We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So much more than a B&B” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fir Trees Bed & Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bovingdon
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Fir Trees Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 1 Bovingdon B&B and Inns
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
“So much more than a B&B”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2013

I am so glad I chose The Fir Trees to stay for 5 nights when I was visiting this area for a curtain making course. We were made to feel instantly at home by Sandra and Robert as soon as we arrived after a long journey from Glasgow. The rooms are beautifully decorated (we were upgraded to the Sorrento room), and the cleaniness was top marks. We were made to feel so welcome, especially when Sandra brought us little surprises after a long day......wine and crisps in a hot tub will always go down well with us. The food was amazing and always unique, Sandra is an superb cook and was in her element when I invited a few other ladies from my course to come for dinner, who were so impressed that they intend to stay here the next time they are in the area. Overall, staying here is superb on all levels and Sandra and Robert make your visit so lovely and welcoming........the reviews speak for themselves.....well done for creating such a unique B&B!

Room Tip: All rooms are amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandra C, Owner at Fir Trees Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 20 May 2013
We thank you for your kind words. We strive to go beyond your expectations and be responsive to any and all of our customers needs

We look forward to seeing you next year again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    76
    4
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
18
28
8
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sileby, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2013

Absolutely wonderful stay, fine dining experience was out of this world which left me with a great experience of foods I'd never tasted. Highly recommended for your stay with the most wonderful hosts. Our family adored the hospitality, food and most welcoming atmosphere!! Thank you x

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jayne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2013

This is my first ever review of any kind and is prompted by my stay at this top notch establishment. In terms of getting straight to the point I can only endorse all the other reviews of The Fir Trees.

We stayed as a family of 5 attending a wedding at a venue nearby. Robert and Sandra are the perfect hosts but special mention has to go to Sandra who is an absolute star and made our stay so special. Despite arriving late on our first night Sandra cooked us a meal that would put the majority of restaraunts to shame. Breakfast was to savour. The accommodation is class and very private.

Be warned this is no traditional B&B and you most probably would never consider staying in an hotel again once you have experienced The Fir Trees.

I cannot recommend the place highly enough.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Frost5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandra C, Owner at Fir Trees Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 1 April 2013
We are very appreciative of your very kind words. We will always strive to go beyond your expectations and nothing will ever be too much trouble to accomodate last minute arrivals or demands.The personal touch is our forte and making our customers dreams a reality.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chigwell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2013

Loved every minute of our stay at this wonderful place. The service was amazing and Sandra and Robert went out of their way to make all three of us at home. Sandra is an excellent cook. She takes pride in everything she does. The couple deserves every good review here on Tripadvisor.

Room Tip: All rooms are of equally high standard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hannakekluge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandra C, Owner at Fir Trees Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 1 April 2013
It was a pleasure meeting you and making your family warm and very welcome and your words both here and on the review are as always very much appreciated.We was also very glad to welcome you back so soon and give you a free upgrade
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2013

We stayed for 1 night at the Fir Trees as we were at a party at the Little Hay Golf Club next door. What a fantastic little gem of a place the Fir Trees is. The accomodation is 5 star. The rooms are modern and warm with lots of lovely smellies, warm fluffy towels and dressing gowns. Not forgetting to mention the bowl of sweets and biscuits!! Sandra even came round before we went out with a glass of wine for us both. Delicious.
Sandra and Robert are fantastic hosts and I mustn't forget to mention their adorable dog Snowy!
Breakfast in a morning was everything from Fruit to home made Croissants and a full cooked English. As I was feeling slightly fragile the next morning Sandra kindly made me a pack up to take away.
We will definately be looking at staying again.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julie O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandra C, Owner at Fir Trees Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 1 April 2013
We love to give those extra touches that can make your stay extra special and like to surprise our guests with nibbles and drinks to set the mood of their occasion.So glad you enjoyed your stay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2013

I am a businessman working around the Home Counties and Central London. When working around these areas, guest houses, b & b's and hotels can often fall short of the mark. With regards to the Fir Trees rest assured, whether businessman or light traveller or a family, you will not be disappointed by the warm welcome afforded to you by Sandra and Robert. The premises are self contained and spotless and the unique fine dining prepared by Sandra is exceptional. When arriving at the Fir Trees, I was asked what food I like and I replied "What can you cook?" She replied "Anything." I can certainly say I havn't been disappointed, she is an absolutely fabulous cook and you can sit and watch her prepare any meal in front of you. I have travelled throughout the world and never come across such a unique experience, well done to you both. I am looking forward to staying over future weeks, your place is an absolute gem of a find. Kind Regards. Martin Hurley.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank THEHURLEYSOFHEREFORD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandra C, Owner at Fir Trees Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 1 April 2013
Wow! the reviews are getting better if at all possible! It is very reassuring to have such a review from a businessman who has travelled throughout the worlsd and has made it clear that the food he has had, bearing in mind he has had different cuisine from many countries here cooked fresh and to his tastes, 14 times alredy over the last 4 weeks and stating it could not be bettered is very rewarding. Also stating that we are a class apart from normal B and B's and surpass all the Hotels he has frequented is testimony to our hard work
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, England, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2013

I have stayed with Sandra and Robert twice, once in October for five nights then again in November for a further five nights. The first time I stayed I arrived feeling sad about leaving my family at home however I had such a warm welcome that I instantly realised that this was actually going to be a really nice break! The second time I stayed I was really looking forward to some time for me and to experience more of Sandra's fantastic cooking.
The rooms are just a few steps away from the main house, so when you shut yourself in, you felt like you had your very own little home. I cannot praise the cleanliness, warmth and comfort of "MY" room enough, the towels were so soft and smelled lovely. Lots of treats to nibble on in the room too!
Breakfast became the reason for wanting to get up in the morning! So much variety and choice and everything was fresh and locally sourced. I also experienced quite a few of the evening meals and every dish was amazing as was the wine supplied with it.
Sandra and Robert are more than hosts, they welcome you in to their home and family and nothing is too much for them. I would like to thank them so much for making my time away much easier than I could have ever expected. I will defiantly make an excuse to return.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Louise G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bovingdon
0.9 mi away
Premier Inn Hemel Hempstead West Hotel
Premier Inn Hemel Hempstead West...
#6 of 11 in Hemel Hempstead
4.0 of 5 bubbles 443 reviews
2.5 mi away
Shendish Manor Hotel
Shendish Manor Hotel
#3 of 11 in Hemel Hempstead
4.0 of 5 bubbles 779 reviews
2.7 mi away
Premier Inn Hemel Hempstead Central Hotel
Premier Inn Hemel Hempstead Cent...
#4 of 11 in Hemel Hempstead
4.0 of 5 bubbles 723 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Boxmoor Lodge Hotel
Boxmoor Lodge Hotel
#2 of 11 in Hemel Hempstead
4.5 of 5 bubbles 365 reviews
2.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hemel Hempstead
Holiday Inn Express Hemel Hempst...
#1 of 11 in Hemel Hempstead
4.0 of 5 bubbles 688 reviews
3.5 mi away
De Vere Latimer Estate
De Vere Latimer Estate
#1 of 2 in Chesham
3.5 of 5 bubbles 680 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fir Trees Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fir Trees Bed & Breakfast

Property: Fir Trees Bed & Breakfast
Address: Hempstead Road | near Hemel Hempstead, Bovingdon HP3 0DS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hertfordshire > Bovingdon
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Bovingdon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fir Trees Bed and Breakfast is a family owned and operated guest house which offers visitors a friendly and intimate atmosphere. It is a true home from home and is set in an area of outstanding natural woodland beauty, yet close to all amenities. Whether you're planning a family holiday, romantic weekend or marking a special event, Fir Trees Bed and Breakfast can cater for your every need, including excellent food choices. If you are conducting business in Hertfordshire, the tranquil yet accessible location is ideal for unwinding close to nature. There's even a large Hot Tub in an Alpine House where you can relieve the stresses of modern-day living. We have two king size ensuite double rooms (Sorrento and Venetian) and one ensuite queen size double room (Capri). All three are equipped with satellite TV, WIFI and tea and coffee making facilities. Each room is completely self contained and separated from the main house by a courtyard. There is ample parking is close to the rooms. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing