We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding food, superb service - and sumptuous rooms..”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bovingdon
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Fir Trees Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 1 Bovingdon B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Outstanding food, superb service - and sumptuous rooms..”
Reviewed 29 July 2013

The Fir Tree is one of these lovely finds that you hope for. We first came across them in November 2012 when we had 3 couples come to visit - and needed somewhere to put them! The Fir Tree has 3 rooms, one more lovely than the other, all decked out in boutique style with a flair for blending comfort and interior design. Our friends were raving about the comfort of the rooms, the quality of the food and the sheer hedonistic relaxation with a lovely garden extending into the woods, a relaxing hot tub and a steady stream of fantastic food offerings. Since then we have been back on numerous occasions enjoying the fine dining experience that Sandra creates about 10 times a year. I suffer from serious, multiple food allergies and she manages to create the most outstanding food with a unique twist - while catering to everyone of my allergies. Her 9 course fine dining (+ canapees, tasters and special drinks) is unique in its fusion blend of combining food from all corners of the world - with her own special interpretation. The atmosphere of warm welcome and 'can do' is amazing - it has become one of our favourite places to go..

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cityrie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandra C, Owner at Fir Trees Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 15 August 2013
It was a pleasure to have such a lovely family here for a week and to keep the children entertained and engaged in conversation and have them feeling at home and responding to their needs

It brought a sense of fun to our establishment and it was good to advise on the various trips you went on

Be great to see you all again.

Many Thanks for your kind words

Rob and Sandra
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    76
    4
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
18
28
8
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Maldon, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2013

I have now spent almost 3 with the lovely Sandra and Robert (and Snowy the dog) whilst completing the curtain making courses up the road. I had the most amazing time, I was so well looked after. The rooms (I stayed in both the Capri and Sorrento) were both amazing and exceptionally comfortable. Sandras cooking is so amazing that I cannot find the works to describe it, she cooked many different cuisines for me and all were exceptional. For a few of the days I was the only resident at the B&B, normally I would have felt extremely uncomfortable dining alone, but Sandra and Robert made me feel so welcome and would stay and chat. I was quite sad when my stay with them was over, but fortunately I have one more course in November so will be returning soon.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ThePeppers2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2013

" My husband, myself and our 12 year daughter would like to thank Sandra and all her lovely helpers for an outstanding night at her Fine Dining Experience on Saturday 1st June 2013. We sat at a table with 7 other people that we didn't know and we all got on famously. The food was prepared to a very high standard, due to the fact that Sandra is a Fine Dining Chef, there were plenty of courses and the wine was flowing all night, Sandra's helpers made sure that your glass was never empty. It was an Italian themed meal and it included everything from duck, squid, crab, you name it, we had it and it tasted fabulous, we cannot thank her enough. We would recommend it to anyone, whether you fancy a meal with strangers or whether you go as a large group already knowing each other, it definitely was a Fine Dining Experience. We even had a singer called Marie, who had the voice of an angel, sing some lovely songs to us. It was a perfect evening and we would definitely love to do it all again. Don't take our word for it, go and give it a try. Sandra works so hard and credit where credits due, she's amazing. Love The Hurleys of Hereford. x "

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank THEHURLEYSOFHEREFORD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 23 June 2013

Fir Trees is a Bed and Breakfast with a difference. In an ideal location close enough to travel to London yet surrounded by beautiful countryside and historic towns. We were made so welcome by Sandra and Robert who will go the extra mile to make your stay memorable. Sandra delights in entertaining her guests and her breakfasts and evening meals( optional )are definitely worth sampling. Having an elderly Labrador the garden was large and secluded enough to let him roam freely. This B &B was ideal for our means and we never felt we had to got out for the day like most B&Bs. It is also an ideal location for anyone travelling alone as Sandra and Robert are so hospitable and make you feel welcome. We would definitely recommend this B&B for value for money and hope to return one day.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fiothw44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 8 June 2013

This place had everything. Excellent food (second to none), lovely décor (everything seemed brand new), delightful and very well appointed bedrooms with comfortable beds and seats - lots of teas and coffees, biscuits and nibbles, and much more. The bathrooms had wonderful towels, and easily accessible shower (vital for we senior visitors) and lots of shampoos, gels, etc. The outside had a comfortable seating area and pleasant garden to walk in, plus a mini wood to explore - even a golf course next door if we'd have wanted it. The service was brilliant. Sandra is a superb chef and catered for several 'special diets' with ease. Breakfast was equally special and a wonderful start to the day. We didn't want the hot tub, but others would find it delightful. Many thanks to Sandra and Robert for a fabulous weekend.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stefan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandra C, Manager at Fir Trees Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 9 June 2013
Once again we are pleased to cater for any dietary requirement and preferences with our excellent cuisine.We are so glad you had all the comforts and relaxation you had looked for and we thank you for your kind words
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Macclesfield, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2013

This is truly a hidden gem! It's so much more than could be expected from a B&B. Brilliant, newly furnished room that had everything you could think of - and more. Really comfortable bed and seating, huge tv, great shower with wonderful soft towels afterwards, superb location tucked away with garden and a little wood (perfect for the dogs to make friends with Snowy), and food............. such food! We had a family meal that was just perfect - great setting, lovely ambience, brilliant, friendly service and food that carnivors (like me) and vegetarians (like my wife) both relished, supported by the perfect choice of wine. Breakfast was also a gastronomic delight. We'd love to join the dining club if we get back into the area. Sandra and Robert are perfect hosts, and exceeded expectations in so many ways. We just wished we could have stayed a little longer and enjoyed the private, secluded hot tub. Many thanks, and we'd recommend it to anyone (but don't book for when we want to revisit the area - we wouldn't stay anywhere else).

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chris_B191278
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taunton, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 May 2013

My B & B experiences just get Better & Better and Fir Trees is the best experience of all.

Despite booking a room at Fir Trees at the very last minute I was treated like a King by Sandra and Robert and no sooner had I arrived I was sitting down to the most amazing 3 course meal,

To be honest Bed & Breakfast is a total injustice for Fir Trees as despite the breakfast and accomodation getting my 5 stars the evening meal that Sandra lays on is the hidden gem of Bovingdon.

I do not want to ruin your surprise but can highly recommend you see for yourself because as I certainly will again and again.... you will return!

They even have a wood at the bottom of their garden and a gate leading to a beautiful golf course where I enjoyed an early morning run before my 3 course amazing breakfast,

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RobRun26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandra C, Owner at Fir Trees Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 23 May 2013
We are so glad we were able to accommodate you at such very short notice and to be able to give you a superb meal. After a hard days work you richly deserved to be spoilt.
Then. we learn you are a marathon runner so 2 full English breakfasts were the order of the day. And. Swiftly demolished!

You certainly were a great guy and very interesting conversationalist . We look forward to your next visit where our fine hospitality awaits and perhaps a soak in our hot tub
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bovingdon
1.7 mi away
Boxmoor Lodge Hotel
Boxmoor Lodge Hotel
#2 of 10 in Hemel Hempstead
404 reviews
2.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hemel Hempstead
Holiday Inn Express Hemel Hempst...
#1 of 10 in Hemel Hempstead
735 reviews
2.9 mi away
The Penny Farthing Hotel
The Penny Farthing Hotel
#2 of 2 in Berkhamsted
121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
De Vere Latimer Estate
De Vere Latimer Estate
#1 of 2 in Chesham
761 reviews
2.5 mi away
Shendish Manor Hotel
Shendish Manor Hotel
#6 of 10 in Hemel Hempstead
841 reviews
6.4 mi away
Aubrey Park Hotel
Aubrey Park Hotel
#8 of 10 in Hemel Hempstead
633 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fir Trees Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fir Trees Bed & Breakfast

Property: Fir Trees Bed & Breakfast
Address: Hempstead Road | near Hemel Hempstead, Bovingdon HP3 0DS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hertfordshire > Bovingdon
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Bovingdon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fir Trees Bed and Breakfast is a family owned and operated guest house which offers visitors a friendly and intimate atmosphere. It is a true home from home and is set in an area of outstanding natural woodland beauty, yet close to all amenities. Whether you're planning a family holiday, romantic weekend or marking a special event, Fir Trees Bed and Breakfast can cater for your every need, including excellent food choices. If you are conducting business in Hertfordshire, the tranquil yet accessible location is ideal for unwinding close to nature. There's even a large Hot Tub in an Alpine House where you can relieve the stresses of modern-day living. We have two king size ensuite double rooms (Sorrento and Venetian) and one ensuite queen size double room (Capri). All three are equipped with satellite TV, WIFI and tea and coffee making facilities. Each room is completely self contained and separated from the main house by a courtyard. There is ample parking is close to the rooms. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing