We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A wonderful 60th Birthday weekend” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Falcon Hotel

The Falcon Hotel
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Falcon Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Bromyard
Christchurch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
101 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“A wonderful 60th Birthday weekend”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2013

We contacted the Falcon Hotel about hosting a lunch for my husbands 60th Birthday when another establishment near by didn't seem to be too interested in lunch for 30/40 people. From the very beginning Sylvia( the owner) was nothing but helpful. We had a budget for a 2 course lunch and she was happy to to provide lunch with coffee for that price. Sylvia insisted we had three options plus a vegetarian choice and two puddings or cheese and biscuits to finish. As we live in Dorset we only had one short meeting to discuss the menu with Jane the chef but we were confident it was going to be good. In the end we had 43 for lunch and we took over all the accommodation on the Saturday night.
On the day we had the ballroom to ourselves the rooms was beautifully laid out. Our guests arrived and Sylvia and her staff took over to provided an amazing lunch with way too much food which was all home made (including the delicious clotted cream ice cream). Some of our guest left and the reminder adjourned to the bar where we remained in varying degrees until midnight. some guest had supper and their food once again was excellent and large portions (everyone is still talking about the game pie and the ham). We had a excellent breakfast and departed on Sunday morning with everyone saying how they enjoyed the food and the very old and quirky hotel. This is a traditional family run hotel and is all the more fun for it, yes Sylvia does like things done properly and she is a character but she enhanced our weekend from when we arrived on Friday night to the moment we left. Our friends who live reasonably close by are adding the Hotel to the lunch stop before a walk on Bromyard downs.

Room Tip: Our party did use all the rooms some are small and most have extra beds for families so they do feel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AnnMudefordDorset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    39
    38
    16
    5
    18
See reviews for
24
34
12
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2013

Stayed here for one night a few years ago and it was like Fawlty Towers then. Travelling through Bromyard the other day we thought hay give it the benefit of the doubt, and stop for a coffee, mainly because we needed the loo and thought it a reason to try them again. We went to reception and ordered two coffees. She (the strange lady) said it will be about 10 minutes reluctant to serve us really. She said, not asked us politely, go and sit in the lounge. We headed to what we though was the lounge and she screamed at us, not in there!!! We said well if you explained where the lounge was..........

Anyway after about 5 minutes the coffee arrived, swe drak it paid and left.

Never again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank peejaydee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Bromyard hotels

Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2013

We went to lunch at the Falcon during our visit to town. The women at the desk was very odd indeed we were not too sure which room to sit in and this other couple who came in just before us made their way to a room just by the door we followed them.
When the couple asked if they would be out in time for a bus they were catching and what food could they order they were told some strange answers.! Anyway we all stayed and order our food not too sure what to expect. To be fair the baked potato and soup my husband had was very nice I had the ham salad and that too was excellent quality.
It is a shame the Falcon cannot have better ownership because it is bang in the middle of the town and with some up dating I am sure this Hotel would go far.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 186402Annie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frome, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2013

there isn't a hotel in England with more character and lovely people who run it, if you want a once in a life time experience then stay here a truly unique hotel long may it be too. Staff are friendly beers great , I would say the food was too much but i'm greedy so helped everybody else .

Room Tip: we had 4 rooms all different but all great
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fatbloke66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2013 via mobile

Came across here by accident. And what a place..... There wouldn't appear to be a plumb wall or level floor in the building, adding to the character. We kept expecting to see a ghost or two roaming the halls, but to no avail :-) The landlady and landlord both seem to be slightly leaning away from sane but in a great way and they add to the whole stay. Our rooms were clean and tidy and our breakfast were tasty too.
Will stay there again if I was in the area.

Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
4 Thank Val750
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2013 via mobile

The Hotel is a traditional old coaching Inn, and as such is fairly quirky, the bed was extremely comfortable and a very good nights sleep was had, breakfast is also very good with a good selection of traditional choices.
I would stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Designer001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2013

What an absolute terrible rude lady at this hotel, I would fully expect a lady of her age to have more manners. Very rude and obnoxious....... Went in asking about booking rooms and hall etc for wedding and was looked up and down at and was bluntly told NO even though I hadn't even given her a date or any information. Terribly run hotel, obviously not in any need for business.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Complet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bromyard
4.9 mi away
The Talbot Hotel
The Talbot Hotel
#1 of 1 in Knightwick
3.5 of 5 bubbles 187 reviews
9.3 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#6 of 10 in Malvern
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,080 reviews
10.4 mi away
The Cottage in the Wood
The Cottage in the Wood
#1 of 1 in Malvern Wells
4.5 of 5 bubbles 847 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.9 mi away
Bank House Hotel, Spa & Golf, BW Premier Collection
11.7 mi away
Leadon House Hotel
Leadon House Hotel
#3 of 4 in Ledbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 42 reviews
11.2 mi away
The Royal Oak Hotel
The Royal Oak Hotel
#4 of 4 in Ledbury
3.5 of 5 bubbles 81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Falcon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Falcon Hotel

Property: The Falcon Hotel
Address: 4 Broad Street, Bromyard HR7 4BT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Herefordshire > Bromyard
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Bromyard
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — The Falcon Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Book Direct Rooms, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK) and Priceline so you can book your The Falcon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Falcon Hotel Bromyard
The Falcon Hotel Bromyard, Herefordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing