenings it was a true dinning experience top notch!
We would definatly stay here again and hopefully will return.
Thank you Sandra and Robert for Looking after us, we both enjoyed our stay very Much!
Ben & Maria

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MariaAndBen_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandra C, Manager at Fir Trees Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 5 December 2012

Good Morning Ben and Maria

It was a pleasure meeting you both and exceeding your every expectation. It was fantastic for you to say we were on par with a top class Hotel and that every international cuisine that you had here was far better than any restaurant.of the same country

Wish you well and hope to see you soon

Best Wishes

Robert and Sandra Clarke

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2012

I recently visited this little gem, it was a fine dining supper club, and was totally blown away by the food. Beautiful presentation mouthwatering dishes in a relaxed atmosphere. The chef Sandra is amazing her warmth and hospitality are infectious you simply can't help but enjoy yourself. The supper club is my guilty pleasure and will definitely attend future evenings. If you are looking for exquisite food outstanding service and something a little different, then I highly recommend trying it out.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vspiers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2012

Having viewed the luxurious accommodation and spent an evening indulging in the most delicious food why would anyone want to stay go anywhere else for a special occasion or simply for a break?
The whole experience is the antithesis of "standard", from the detail, consideration of visitors needs and the huge personal and tailored service to suit all preferences. The rooms are beautiful, new and spacious and very private.
The food is prepared and served with great care and thought. We ate an evening meal - an epicurean delight. A professional experience without having to travel to the great Metropolis! The owner Sandra is a courteous and enthusiastic host and very obviously a terrific cook! Highly recommended - treat yourselves to a night of refined luxury with the accommodation and wonderful food.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Scoirse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandra C, Owner at Fir Trees Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 15 November 2012

We really appreciate your kind words and rest assured we are still striving to do better.
We have a passion for giving excellent customer service and making your stay an unforgettable one.

Sandra Clarke Propietor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2012

Sandra is a wonderful chef and was happy to create menus which not only catered for all the dietary requirements in our group but tasted amazing. The rooms are lovely, warm, modern and comfortable with nice smellies, fluffy towells and their own front door so there was no feeling of intruding in someone's home - quite the opposite, we could not have been made to feel more welcome. I am sure we will be back for more of Sandra's great food. This is without doubt the best B&B we have stayed in.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lougoble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2012

A hidden gem. What you want to know - amazing hosts and hospitality; beautiful, warm, spacious rooms with their own front door - great for some independence; and food that will blow your mind! Altogether the price is a bargain for what Sandra and Robert deliver.

I stayed 5 nights and The Fir Trees surpassed a lot of small luxury hotel experiences I have had around the world! I had just turned my engine off and Robert came out to greet me and take my bag. I was immediately shown to a beautiful room across a small courtyard from the dining room..... and that is where the real magic happens.

The dining room is a beautiful, contemporary space where Sandra and Robert want you to feel at home though they never crowd you. Food and flavours (and wine) just make sense to Sandra like music to a musician and the results are just the tastiest culinary surprises, not a recipe book in sight! We opted to let Sandra choose our menu each night and surprise us (though there are menus covering a huge range of cuisines on offer if you prefer to choose). Breakfast was also a real treat. Almost as amazing though are the prices!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Helen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Fir Trees Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fir Trees Bed & Breakfast

Address: Hempstead Road | near Hemel Hempstead, Bovingdon HP3 0DS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hertfordshire > Bovingdon
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Bovingdon
Price Range: £65 - £105 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fir Trees Bed and Breakfast is a family owned and operated guest house which offers visitors a friendly and intimate atmosphere. It is a true home from home and is set in an area of outstanding natural woodland beauty, yet close to all amenities. Whether you're planning a family holiday, romantic weekend or marking a special event, Fir Trees Bed and Breakfast can cater for your every need, including excellent food choices. If you are conducting business in Hertfordshire, the tranquil yet accessible location is ideal for unwinding close to nature. There's even a large Hot Tub in an Alpine House where you can relieve the stresses of modern-day living. We have two king size ensuite double rooms (Sorrento and Venetian) and one ensuite queen size double room (Capri). All three are equipped with satellite TV, WIFI and tea and coffee making facilities. Each room is completely self contained and separated from the main house by a courtyard. There is ample parking is close to the rooms. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing